We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option outside of Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boston South - Brockton
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Brockton
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a trip to Boston. The rooms have been updated recently but the halls and elevator have not had the same renovations. I found the price tag a bit much but I guess that just comes with the territory of traveling in the northeast. We received great service from the front desk and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karrmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 165 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here years ago when it was a Holiday Inn in need of renovation about 6 years ago. When I had to book back in the are I found it had changed to a Holiday Inn Express. The hotel lobby is very attractive and modern, the rooms are clean and updated, and the rest of the hotel is above average. I would definitely go back as it has finally become a modern clean hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deemantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston South - Brockton, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Deemantz,

We would like to thank you for such a fantastic review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Boston-Brockton! Your observations of our renovation are right on the money!! We love it too and can't wait to have you return in the near future. Thanks so much for staying with us and this very valuable review.

Sincerely, Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel and were very pleased. The hotel was clean and quiet and our room was quite attractive, spacious, and comfortable. Plenty of parking. The hotel is right next to a shopping mall with a number of restaurants close by.

The staff was excellent and very helpful. The breakfast was one of the better ones we have seen in the past few trips we have made. Good variety, well laid out, plenty of seating, and the food was good for that type of breakfast.

We recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hotel is nice and well maintained. Rooms are very spacious and beds are kept clean. The staff are courteous. Service is really quick. Front desk people are very serious and do not smile. Food is just above average. The location is near to many local attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACCUDIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

When I booked this hotel, I was excited to receive a Holiday Inn Express at a great price through Priceline. However, I quickly discovered this hotel is the old "Westgate Hotel & Convention Center" I stayed at about three years ago -- which is the only time I ever left a hotel and paid to book another hotel!

Holiday Inn did a good job of renovating the hotel. The lobby area is all new and the hallways have new carpet and wall paper. Most of the smoke odor has been eliminated. The guest rooms have newer wall paper, new beds and furniture, and clean bathrooms. The morning breakfast bar was up to par with any other Holiday Inn Express.

But this hotel has many problems. First, the curtain in my room was partly detached and left a giant void when closed. This was a problem since my room was on the first floor and faced the parking lot. I asked the front desk if I could have another room or the curtain fixed. I was told they could changed the room since I booked through Priceline! So, I used towels and hangers to block out the light and view.

The A/C unit has not been updated and it omits a horrible mildewy odor. The bathrooms have open shared vents with no fan. You hear everything in the neighboring bathroom (hairdryer, clippers). I left my hotel room around 11am and retired at 8pm to find housekeeping did not clean my room. The front desk informed me they could provide service and the policy is to notify the front desk if you leave your room after 10am. At least they gave me a few towels and new toiletries.

It was a Friday night (May 31) and around midnight a few non guests were hanging out in the parking lot, drinking, and blasting their stereo systems. This continued for a while before I called my front desk from my cell phone (I figured the guy at the desk would be annoyed if he knew it was me). He said he would ask them to leave but the noise did not stop until 1:30am!

I was never so happy to leave a hotel.

Room Tip: Request an upper level room facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston South - Brockton, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Micakron,

Thank you very much for all of your feedback and for staying with us. We are very pleased that you rated us well on the physical conditions and value our renovation. We are concerned about the issues that you ran into during your stay and apologize for these inconveniences. I will be contacting you directly in order to gain any additional feedback so as to address any problems accordingly. For community reference, all of our air conditioning/heating units have been replaced within 1 year and the bathroom exhaust fans have all been replaced as of last week. We greatly appreciate your business and I look forward to the opportunity to speak to you personally!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed there for 5 nights while for our sons wedding. Two of our children had rooms also. We loved it! Our rooms were cleaned perfectly no matter what time we left. The indoor pool was so nice and the courtyard lovely. We were met with hot chocolate chip cookies every single afternoon. The breakfasts were exceptional. They always had a variety of yogurt, fresh baked cinnamon rolls, cereal, juice, pancakes and a variety of bagels, breads and rolls. The hot breakfast changed every day from scrambled eggs, link sausage and hash browns, to sausage gravy and biscuits or omelettes and bacon. The staff went out of there way to help us in any way they could from getting us a cab to recommending restaurants. It was so very nice and we were extremely pleased with the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston South - Brockton, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Shirley,

Thank you very much for all of your kind feedback and wonderful accolades. We are so glad that you found every aspect of stay perfect and that our staff treated you well. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again at the Holiday Inn Express Boston-Brockton!

Sincerely,

Tom Lehnen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I read other reviews on HDIX's website and really questioned whether to stay here or not. Upon pulling up to the hotel, I noticed that the hotel is new. When I walked into the foyer, I could tell that this was going to be a nice stay. I asked the front desk manager why the reviews I read were so bad. He said that they are older reviews when the hotel was in an older building and the stigma to the location is something he is trying to overcome. The rooms were a little smaller than usual but plenty big for me as I had a king bed and was traveling alone. The bed was soft and the hotel was quiet. In the morning, the breakfast was good. I was pleasantly surprised that the eggs which are normally folded in half and filled with a lot of cheese which I don't care for were not that way here. Instead, they were folded in half and inside was a ham mixture which was tasty. They even had a pancake machine which I used. I would definitely stay here again the next time I am in the area!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston South - Brockton, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hi Paul,
Thank you very much for all of your kind feedback and wonderful accolades. We are so proud of the beautiful renovation results and of the fine customer service that we consistently provide our guests. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again at the Holiday Inn Express Boston-Brockton!

Sincerely,

Tom Lehnen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockton
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brockton (Boston)
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Brockton
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 6 in Foxboro
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Courtyard Boston Stoughton
9.2 mi away
Best Western Rockland
Best Western Rockland
#1 of 3 in Rockland
557 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston South - Brockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston South - Brockton

Address: 405 Westgate Dr, Brockton, MA 02301-1819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Brockton
Price Range: $98 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston South - Brockton 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Boston-Brockton has just completed a $1.5 million renovation. The renovation included a complete overhaul of the guestrooms, public areas, exterior facade and landscaping. Additionally, new management has been assigned to improve overall guest satisfaction. Situated at the entrance of the Westgate Mall, the hotel is immediately adjacent to Route 24 and Route 27. Thehotel's proximity to major routes and its location in a vigorously recovering market make it a prime destination for visitors." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston South - Brockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing