We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi! ”

Yamato Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi
Ranked #8 of 172 Restaurants in Brockton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great sushi! ”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Great variety of sushi! However the waitress wasn't that pleasant. They need to improve on their customer service. Our waitress barely took the time to see if we needed anything else or if our food was okay. I didn't feel very welcomed. Maybe next time I'll just do take out for the sushi since dining at the restaurant isn't always so pleasant. I've been here twice and each time the customer service isn't that great.

Helpful?
Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not bad. I was surprised, they surpassed my expectations.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was not expecting much, but the prices were reasonable for the quality and quantity of the Sushi we got. We did go there on one of the half-price days (or some type of discount, if not half-price). We ordered a large amount of Sushi, multiple rolls, and it all came on a single plate - which was prefect for us this evening. The presentation was nice. I still would not call this high-end sushi, but then you're not paying high-end prices. I still have my preferred sushi place that I will go to, but now I will occasionally go to Yamato, because of the value. I am hoping they are consistent in their food/service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StuGrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You're the Yamato is my Yamato”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

No wait right in ,we made friends around the table chef is nice and funny very entertaining great for the family we loved it.the price was okay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, FL
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We went to Yamoto with family as we were visiting the area. We had an entertaining time with our chef as he prepared our meal. The rice and noodles that he prepared were very tasty as well as the shrimp. We had plenty to eat with soup and salad as part of the meal. We had to take some of our main course with us as there was that much food. We were seated quickly and served rather quickly too. I comparison to other Hibachi type restaurants, I would rate this as average for the most part but the chef (think his name was Frankie) was one of the best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scoutdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I liked it a lot!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It was my daughter's 18th b-day, and she wanted to go here, so about 10 of us went. the food was very tasty, and the chef put on a good show cooking our food for us. I would recommend it, and the value was good, too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Yamato Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing