We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for kids.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainforest Cafe - CLOSED

Rainforest Cafe
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lovell, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A place for kids.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Kids liked it - long wait and very noisy!Food was ok. It really is a show for the kids-with a shop to spend more $$ while you wait!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindaMeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    43
    50
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saugus, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Every year”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My 7 year old daughter chooses this place for her birthday every year. It's a very cool theme restaurant and the food is decent. Super fun place for kids!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“It's not Disney...but the kids don't know that...”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Decided to do the Rainforest due to the fact we went to Maine instead of Orlando for vacation this summer. It's the same place only in a different spot. The Burlington Mall is very nice. I'd agree that the food and drinks are very overpriced but the service was very good. Of course, they added a 17% tip even though we only had 6 in our party but whatever. I got a burger and it was actually pretty darn good though it came with a handful of chips for $12...you have to pay extra for fries and I said forget that. Everything is expensive in Boston so I've grown used to it. It's a fun thing to do once every few years but I certainly wouldn't make a habit of going there. Where we were seated nothing moved and we basically couldn't see anything that did move. Perhaps a few of the things were broken. Can't imagine what it's like dusting all those leaves in that place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gumbo8771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“expensive”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Different set up. Great for kids. Food ok. Alot of money for anything but a birthday or special occ.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“dont bother!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

food is awful, service is awful. LOUD! My son left his iPod on the table when we left, we returned within minutes, the table was not cleaned but the iPod was no where to be found. Not returning!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2almar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing