We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burlington
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good stay for the price!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Candlewood Suites was a good place for my wife and me to stay for five nights while visiting Boston and the surrounding areas. I was worried about the cleanliness and smell of smoke issues mentioned in other reviews, but those issues were minimal (only a bit of dust here or there and the slight smell of smoke on the elevator). The kitchenette was perfect to help us keep costs down by cooking a small breakfast each morning in our room. The staff was always helpful when I needed to exchange towels, get more coffee, or ask questions. Their website said to use the following address if you are using a GPS: 20 Second Ave., Burlington, MA (it worked perfectly).

Pros: price, kitchenette (cook top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, and sink), friendly staff (esp. Nancy), updated room, parking, exercise room, laundry room, and maids not in my room every day.

Cons: loud air conditioner, only one elevator, hearing heavy steps from the floor above, and a few facility issues in our room (door did not hang right, a small leak under the kitchen sink, and ice maker did not seem to work), and you’ll need a car to get around.

I would stay there again and would recommend it because of the good price, good cleanliness in our room, and the kitchenette. F.Y.I. – I don’t expect steak when paying for hamburger!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronmiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    81
    53
    20
    15
See reviews for
58
55
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
163 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

It's for businessmen on longer stays. The feeling is somewhat lonely.

Pros: kitchen, full fridge, parking, lowest cost in area.

Cons: weekly maid service (shorter stay, you must take care of your own room), indifferent front desk, illogical and unstable a/c unit, not enough towels, not the cleanest room. My key quit working each day and had to talk to front desk for new one.

It's hard to find using the address since its not located on Middlesex Tpk at all!

This place should be avoided unless you have very low standards.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear ryans69,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I'm delighted our fully equipped kitchen suited you well. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret that our hotel did not live up to your expectation. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with the housekeeping services. I have taken note of the valuable comments you've shared. Rest assured, these will be used to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Burlington hotels

Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just returned from a quick, no reservation stay at this hotel. We were walk-ins and were greeted and treated very well. We couldn't believe the price for a full kitchen suite! It looked like the room had just be redecorated with modern cupboards and decor. So nice and convenient! While others complained about the hard-to-find location, we very much appreciated the "tucked away" location and convenience to the Burlington Mall (right across the street!). The gentleman who waited on us was so friendly and accommodating. We would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend, and would stay again. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: Although it is not a direct driveway to enter, it is worth it, as it is quiet and tucked away behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

3 rooms later and it was still filthy...except for the bed, which at that point I slept in. Had to wait hours to get housekeeping to clean the bathroom in the morning so I could use the toilet (had someone's poop on it!), shower that had soap scum and hair everywhere and sink that had blue toothpaste in it. The dishes and pots were dirty, the microwave and fridge too. There was Top Ramen noodles on the counter. In the bathroom it looked like vomit on the side of the cabinet, which was the case in the first room and the reason I changed. The second room had missing dishes, dirty counters and fridge and I don't even know what else, because I asked to be moved immediately. The front desk was so rude at 11pm and told me to get another hotel. With my luggage all hauled in at that late hour after a long drive, that was not want I had the energy to do. Avoid this place at all cost. I was an avid fan of Candlewood Suites, staying in Las Vegas for 40 days and Staybridge Suites in Monterrey, Mexico for 4 days in the past 2 months, but have a different opinion now. And can you believe it, they didn't even offer any compensation! I've filed a complaint with corporate and will be following up! Had the housekeeping supervisor in to see the mess and she agreed with me, that the room was NOT acceptable!

Room Tip: Go to the Hampton Inn or Marriott Hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photojenik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear photojenik2,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property. I am sorry to hear that the service you received was unacceptable. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our best to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

Sincerely,

Irish V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

this place is a pit! we booked a room for three nights to see our gravely ill daughter in boston. We booked a no smoking room. We were treated rudely throughout the stay by John..the nite desk person (think that was his name). Firstly..the entire place reeks of smoke from smokers. Aweful smell everywhere..the lobby, all floors,..everywhere. And this is not new...this smell is embedded in everything and everywhere. Secondly, the non-smoking room we were given reeked of smoke. We walked in and found the windows wide open..like they were trying to air it out. It was a certainty that the previous occupant had smoked for his entire stay as it smelled everywhere.
No one would do a thing about it.
The ac unit..either blows full on freezing cold air, or nothing. no matter what we did with the thermostat, we froze and were awakened every time the unit came on. It blowed like a freezing hurricane. No one would do a thing about it.
Thirdly: the iron in the room was a danger. my wife filled it up and went to use it and nearly was shocked to death. I had to run at her and knock her from the circuit. The water tank was cracked, the control knob was broken, and upon looking at it, there were bare contacts showing near the control knob. Not only did they NOT apologize, John was so lazy that he could not even go to another room and get us a working iron. Never stay here or at any Candlewood again as this one seemed to be an over-glorified boarding house or residence apartment complex for long staying residence. They don't care about the short term customers. Hell, there were three cars out in the parking lot alone that were stranded there and unable to run...abandoned. This is a flop house..not a hotel..and the staff..well..could care less.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saltomer9488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Suite was nice to bring own food/drinks for business trip. Nice and quiet, very convenient. Would stay again if needed.

Room Tip: Rooms on East side get full blast of sunrise...drapes block sun adequately though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masstester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a newer and very clean hotel. It is a suite hotel and offers big suite rooms, new raised plush beds, flat screen TV’s, full kitchen and nice sized bathroom. The only downside is no free breakfast, no pool, hot tub, bar or restaurant. One other big downsize is that the website DOES NOT give you a line on this hotel. We just needed a hotel before we got on a cruise and some sightseeing in Boston. I did not know what to expect but when I got there I was like “JACKPOT!” because I got a great price on a newer hotel. This is a nice hotel and everything is new. Additionally the hotel sits about a mile or so down the street from Burlington Mall. The mall is NOT in walking distance because of a major 4 lane busy street. The area is very “burbs” and the usual suspects are around the mall or within miles of the mall (i.e. all brand name restaurants, fast food, shopping, etc…). Dually noted the hotel parking lot you have to get to from the backside … no access off the busy 4 lane street. The hotel is actually raised a bit from the street up on a small hill so you can see it but you got to turn at the next light and go back to it on a side street behind it. Depending on your needs and your plans this might or might not be a hotel for families meaning there is no free breakfast or swimming pool. However there are barbeque pits and picnic tables on the hotel grounds which was nice … we did not use it … but it was well done appointed area and would be fun if you had more time. Hands Down … I am going back to Boston and would stay here again … and I have walked out of hotels … even gotten in arguments and wrote and sent pictures to corporate if I go up to a room and something funky, dirty or just downright not going to work. I am not about names or labels. I don’t care if you are a Super8 or Omni … I’ll call you out if you hotel is not meeting city and county codes or representing

Room Tip: Close to the side doors of the hotel so you aren't always going the front door of entrance which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FaylisaFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Boston - Burlington
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Boston/Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
1.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Burlington
Boston Marriott Burlington
#4 of 6 in Burlington
738 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston - Billerica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington

Property: Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington
Address: 130 Middlesex Tpke, Burlington, MA 01803-4417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Burlington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Burlington , Massachusetts, one of the most complete shopping and dining experiences in New England. Whether shopping at the plentiful Burlington Mall or dining out at one of the many exquisite restaurants the area has to offer there is always plenty to do. The Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington Hotel was designed with both the business and leisure travelers in mind. Our spacious guest rooms offer oversized work areas, free high speed Internet, full kitchens and free local phone calls. Our property provides our guests with complimentary laundry facilities, fitness center with state of the art nautilus and cardio equipment, a 24-hour on-site convenience store as well as the enjoyment of a weekly social. We offer a complimentary shuttle service to area businesses, shopping, restaurants and attractions within a five mile radius. Minutes from I-95 and the Mass Pike, Candlewood Suites offers easy access to Downtown Boston , Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Fenway Park, Logan Airport and Cambridge, home to both Harvard University and MIT. Boston is home to many sports teams including the 2007 World Series Champions, Boston Red Sox, the 2004 Superbowl Champions, New England Patriots and the 2008 NBA champions, Boston Celtics . Candlewood Suites is a member of the elite Priority Club Rewards loyalty program, earn points with each qualifying stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Boston Burlington Hotel Burlington
Candlewood Burlington
Candlewood Suites Burlington
Burlington Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing