We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable and Convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burlington
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Everything one could need for a long or short stay. I had a one bedroom suite and my son had a studio. Both offered a fully equipped kitchen, spacious desk area, very comfortable beds and furnishings. As one who hates hotel rooms, this was a great alternative and 'home away from home' for an extended medical stay. Danielle and Brook at the front desk were wonderfully helpful. Rooms are cleaned weekly so no need to vacate every day and there is laundry available for guests, shuttle service on the 1/2 hour and close proximity to everything. Great location for shopping across the road at Burlington Mall, easy access to Lahey Hospital and a 20 minute drive into Boston.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodBurl, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the heartfelt review of our hotel. We try to provide great service and a home-away-from-home feel for all of our guests. We do have some great employees and it is always a pleasure to be able to provide them the recognition that you appreciate what they do. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    81
    53
    20
    15
See reviews for
58
55
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We chose this place because it was about half way between Boston and Salem, both of which we wanted to visit. The room was spacious and clean with a fully equipped kitchen (big fridge, dishwasher) and a large, spotless bathroom. The living area was roomy with a desk/table combo and a TV with a VCR/DVD player. There was a reclining armchair for relaxing in. The staff was friendly and helpful and the wifi worked without a hitch. There's always free coffee & tea available in the lobby and you can buy snacks and freezer meals from their pantry if you don't feel like going to a grocery store (but there's a Trader Joe's a few blocks away). They also often had cookies & donuts out for the guests.

The staff provided a map to the nearest subway station so we didn't have to drive all the way into Boston, which was great (much cheaper than navigating downtown Boston and paying a fortune for parking). One issue is that the place is really difficult to find, especially if you arrive at night. It's poorly marked and poorly lit, off the main road and through a network of back streets. Make sure to ask for directions directly from the hotel website or staff because mapquest/google maps won't help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenahandbasket2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodBurl, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the heartfelt review of our hotel. We try to provide great service and a home-away-from-home feel for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Exactly as described! Very friendly staff, spacious room - well equipped with microwave, 2 rings, plates, cutlery and so on. Comfortable bed, good wifi. Couldnt ask for more. Gym look good - better than many 5 star hotels, though no rowing machine :(. Washing machines and dryers - free!
There is even a barbecue area outside - but its a bit too chilly to use in the evening in October.
Fortunately, had read that it was difficult to find, so was prepared for that - just turn by Border Cafe (which is excellent!) , then Left, and entrance to parking is at top of the rise.
Only gripe - very noisy refrigerator., although it improved after turning off the ice maker.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodBurl, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We hope that you find the opportunity to visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I needed a hotel in the Boston area for one night on the 6th October 2013. Being a IHG member I perused their hotels in the Boston area and eventually decided on this hotel.

The reasons I choose this hotel were ...

Free WiFi
Guest Reviews on Tripadvisor
Looked easy to get to from the highway

My arrival at the hotel was fraught with difficulty. I arrived in darkness. I was using a GPS to guide me. The GPS brought me to a point on the highway that the hotel should have been, but I could not see it. After driving up and down the road a few times, I eventually located the hotel. It was hidden behind trees. In order to get to it, I had to drive up the side of a restaurant, heading into darkness, take a right and then another right which brought me around the back of the hotel. There was a sign at the last turn, but it had no light on it at all and was impossible to see

The lady on reception was polite, had excellent local informaton, and allocated me room 139

The room was well appointed, comfortable looking bed, good work area, excellent WiFi, and a kitchen area as well. A bag of popcorn was left in the microwave for me also... nice touch !

I am a very light sleeper and on booking a few days before I arrived, I asked could I have a room away from elevators, staff rooms etc etc to ensure I got a good nights sleep

As it was dark when I checked in and I was near the back of the hotel, I assumed I was alocated a room as per my request. But this was not to be

At approx 0430 I was woken by the sound of trucks starting outside my window. Then at about 0600, soem guests leaving were talking so loud that they woke me up.

I was exhausted the next day due to getting little continous sleep... despite me having made the hotel aware of my request before I arrived

Its a real pity about my sleep issue and the difficulty in finding the hotel, as overall it was not bad.

Would I stay again, probably not. I felt that my request was a simple one, that could have been done by the hotel without much fuss. Instead of getting a quiet room, I was allocated perhaps one of the noisest rooms in the property

On another less important note. The IHG site operates a "Price Guarantee" promise. I paid $5 extra for my room to get extra points on my IHG account. The original price on the IHG site was more than i saw it on another site, but because I paid the $5 extra, this brought my price above the independent website that I was looking at.

On contacting IHG to use their "Price Guarantee" my claim was declined because my end price including the %5 for extra points was above their guarantee .... to say I felt cheated is an understatement

Room Tip: Stay away from the lower rooms if you want a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flame01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear flame01,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. I would like to apologize for the noise challenges you experienced and for any inconvenience caused you while visiting our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, Ca.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We chose this place because we were attending a High School Reunion nearby and the location was perfect. The rooms are clean, coffee is always available in the lobby, and we had a kitchen which was nice for breakfast and snacks. They need a business center but the staff was friendly and printed our boarding passes for us. The location is right across from the Burlington Mall which is very large with a lot of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Insanityx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Satisfied with the stay during a recent business trip. I will say that the location- while visible from the main road, is very difficult to find, especially at night. The hotel sign was knocked down and with no lights and construction on the entrance road, it was tough. Definitely made me nervous pulling in, but that was really my only concern. The hotel overall is clean and the beds very comfy. For business travel, the free internet, proximity to major roads, comfortable beds, and cleanliness are most important and for the price, this hotel was great. Dunkin Donuts is about a mile down the road. The mall is across the street with Lord & Taylor, Macy's, Nordstroms, etc... Close to the highway. While I didn't need the full kitchen area in the room, I could see this being beneficial if you were staying for a few days and wanted to cook. Overall, it was clean, safe, and comfortable- I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABBIE7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear ABBIE7878,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your overall experience. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

hotel is right off route 95 and is close to the Lahey Clinic. The Burlington Mall is right across the street which has many shops and restaurants including the awesome Cheesecake Factory. The rooms are equipped with a fridge, microwave and stove along with all glasses and dishes. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. Will stay there again for sure

Room Tip: some rooms face the parking lot which are better than facing the woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Boston/Burlington
0.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Boston - Burlington
1.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Burlington
Boston Marriott Burlington
#4 of 6 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston - Billerica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington

Property: Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington
Address: 130 Middlesex Tpke, Burlington, MA 01803-4417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Burlington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Burlington , Massachusetts, one of the most complete shopping and dining experiences in New England. Whether shopping at the plentiful Burlington Mall or dining out at one of the many exquisite restaurants the area has to offer there is always plenty to do. The Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington Hotel was designed with both the business and leisure travelers in mind. Our spacious guest rooms offer oversized work areas, free high speed Internet, full kitchens and free local phone calls. Our property provides our guests with complimentary laundry facilities, fitness center with state of the art nautilus and cardio equipment, a 24-hour on-site convenience store as well as the enjoyment of a weekly social. We offer a complimentary shuttle service to area businesses, shopping, restaurants and attractions within a five mile radius. Minutes from I-95 and the Mass Pike, Candlewood Suites offers easy access to Downtown Boston , Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Fenway Park, Logan Airport and Cambridge, home to both Harvard University and MIT. Boston is home to many sports teams including the 2007 World Series Champions, Boston Red Sox, the 2004 Superbowl Champions, New England Patriots and the 2008 NBA champions, Boston Celtics . Candlewood Suites is a member of the elite Priority Club Rewards loyalty program, earn points with each qualifying stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Boston Burlington Hotel Burlington
Candlewood Burlington
Candlewood Suites Burlington
Burlington Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing