We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here all the time, hotel is great but internet is lousy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house Boston/Burlington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stay here all the time, hotel is great but internet is lousy”
Reviewed November 7, 2008

I've stayed here probably 10x a year for 4 years. It's by far the best Suite hotel in the Boston area. Much better than the Summerfield Suites in Woburn. The only complaint I have is the Internet has gotten worse and worse through the years, to the point where is is almost useless. Whether wifi or connecting a wire to the ethernet, it is SLOW. I guess you get what you pay for since it's free, but I would stay elsewhere if I could find another Suite hotel in the area. If I didn't need a suite, I wouldn't stay here because of the Internet (I have to do work by internet while I'm here and it's a real struggle).

That said, the rooms are great, location is great, kitch is just right, beds are comfy, everything is clean, staff is friendly. They recently updated the rooms with LCD TVs in the living room and a dvd player. Breakfast is "OK" -- fine for free. Again used to be better when this was owned by Wyndham. But for free, can't complain.

Highly recommend this unless you need fast internet!

  • Liked — Large rooms, amenities, free breakfast
  • Disliked — SLOW internet
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scottinvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    187
    43
    5
    3
See reviews for
310
107
27
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It was a very pleasant experience. The Suite was well furnished with all the amenities like stove top, microwave, refrigerator etc. The staff was very friendly and most important the hotel was just 15 mts away from Alewife station.
My husband and I had a wonderful experience.
Looking forward to staying in this place during my next trip to Boston.

  • Liked — Clean and Well Furnished rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gayathri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We stay up in the Boston area when we visit our daughter at school. We try a different hotel each time we visit and this one by far was the very best. Check in was quick, easy and friendly. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The first morning the shower drain wasn't working properly and we mentioned it at the front desk on the way out for the day. The man at the desk said he would take care of it right away. The next morning it was perfect. The breakfast buffet was included and had everything that you could want to eat. French toast, waffles, eggs, corned beef hash, bagels, cold cereals, fruit, juices and coffee. The people that work the breakfast do a great job keeping everything filled. The hotel is in an excellent location with the drive into Boston only taking 20 minutes. I highly recommend this hotel to others and will most definitely stay there in the future. Kudos to the people that run this hotel!

  • Liked — Proximity to Boston, Cleanliness and Comfort, Great Staff, Great Breakfast Buffet
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MamaSing21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, AZ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

My wife and I stayed one night in this extra-nice hotel near Boston, paying $99 plus tax. We paid for a deluxe king suite, and the room had a living room, kitchenette, and two bedrooms, both with King Size beds. Staff were friendly and helpful. The beds were the most comfortable beds we'd ever had in a hotel! The suite was super clean and convenient. The hot breakfast was very good, but odd there was only one salt and pepper shaker for the entire breakfast crowd. We would definitely stay here again if the price is right. Easy drive to the Alewife subway station for a trip into Boston on the "T."

  • Liked — Clean, spacious room & comfortable bedding
  • Disliked — breakfast was very good, but everything else was so much better
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I've been travelling out to this area for the past two and a half years for business - my customer is just down the road in Bedford, so staying in central Boston is not really an option.
Over this time I have tried most of the options around - other 'suite' hotels such as the Hampton Inn on the Middlesex turnpike or the Amerisuites, proper hotels like the Marriott on the Burlington Mall road - but this is by far the best option.

OK, it doesn't have a bar, the food options are a basic breakfast buffet and the snacks buffet in the evening (both free) but there are a lot of goods restaurants around, some in walking distance - a rare thing in suburban USA. The free shuttle will take you anywhere close, and it is pretty straightforward to get into Boston if you need via either shuttle to the commuter train or bus from pretty much outside the hotel to the T (subway) into town - though not so great getting back late at night.

The rooms are well designed, always clean and quiet, and despite being at the lower end of the Hyatt range include the trademarked Hyatt Grand Bed - which is wonderfully luxurious. All of which makes me wonder why it is normally less than 2/3 of the price of the bog standard Marriott down the road.

The thing that makes the difference for me, as I tend to stay at least a week each time, is that it is truly a suite - a proper kitchen with living room area, and separate bedroom / dressing room / bathroom. You can actually cook, all the utensils are there, and there is a Roche Brothers supermarket around the corner to get supplies (plus a damn fine liquor store to boot)
If you are a little lazy, the hotel has a service to buy your supplies for you - just put together a list and they will get it. If you are really lazy, there is also a 3rd party service that will pick up take away from any restaurant in the area, for a fairly small fee.

Plus - and this is probably more for a long term stayer - they have just put in flat screen HDTV in every room, to go with the 50+ channels on the TV and DVD player in every room. Not so much for the tourist, but still might be good entertaining the kids. No on demand TV like the hotels, but they tend to have only 10 channels so have to offer it. Why is it that a cheap motel can offer 99 channels and free internet but the big chains make us pay?
Oh - and there is free wireless internet in every room.

Obviously you don't expect 5 star luxury and attractive landscaping, but it is far better than I would expect, has a gym, an outdoor pool in season and the staff have always been unfailingly friendly and helpful.

Simply best value in the area

  • Liked — Facilities
  • Disliked — Lack of Bar
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nickmew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, DE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2008

5-night stay couldn't have been better. From check-in to check-out, we (two sisters) were very comfortable. Rooms are great and although the hotel was booked, we never heard a thing inside our room (except the maid brigade who assembled not far from our room in the mornings...they may want to keep it down a bit). Breakfast in the morning was very good and happy hour was also a nice touch (despite the people who decided to make it their dinner hour leaving not much for others)!!!! Was great to be able to get a rental car right at the hotel. Getting to Boston was troubling at first, but once we got the hang of it, it was actually interesting. For the lower cost of the hotel, it was well worth it to stay outside the pricy downtown hotels. If the "T" was more accessible to this hotel...it would be hard to get a room here.

  • Liked — The suite was very comfortable
  • Disliked — Difficulty getting to the subway
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bricknurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I had a business trip planned for the Boston area and chose this hotel for the location (near my meetings) and a few other reasons I will list below. I took my wife and daughter along and that played a part in my decision as well. Hotel is very nice with nice rooms and ample parking. I believe all the rooms are "suite type" with a kitchen and living room area.

Hotel offers free breakfast with at least a couple of hot items such as eggs or omlets and bacon or sausage. Of course there is also the muffins, breads, fruit, etc. One bonus is the evening light meals which are also included free and offered Monday through Friday. Items such as chicken wings, chips/dips, bread, pizza, lasagna, etc were offered during the week on various days. We tried it a couple of days when we didn't feel like going out and it was pretty good.

Hotel offers free shuttle for a five mile radius and the family used this service to travel to the nearby Burlington mall which is very large and offers plenty of shopping opportunities. A block from the hotel is a shopping center (Wayside Commons) which offers some nice stores as well and is within walking distance. Laundry facilities, exercise room, and business center (internet access) were all utilized by the family. Free internet hook up in the room as well. Pool was nice but was smaller than it looks in the online photos. Area seemed very safe and secure and I had no worries for the family while I was in business meetings away from the hotel.

Hotel is convenient to Boston and we went into the city a couple of times during our stay. I paid $159/night during the week with a business rate arranged by my company's travel agent. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pepper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Burlington
Boston Marriott Burlington
#4 of 6 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Woburn
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston - Billerica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Boston/Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Boston/Burlington

Property: HYATT house Boston/Burlington
Address: 2 Van de Graaff Dr, Burlington, MA 01803-5195 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Burlington)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Burlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Burlington
#3 Business Hotel in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Boston/Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt House Boston/Burlington is a contemporary styled hotel with the comforts of home and office. With its residential feel and inviting social spaces, our hotel is a place to live, not just stay. Located 20 minutes from Boston, our hotel offers easy access to local businesses, shopping, dining and attractions, including Wayside Commons and historic Cambridge. Spread out and get comfortable in our spacious suites where you feel right at home. Go with a One-Bedroom or Two-Bedroom Suite, featuring a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), full kitchen with cabinets, dedicated work space and a living room with flat-panel TV and DVD for an evening of relaxation. Got extra guests? We've got a standard pull out sofa bed as well. Start your morning off with our complimentary Morning Spread with Omelet Bar. Grab freshly prepared sandwiches and salads from the 24-hour Guest Market or grab a few groceries for whipping up a meal in your room. Whether you are visiting for business or leisure, as our resident guest you will enjoy a 24-hour workout room, seasonal outdoor pool and a business center. Our friendly House Host is happy to help with anything else you need to feel connected and comfortable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Boston/Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Burlington Hotel Burlington
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Burlington
Summerfield Suites Burlington
Hyatt Burlington
Burlington Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing