We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The back room needs to help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Burlington
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Burlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
“The back room needs to help”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently stayed at this property and because we have platinun status were allowed to use the lounge on the 8th floor. The people were wonderful but unfortunatly the people who prepare the food let them down.

They had prepared some sort of egg roll and crab ragoon which was so badly cooked that you had trouble bitting into it. To have good service and horrible food is a waste of effort. It is bad enough that the food has been cut back but even worse when it is not cooked right.

Wake up Marriott

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1puppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are delighted to learn your interactions with the team members were great and we appreciate your comments. Feedback such as yours helps us to improve in our services and we truly regret any inconvenience you may have experienced. It would be wonderful to welcome you back to enjoy our hotel from a new perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    285
    128
    55
    29
See reviews for
188
153
43
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend trip to Boston. I concur with other reviews that staff need training in customer service.
As we arrived at the main entrance with our hands full of luggage, I noticed the bellman busy texting on his phone. He totally ignored us and several other guests and offered no assistance with the door or their luggage. This should have been my first omen.
The check-in clerk was prompt and assigned us a room. She never acknowledge my Marriott status or offer an upgraded room or amenities.
The room itself was dark and dingy. Not much room to move around with all the furniture. The bed was comfortable and we were grateful that it was quiet. We were situated at the end of the hallway which made it quieter than other rooms.
We ordered room service one morning and they delivered only one meal. I called guest services and they seemed to know all about it? The next meal was delivered 15 minutes later. No apology as my wife and I both ate our meals separately.
The restaurant on-site was crowded and we were advised 1/2 wait for dinner. We ended up sitting at the bar and had some great appetizers and dinner. The prices are much to high for what you get. Dinner entrees were very small and everything is a la carte.There are plenty of good restaurants nearby that will save you some money.
The hallways definitely could have used some vacuuming. This is one of those typical older Marriott's that is in need of a makeover.
I explained the mix-up with room service at check-out and the clerk did apologize and offered to buy me a cup of coffee. Not a good recovery.
Should have stayed at the Doubletree in Bedford. Stayed here before and much nicer than this place.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in either 01,02,03,04 are much quieter at the end of a hallway. Some higher up, south f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are disappointed to learn your stay with us was not as you expected. Our commitment to our customers is our highest priority and we thank you for bringing these points to our attention. We will share your comments with the team as we continue to ensure our guests are our highest priority. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon so we can renew your trust. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was introduced by a Platinum member to stay at the hotel. The front desk girls need a boot camp in customer service. This is the worst Marriott globally. I hope to General Manager to pay attention to this review.

Room Tip: Do not stay at Burlington Marriott, Courtyard is a much better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective with us. It is disappointing to learn your interactions with the team were not as you expected and we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced. Your comments will be shared as we refresh our commitment to our customers. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon so we can renew your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The outside of this Marriott is dated and harsh looking. This hotel also frequently hosts pagents and dance competitions but the area where it is hosted is sufficiently far away from the mian hotel lobby that it is not ordinarily a nuisance.

The rooms are hospitable enough and the property is maintained nicely. I have stayed at this hotel a few times and on the last stay was disappointed to not be able to locate the room service menu in the room. However the rooms are clean and the furnishings are modern. The hotel's retail prices are off putting considering what one gets for the money however there are deals to be had on discount sites for this hotel. The hotel is near I-95 and near a large shopping mall, several shopping centers and a movie theater. The on-site restaurant (I believe it is called Summer/Winter) is fantastic and often has live music.

Room Tip: The corner rooms on each floor are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meleetyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
To learn your overall experience was not as you had hoped is disappointing. We appreciate you bringing these points to our attention as feedback like yours helps us to improve our services. We are happy you enjoyed the central location as well as the onsite restaurant, Summer Winter. It is our hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy our hotel from a renewed perspective. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I spent 5 days attending a sales training at this property and used the conference facilities, catering and fitness center during the week. The room itself was very comfortable with a large work area, large well appointed bathroom and an extremely comfortable king size bed.

The front staff and shuttle drivers were very friendly and accommodating.

The conference rooms were fine but tended to be uncomfortably cold for any in our group. Even when we asked for adjustments they temp didn't seem to hold. It seemed to be worse when there where other groups in the adjoining rooms.

The conference catering was average to above average depending on the items and there was a good variety.

The fitness center was very large with a cardio room, weight room with free weights and machines, a lap pool and jacuzzi. The cardio room is open 24/7 which I found convenient. The pool area and locker room are in need of maintenance. I noticed area where rust has broken through the paint in both areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRButterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It is great to learn you were able to enjoy your time at the Boston Marriott Burlington. It appears you were able to take advantage of our onsite amenities and we appreciate you bringing these points to our attention. Feedback such as yours helps us to improve our customer services and we will look into your comments and address as necessary. Thank you and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Really, really disappointed. Came into town to spend Thanksgiving with the family. My boyfriend and I found that the beds weren't queen-sized but rather full, and both being tall people we ended up sleeping in separate beds. Came to find out as well that there is no wifi nor complimentary breakfast, which given the accommodations seems pretty skinflinty. It seems that communication was a huge issue as we were given contradictory information about when food was available throughout the day due to the Thanksgiving holiday.

Breakfast was a fairly disappointing affair. We had brought our own coffee cake to enjoy the first couple of days, and really should have stuck with that. We found that the restaurant service staff was top notch but that the food was seriously lacking. The omelet was desiccated and the tea was a surprisingly $4.50, which even for hotel prices was exorbitant. My eggs benedict was fine, but the hashbrowns were stick-like and hateful.

Climate control was probably the worst. The room fluctuated between hot and cold, and I haven't had a worse night's sleep in years. My boyfriend fared better, but he still complained of waking several times per night.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, really. Stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Our hotel offers multiple room types and amenities for guests to enjoy. Our Superior and Concierge level rooms do include complimentary wireless high speed internet access and we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced. Additionally, we offer special breakfast included packages and complete details are available on our website. Thank you for sharing your perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Beds way too soft. My husband and I did not sleep all night. Ended up both of us had backaches. Rooms are very small and no refrigerators. Good location. I have stayed in 10 Marriotts this year and this was below par

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAR817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marri0ttBurlington, General Manager at Boston Marriott Burlington, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are disappointed to learn your time with us was not as you expected. Although refrigerators are standard in our Superior rooms, guest have the option to ask for one as they are available upon request. We offer a variety of room types and our website is the best resource when trying to determine which accommodations best meets your needs. We hope to welcome you back to enjoy our hotel from a renewed perspective the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Boston/Burlington
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
1.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Boston Woburn
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Burlington

Property: Boston Marriott Burlington
Address: One Burlington Mall Road, Burlington, MA 01803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Burlington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Burlington
#4 Business Hotel in Burlington
#4 Family Hotel in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Burlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to announce our hotel is undergoing a renovation. The hotel is fully operational during its current guestroom and facade renovation program. While all services continue, this project will enhance curb appeal and result in a brand new guestroom experience in Spring 2017. Discover a respite all your own at the recently renovated Boston Marriott Burlington. Luxurious new amenities, a result of our multi million dollar renovation of the lobby and public spaces, are offered to all our Burlington, MA hotel's guests. Choose your pleasure from our 418-room hotel, appointed with 14,570 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and banquet space, ideal for business travelers. Host parties, meetings and events in the Celebrate Ballroom, a stunning event space onsite. Unwind in our elegant lobby, offering an inviting fireplace, as well as a large communal table, bar, widescreen TVs, original artwork, and plenty of space to connect. Savor American cuisine, including natural, organic steaks and freshly caught seafood at Chopps American Bar & Grill. The Terrace at CHOPPS is a brand new outdoor space offering an open air option for groups and restaurant patrons alike. Reserve your stay online today, and start daydreaming about your next getaway at one of the leading Burlington, MA hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Burlington Hotel Burlington
Marriott Burlington
Burlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing