We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible in every way.”
Review of Ocean Terrace

Ocean Terrace
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 40 Restaurants in Brewster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ocean Terrace. The place to begin the party or to wind down over drinks at sunset. A stunning mix of old and new, Ocean Terrace features a hip outdoor bar and dining area adjacent to the historic Nickerson Mansion, with breathtaking views of Cape Cod Bay. At Ocean Terrace indoors, three intimate dining rooms in the Mansion have been preserved to reflect the turn-of-the-century period of the Nickerson family. Ocean Terrace outdoors offers a stunning view of Cape Cod Bay and dining under the stars. Join us and take in the best view of the bayside of Cape Cod.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible in every way.”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Terrace is a beautiful setting, particularly at sunset. However, it is poorly run, and the people running it are rude. If you are wanting a dessert and a nightcap late in the evening, you will not be allowed on the Terrace unless you order dinner, even if there are plenty of tables open. We were shuffled over to the lounge area, which was literally in the dark with our two young children. After an hour, and several trips back over to the host station, we still did not receive our desserts. Our waiter was very kind, but had no control over the lack of organization in the restaurant. When we finally received our dessert, it was comped by the director of food and beverage who overheard me complaining at the front desk about waiting in the dark for an hour and still not getting our food. The overall attitude of the staff was such a turn off that I don't even want to use the voucher for a free dinner there that was given to me when we checked in.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lauradean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    62
    34
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very much over priced”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

While the view from the terrace bar is lovely nothing justifies the exorbitant pricing of the terrace bar at Oceans Edge. We stopped for drinks after long day at the beach. Great spot but $11/glass for William Hill is over the top. Looked at the dinner menu and saw entrees at $39 and maybe higher. Must be caering to a country with a high premium to the USD.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting but poor execution”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have been to the Terrace many times and will keep coming back for the view and general ambience. However, if this restaurant were any place else they would be out of business in a month. I'm hoping the management will wake up and realize that with better organization this could be the premier destination on Cape Cod. However, right now it is little more than a poorly managed, over-priced tourist trap that attracts those who feel a place is special if they are overcharged for marginal food and poor service. As just one example, at lunchtime today, some genius manager decided to block the ocean view from the bar with a row of potted plants! ARGH! When we went there for dinner a couple weeks ago, it was literally painful to watch the waitstaff because they seemed so disorganized. Many amongst the staff are seasonal workers from Eastern Europe. Typically, their English is excellent, and they are eager to please. However, there is no excuse for expensive hot entrees to be served cold after more than an hour because the kitchen procedures are in such disarray (specially when the bill for 2 was close to $200). Since many of the waitstaff were busily bustling around but not really doing anything productive, I have little doubt that the problem is with their organization and procedures. (In my humble opinion, a kitchen actually up on the Terrace would be a wise investment and greatly improve service.) On the positive side, the view truly is spectacular and having a cocktail at the bar with the night breeze blowing off the ocean is unforgettable. (The bartenders also are great.) So the smart customer might opt for a drink at the Terrace bar and maybe an appetizer then hop up the road a mile or so to Laurinos for dinner for better food and service at less than half the price (but no view and much less ambience.) For the management, if this review seems harsh, I'm sorry. I really like your spot and am hoping you will make some improvements in service and organization.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STFDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All about "the view"”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

If dining outside and enjoying a view are important to you, then you may want to try Ocean Terrace on a weekday night (can't comment about wkends). Along w/ other reviews, suggest drinks & maybe a nibble to enjoy the view, but dinner is another story. Young servers & bus people seem eager to please & appear pleasant, but training and management are severely lacking. Staff would make more tips if management committed to standard training.
Average bottle red zin, 2009, was $42; wine list is not extensive, but there a few values. Our shared app was the charcuterie plate, but took nearly 25 mins to get and was not worth $19: nothing made inhouse & such a simple plating that even a child could do. Dinner arrived while still finishing app, which wouldn't have been so bad except 2 diff fish entrees were completely overcooked. For the prices, expectations are higher so we sent them back. Server was extremely apologetic, as was "the chef". Kitchen corrected problem & we enjoyed our fish. Again, presentation was nothing special, so we were not motivated to stay for desserts or after-dinner drinks. Ultimately, we can only recommend this new terrace for drinks and apps because of "the view".

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BMB1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food and the Best View on the Cape”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a must see! The menu is great, food service and staff all very pleasant. The view and atmosphere of this restaurant is special. Enjoy the experience and take your time to enjoy it. The staff does not try to rush you out, which is different from most places.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndoverM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Terrace also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing