We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a place to stay”
Review of The Old Manse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Manse Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enfield, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than just a place to stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 31st wedding anniversy with a stay at the Old Manse Inn. The owners Brian and Charlie made our stay perfect. Not only is this B&B a beautiful establishment in a great location the personality of the owners makes the Old Manse Inn stand out from the rest of the B&B's on the Cape. I highly recommend staying here and insure to look for the smile with your breakfast!

Room Tip: If traveling with as a couple I highly recommend the Vineyard room with it's cozy fireplace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are so glad you decided to spend your occasion with us! What a great accomplishment for the both of you. We try to do our best to make sure your stay is all about smiles, whether on your breakfast plate to start the day or while making your dinner reservation later in the day. While other rooms do have tubs in them, the Vineyard Room is one of 3 rooms that has a Jacuzzi tub. We are glad you enjoyed it and the fireplace! Don't forget, the next time you come, you need to experience the upgraded bedding in the Vineyard and all deluxe and luxury rooms! We hope to see you both again for #32!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    42
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
429
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Brian and Charlie were very welcoming and friendly hosts. The inn has a lot of charm with rooms that always felt clean and well maintained. They have bikes for their guests to use which we took full advantage of to cruise along the Old Rail line. Brian's breakfasts every morning were the perfect way to start the day. Each day was a new, delicious surprise. After having stayed in numerous B&B's around the country over the years, I have to say this was definitely one of my favorites. I hope we can come back and stay again someday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phahn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
We hope you come back and stay again as well! It was great having you here and we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Having the bikes available really does allow our guests to take in Brewster and the Cape, see the charm, from a completely unique perspective. These wonderful Spring days have been great for that. We hope our breakfasts gave you the fuel you needed out there. It is great to hear that people really enjoy sitting down to breakfast in our Dining Room. We will try to keep the surprises coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We have temporarily relocated to CT from New Orleans...yes. We miss it! But some of our closest friends from our home town met us here last weekend April 25th and 26th. Our friends actually recommended the spot to us after staying here last November during their honeymoon.

We stayed in suites 10 & 11. It was like we had our own house, yet all of the amenities of an inn.

The suites are beautiful and not over the top decorated! At the end of the hallway, our suites shared a keurig with lots of choices of drinks and we always had a tray of cookies covered at all times. If we ate any in the morning, when we get got back in the afternoon they was replenished! Talk about attentive!

Breakfasts were delicious and we each got plenty!

The innkeepers, Charlie and Brian were superb and friendly, warm and inviting. As we were leaving I felt like we were saying goodbye to old friends. They are lovely lovely people.

I can't say enough about this place , except we have more friends coming to visit in July... And if they want to go to the Cape... We will be staying there again!

I promise, you will not be disappointed!

Did I mention that everything was immaculate. All of us are crazy clean and I did not have a problem! Oh and the bathroom in suite 11 with the claw footed tub...gorgeous!

Thank you Charlie and Brian...see you soon!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denih55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
You all were so much fun that we hated to see you all go. It must be that southern charm! Thank you so much for your very kind words.
We must get together, either staying here on the Cape in July, as you noted, or perhaps even in New Orleans during the Winter months!
You found out the best quality about the Vineyard & Nantucket Rooms! While just feet away from the main house, you have that separation & quiet as well, especially if you have come with another couple as the barn is completely yours at that point. We replicated most of the amenities of the main house as well with your own refrigerator, Keurig coffee choices, port wine and cookies too!
Hopefully we will see you here at the Old Manse again soon. The claw-footed tub is waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have stayed at several different b+b's at this point, on the Cape and elsewhere, and this is hands down my favorite. Never have I seen a b+b so tastefully kept. We stayed in the Vineyard Room, one of the newer (I believe) deluxe rooms, and it was beautifully decorated and just plain immaculate. Some b+b's can be pretty frumpy, with the drapes matching the wallpaper matching the bedspread (yuck!), but this one was anything but. Comfy, quiet, relaxing, modern. The common areas were also gorgeous.

AND the breakfast. Oh my gosh, the breakfast! It was so good. We definitely got our money's worth each morning, and it wasn't just your basic bacon and eggs. I'm talking gourmet, mouthwatering, eat-till-you're-stuffed breakfast. The food alone makes this place worth it, but add in a great location, a relaxing atmosphere, and a pair of awesome innkeepers, and you'd be a fool to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We really want to thank you so much - and we are really happy your stay with us was your favorite experience. That means a lot to us as new innkeepers! The Vineyard Room is one of our Luxury Rooms, and being one of 2 rooms in the re-furbished barn, it does have a newer feel to it. The barn, up to a few years ago, was a real barn, complete with bats! While the outside look remains the same as it was built many, many years ago, the inside has been completely re-built. We have also just upgraded the bedding in both Luxury Rooms as well. You will not want to get out of bed! These rooms are quieter too for those folks looking for that quality.

As for the breakfasts, there is no plain bacon and eggs here - unless that is what you want! The 2-course breakfasts we serve allow us to provide some flair to our guests than what they may be typically used to. However, we just served oatmeal and fruit to some guests as well that were looking for an early start to reach their ferry to Nantucket. Staying at the Old Manse and Brewster, being in the middle of the Cape on the bay side, allows our guests quicker access to all of Cape Cod within a reasonable time, especially as the high season begins. We cannot wait to have you back to try some of our new recipes and just enjoy the relaxing parlor or living room porch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Brian and Charlie made the experience the best it possibly could be! Also, Brian's cooking is fantastic & filling; delicious fuel to keep us going most of the day. The rooms and decor at the Manse are perfect and blend well with the atmosphere set by Brewster, which I believe might just be the friendliest town on the Cape! I highly recommend staying at the Old Manse!

Green Features: They are very conscious of the environment, and have several practices to reduce your carbon footprint while you enjoy a leisurely and pleasant experience, including complimentary bicycle use!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your response! We are trying to make both Brewster and the Old Manse Inn the best experience they can be for our guests while they are here. Being at the 'hub' of the Cape, that opportunity is all the more easier because we are central to most of Cape Cod in any direction. Our complementary bikes are a great way to see a good portion of Cape Cod with miles of rail trails just minutes from leaving the driveway. We are happy to hear that our breakfasts fuel you up for the day. The Spring air now is just wonderful this time of year with the many sunny days we have had recently. Please come back and stay with us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My partner and I, along with our very best friends from New Orleans, stayed 2 nights at the Old Manse Inn this past weekend.

Our friends had the pleasure of spending part of their honeymoon there in November, loved it and wanted to go back.

I still looked at TA and saw that the Inn had changed hands but received great reviews. So, off we went.

Suffice it to say, we've stayed in some questionable B&B's down south. The Cannonball Room (which had exactly what the name implies, a cannonball stuck in the wall), a scary Teddy Bear room, which nowhere did it say that Teddy Bears were the featured decor, and other type rooms that left much to be desired.

However, The Old Manse Inn is having none of that! They are detail oriented, guest centric in their approach, and incredibly charming. Combined with the beauty and cleanliness of the rooms, makes this Inn in a league all by themselves.

We had the West Wing - Suites 10 & 11. Big, beautiful rooms with absolutely delightful furnishings. The beds are heavenly. So much so, we bought sheets!

The suites had fireplaces, plenty of closet space, flat screened TV's, king sized beds.

Right outside your door there is a fully stocked coffee station with tea, cookies and port provided.

There is a full sized refrigerator as well which they, graciously, allowed us to fill with all manner of beverages of both cocktail and soda.

Every morning a gourmet breakfast which is as good as any "high cotton" restaurant.

The common areas of the home are inviting, stocked with all manner of games, there is a piano, plenty of comfortable seating and lovely music.

There is nothing negative about the Inn. Nothing.

The innkeepers, Charlie & Brian are as gracious and accommodating as they come. Miss Leigh was never without a smile and Rufus, well, Rufus, is just an added bonus.

The Inn is located such that P-Town is an easy drive as well as Hyannis and all points otherwise.

We are looking forward to coming back and bringing over people with us.

It's just that good.

So, if you're reading this, go ahead and book. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The suites in the West Wing offer a bit more privacy and the Clawfoot tub in #12 should be an attrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammmieLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
We so enjoyed having the four of you stay with us - and all the way from New Orleans too - via Connecticut! You all were such fun and we so much enjoyed having you here with us. Sorry, no cannonballs here at the Old Manse though! lol
We have so loved having guests like yourselves who are from far and wide - or practically neighbors from different towns in Massachusetts too. Our luxury rooms that you stayed in - Vineyard & Nantucket - were perfect rooms for you all travelling together. Guests have told us how comfortable the new bedding is. I like to think of the sheets as a cross between silk and flannel! You do not want to get out of bed! What is so terrific about these rooms, which are located in the refurbished barn, is that you do not have to leave the barn to get the same amenities offered in the main house, as they are provided for you there as you noted.
I am glad to hear we live up to the high expectations as well from our neighbors to the South in the cooking department; that is great to hear, as I have heard of some terrific breakfasts being had in New Orleans!
We are glad you were able to meet Rufus too - the Old Manse mascot now. He is so fun at 4yo being a very smart border collie / terrier mix. Some guests have asked to see him when they come and stay.
As you noted, we like to think of the Old Manse and Brewster being at the 'hub of the Cape'. Situated where we are, it is an easy drive to all points on Cape Cod and the Islands without being too far at one end of the Cape or the other, with great restaurants within just a half mile and quite a few more within 5 miles!
We cannot wait to have you back again. Do not be too surprised if we follow up on your offer to come visit New Orleans as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Old Manse Inn for one night, April 25. The new owners, Brian and Charlie, are fabulous, as was everything else about our brief stay. The complimentary beach chairs allowed us to enjoy an afternoon visit to the Robins Hill Beach which is just down the road. We stayed in the Rose Room, which was immaculate, and the queen sized bed was very comfortable. Added bonuses in the room were lovely glassware, complementary spa robes and a small TV which allowed us to watch the end of the Red Sox game in the privacy of our room before we went to bed. Breakfast, prepared by Bryan, was fabulous. We requested and were granted a slightly later check out to work with our schedule. We would definitely return and recommend this inn to anyone looking for unmatched charm and hospitality in beautiful Brewster on Cape Cod.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TryItOnceAtLeast, Owner at The Old Manse Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for writing! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. The beach chairs are a great way for us to show our guests that we want them to enjoy their time with us. Don't forget next time that we also offer complementary bicycles and many guests have used them to ride the rail trails near the inn to explore Brewster and the Cape at large. The room you stayed in, the Rose Room, is one of our standard rooms, and if you liked that room, we hope you come back to try one of our deluxe or luxury rooms that have even more upgraded amenities waiting. As for early check-in and later check-out times, we try to do our best to accommodate guests when the room is not occupied the night before or being occupied after, respectively. In a small way, I hope it lets our guests know that we understand their circumstances at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
1.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 10 in Brewster
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
1.9 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Inn

Property: The Old Manse Inn
Address: 1861 Main St, Brewster, MA 02631-1826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Manse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive bed and breakfast establishment offers twelve well appointed guest rooms and three luxury suites, each with its own private bath, AC, flat screen DVD/cable TV. The inn is situated on Old King's Highway (Rte 6A) in the historic seaside village of Brewster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Manse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manse Hotel Brewster
The Old Manse Inn Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing