We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst lunch experience for Italian food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chateau

The Chateau
Ranked #36 of 120 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
“worst lunch experience for Italian food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I wanted Eggplant Parmesan and they have 2 choices on the lunch menu. One choice is $8.99 and the other is Eggplant Parmesan made with Grilled Eggplant for a dollar more - $9.99. I prefer this dish made with grilled eggplant, so I ordered it. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT! I did NOT receive anything near an eggplant parmesan - just 2 slices of grilled eggplant with a little tomato sauce. Also the pasta was not drained and that made the sauce on the pasta watery. The bread is THE WORST! It's cold dry and not like any bread you would get at a decent Italian restaurant. Stay far away from The Chateau!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank s r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    21
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Actually below average!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went on a Sat night. The place was overly crowded and there was a 35 min wait. We thought it will be a restaurant like Olive Garden. I was disappointed. The food came in 30 minutes after placing the order and it was cold. I ordered Gnocchi which was like a store boxed ones. My husband ordered a trio combo with chicken, Alfredo pasta & lasagna which wasn't great either. We won't eat their again!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawyer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Chateau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Chateau has been a welcome addition to Burlington! Diners have a wide melange of choices with this expansive menu. Chicken park is excellent! Don' t miss this gem of a restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently good food, even if you order takeout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been going to The Chateau in Waltham and Andover for many years and was thrilled when they opened a location in Burlington. The parking lot is crazy at times, but I never have a problem finding a space. (There's a large Market Basket in this shopping center and their customers can create some serious traffic during peak shopping hours.)

The Chateau is always busy, but our wait is typically under 20 minutes. It's clean and cozy, but not the most romantic atmosphere. It's great for families, friends, couples or even business meetings. The pasta dishes are delicious and very filling, the chicken is tender and my husband loves the prime rib (when available). My favorite is the toasted raviolis, but everything I've tasted has been great. This is one of the few Italian restaurants (outside of the North End) with a decent red sauce.

They now have online ordering for takeout. This is fantastic! They don't skimp on the food and give you all the little extras (grated cheese for pasta dishes, italian bread with each entree). You can be very specific if you have any custom requests or allergies. This is a great option if you don't feel like cooking or picking up fast food.

The Waltham location is huge and you're guaranteed a short wait for a table. As of last year, I noticed some renovations in their dining rooms which was long overdue.

The Andover location is great and I love the lounge side when there's a game on. The lounge offers tvs in each booth and several large flatscreens around the bar. We attended a private party in one of their function rooms and we were very happy with the food and service.

The Burlington location is much smaller, but it has nice decor, a cozy fireplace and a decent size bar. If you are tired of the other chains near the mall, you should definitely check this place out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robyn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not a great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We love Italian food and always go out for Italian food. When it was first opened last year, we came to eat and felt the food was ok. We came to this restaurant the second time on Valentine's day. We ordered 2 appetizers, eggplant and mushroom. The appetizers were good. We ordered seafood for main courses. Our meals did not taste good. The sauce was too creamy and linguini was too sticky unlike the taste we had at other Italian restaurants. We said that would be the last trip for us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MeKat513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chateau also viewed

 

Been to The Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing