We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming rustic farmhouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Buckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you are visiting the Berkshires and want a beautiful, homey, quiet place to stay book with the Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast. The house and the hosts are both charming. My husband and I arrived on a Sunday night for a honeymoon stay and were greeted by Pat, Dennis and Cyndy along with friendly mutt Yoda. We were shown to the Robin's Nest room where Cyndy had left us a bottle of locally-made sparkling hard cider and gourmet chocolates from Mo's Fudge Factor. The room was very clean and well kept, and we enjoyed the fall New England ambiance as we relaxed in the claw foot tub. The next morning we awoke to the tantalizing scent of Cyndy's cooking, and went downstairs to eat a truly delicious breakfast of local fruit, pumpkin bread, and to-die-for omelets that was accompanied by coffee and orange juice. The hosts are very knowledgeable about the area's many attractions, including the Bridge of Flowers and the local restaurants. We are looking forward to planning our return trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our weekend at the Bird's Nest far exceeded our expectations. The accommodations were great and, most of all, our hosts - Pat, Cyndi, and Dennis - were so warm and friendly! Their adorable dog, Yoda, added to the ambience as did the incredible breakfasts including delicious pancakes and the scrumptious Bird's Nest omelet. We spent time sipping tea and wine with our hosts and learning about the history of their charming house to the point where we felt like we were staying with old friends. We will definitely recommend this place to our friends and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nina233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you are lucky enough to be traveling in the gorgeous hills of Western Mass, and you want a base of operations, you can't go wrong with a stay at the Bird's Nest. The colonial house has gone through a number of incarnations, and its current restoration has been carried out with a richly whimsical artistic eye. The house is filled with wonderful art objects created by one of the hosts, which somewhat surprisingly fit right into an old colonial country house. Artistry has a been applied not only to created objects but even to restoration like the wallpaper, all of it nevertheless reinforcing the history of the structure.

Our room was clean and comfortable, with a private unattached bathroom. Breakfast each day was spectacular, in terms of food, the lovely screened-in back porch where we ate, and warmly engaging conversations with our hosts. It is impossible not to feel at home.

The Bird's Nest is within a short drive of restaurants and 'attractions' in Shelburne Falls as well as next door Ashfield, though for some of us Western Mass is one large 'attraction' in itself---just driving around is blissful. Hosts Pat, Cyndy and Dennis can recommend a wide range of activities in the area. Since we used to live nearby, finding a place to stay as welcoming and delicious as the Bird's Nest has been a great discovery for our occasional returns to the area. Unreservedly recommended!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you're zip lining or white water rafting and want a place to stay over night in the middle of nowhere? The folks at the Bird's Nest are wonderful hosts. The house is charming and with 3 couples we nearly filled all the available space. The rooms are clean, comfy, and just right for a mini vacation. Breakfast was over the top - eggs benedict and all the fixin's. Brownies when we got home from dinner and before we left the next day. Wonderful stories about the old house, it's early american history, and it's association with Mt Holyoke College. Don't be turned off by the "in the works" barn. The host is turning it into an art studio so she can continue to pursue her passions in the arts - and take a look inside. You'll want to return once it's finished!

Room Tip: Again, it's Buckland MA - so for ziplining, white water rafting, hiking, biking, skiing, leaf pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjmccaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

At first when we saw the outside of the house, we were wary but it turned out that the place was gorgeous on the inside. The house is full of history and art. The hosts were extremely kind and attentive and we had some great conversations with them. The rooms were spacious and each had their own private bathroom which was nice. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, Eggs Benedict and the tomatoes from their garden were delicious! They also have the most adorable little dog named Yoda. I look forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Fabulous time! The Bird's Nest will not disappoint and neither will your hosts, Pat, Cyndy or Dennis! My husband and I had the best conversations with them. It was like visiting old friends! The rooms are quaint and clean, the house itself is full of history and the breakfast that was prepared for us the next morning was ridiculously good! I have already recommended The Bird's Nest to several other couples and I will definitely be returning next year! Thank you for making our 5th anniversary even more special!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank licoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was warmly greeted by the Inn's grand-dame, Pat, upon my arrival. My second-floor room was as described. It brought back memories of my youth and a simpler time. Pat and Cyndy's artistry was evident throughout the house. It was warm and welcoming, as were the hosts. They were very attentive and helpful but not intrusive. The breakfasts were nourishing and nurturing to the body, and as prepared by Cyndy, to the soul. Her eggs Benedict were as I had been warned - the best I have ever had! Ingredients in everything are fresh from their prolific garden or neighboring farms. I am already planning my return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird's Nest Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Charlemont Rd, Buckland, MA 01338-9707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Buckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buckland
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1797 the Bird's Nest B & B exudes an ambiance of elegance and simplicity. As a 200-year-old home, it's architecture reflects the area and personality of all who have lived and cared for the homestead for the last two centuries. Quilts, rugs, pottery, furniture, sculpture and paintings created by a family of artists and artisans can be found throughout the home, as well as a medley of family heirlooms, antiques and collectibles. We serve a full breakfast with fresh fruit, home baked muffins(or scones or bread) along with a main course such as eggs benedict. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing