We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need new chef”

Chopps American Bar and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Chopps American Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 123 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cambridge Street (Rt 3A)
Description: Whether you are looking for a casual dinner and a glass of wine in the bar and lounge area or you are dining in the warm and sumptuous surroundings of our multiple dining rooms, Chopps American Bar and Grille provides just what you are looking for.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Need new chef”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Always had a problem with my steak being cooked as requested when it was summer / winter. So at a recent stay I tried out the new bar. / restaurant at Chopps. I always sit at the bar and eat. Service at the bar has always been very good. I asked if there was a new chef to go with the new digs. Bartender told me yes and that they know how to cook steaks ...,Wrong...I ordered my Filet medium with a cup of clam chowder. The chowder although good was mostly potatoes, the steak look alright when I first started to eat it but as I got further into it....it was raw. To bad it was a nice looking piece of meat... Good quality. Bartender offered me a new one but I said I was all set.
They did comp it. Love the hotel but I think next time I'll stick with the great Mexican place down the street .

Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david v, Manager at Chopps American Bar and Grill, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
James,

My name is David, I'm sorry you had a bad experience here at the restaurant. I am the new Chef started a couple of months ago. Please except my invitation back to the restaurant and I can assure you that you will have the steak you intended to have, on us.


Thank you,

David Verdo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    71
    28
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food poor service”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We took a large party here for a birthday celebration in August. The waiter, Ian, brought us the menus, left them on the table while we ate our appetizers, and then disappeared. We went to ask for him and after a long time the bartender came to take our orders. He left out a couple of our guests and disappeared too. We waited over an hour for our entrees and when they eventually arrived, after numerous requests, the waiter never checked on us. What a disappointing way to spend a birthday, especially since the food was quite good. We will not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New cook....need a new one again”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Poorly prepared Kobe burger that was overlooked and too dry to eat. I knew we should have gone out for dinner rather than eat in the hotel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnZOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's sad how this restaurant has gone down.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I often travel to Burlington on business and stay at the Marriott. I used to look forward to eating at Summer-Winter. But the last two times I stayed at the Marriott I was really disappointed in the food at Summer-Winter. The menu is boring and the food mediocre In my last stay I notice they had added game hen back on the menu. It was disappointing. So was the trout I had the next night. The next night I ordered a cheeseburger. It was pretty average. I could get a better burger at Five Guys. I didn't go back the next night nor will I go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YNCS_Ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“hotel dining”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

probably one of the nicer in-hotel restaurants that I have been in, but VERY expensive for what you get. Food was just above average and the variety was barely over par.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chopps American Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chopps American Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing