We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Spot for Girl's Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Manse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Manse Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot for Girl's Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2008

This was our second year (and will be a tradition) visiting the Old Manse Inn for a girl's getaway. Each time, our group took over the entire Inn. It is clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable.

Hosts, Judy and Art are wonderful people - friendly, helpful and fun to be around. This year, we had Art cook us dinner as well as breakfast. The food was superb!

I would highly recommend the Old Manse Inn for a visit ANY time, but it is a perfect spot for a reunion of friends or family.

You will love it!

Vivian

  • Liked — The Inn Keepers and the Food!
  • Disliked — Loved it all!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivvitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    42
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
422
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2007

We had an awesome stay at the Old Manse. We were lucky enough to stay in the Admiral suite which was amazing. However, the rest of the property was so quaint and inviting. We did not see any of the other rooms, so we have no comment on them. All we know is where we stayed was awesome. Enough about the accomodations, ok, try the best breakfast in New England, Oh my goodness. We were "subjected to" vanilla bourbon french toast. Ooops, I do not like freedom toast, guess what, no problem, I was cooked a totally different breakfast with no problems, coments or grumbles...just smiles.

We will for sure be back, these guys know how to make you feel like Kings and Queens.

5 Stars ALL THE WAY

WIFI strong

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

We just returned from our vacation to the Cape. Our stay at the Old Manse Inn with Judy and Art couldn’t have been better. Our room was spacious, the bed was plush and comfortable, the bathroom was a delight and the private deck was the icing on the cake. The three-course breakfasts were delicious and equally filing. Their hospitality… beyond measure.

We have no regrets having chosen the Old Manse Inn. We felt right at home during our week long stay. My husband’s family came to visit us and decided to stay a few days. We were very appreciative of the fact that Judy had “reserved” a few tables for us so that the family could sit together during breakfast.

We saw many folks make good use of their complimentary bikes, read a book on the front lawn bench and take the short stroll to the Brewster’s Ladies Library.

The Old Manse Inn is right on Route 6A, but unless you are a very light sleeper, that shouldn’t deter from staying here. There are just too positive attributes… Besides the wonderful atmosphere at the Inn and warm hospitality, you have the Brewster’s Ladies Library right down the street. The Brewster General Store two blocks away. Brewster Fish House and the Bramble Inn are perhaps ¾ of a mile down the road. You can watch beautiful sunsets from Paines Creek which is about ¾ mile to the west, or walk the flats at low tide at Breakwater Beach which is ½ mile to the east. The Lemon Tree Shops and the Brewster Gristmill are also very short drive (or bike ride) away.

Don’t let the simple façade of the Old Manse Inn fool you… It has character, charm and depth.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank scrapwithjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

My wife and I just returned from a holiday weekend 3 night stay at The Old Manse Inn, Brewster MA. I've stayed at numerous B&B's and Judy&Art are BY FAR the kindest, most knowledgeable, and most attentive InnKeepers of any B&B! As mentioned in MANY of the previous reviews, the breakfasts are extraordinary. To call them simply "gourmet" is definitely an understatement and the quality and taste of food that we had each morning from Art in the kitchen certainly sets them apart from many of the B&B's out there. This is by no means a negative, but I think people forget (judging by some of the negative feedback) that this B&B is an old historic building in Brewster and shouldn't be judged as a "modern" hotel like a Marriot or Hilton. Just check out the Brewster General Store down the street and up on the wall is a print of all the historic buildings in Brewster. Right there near the center is a picture of the Old Manse Inn. The building is in amazing shape for its age and Judy&Art have done a fantastic job with the bedroom furniture and bedding to make it feel authentic to the period. My wife and I stayed in the "Captain's Room" while her parents were staying in the "Rose Room". Both rooms had very comfortable and beautiful bedding. Take the majority of these reviews to heart - the Old Manse Inn is a wonderful B&B! It was difficult to get up in the morning (you wanted to sleep in!) but we couldn't miss the delicious breakfast that Art had in store for us each morning at 8:30am. Brewster is a typical Cape Cod town (one of the better ones IMHO) with plenty to see and do before exploring the rest of the Cape (or what we could get to in just a few days). This is the second time we've explored the Cape, the last time being the same holiday weekend of 2004.

We will definitely be back again (hopefully soon! 2008 maybe?) because there is always plenty to enjoy while on the Cape.

If you are looking for a first class B&B in a picturesque Cape Cod town, then The Old Manse Inn should be your destination.

P.S. - Here are a few other places that shouldn't be missed:
Cape Cod Museum of Natural History, Brewster
Ardeo's Tavern (mix of mediteranean w/ Cape Cod flair), Brewster
Also the MANY antique shops, especially in the Brewster area (I think we bought EVERYTHING since we barely had room for the luggage!)

  • Liked — Breakfast, Staff, Location, Rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SoJerseyExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2007

The Old Manse Inn is a beautiful historic old home furnished with antiques. Our stays (2) have been restful and filled with beauty. Hosts are warm, friendly and attentive. We will return again and again and recommend it highly.

  • Liked — Beauty, digital piano
  • Disliked — all was great
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yo-momNPNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

Our stay at the Old Manse was thoroughly relaxing. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The Inn has many thoughtful touches and offerings as well as spectacular breakfasts. And, most especially the innkeepers are genuine, interested and uncommonly gracious. This is what an Inn should be-- all warmth and charm and completely unpretentious. A delightful stay. jackie and karen --NY

  • Liked — The attention and care of the innkeepers
  • Disliked — a short stay
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WHITIEJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

This was our fifth year at the Old Manse, our second with Judy and Art at the helm. Their inn and their service are simply the best.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoWayfarers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
1.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
8.9 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
1.2 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#3 of 9 in Brewster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#2 of 9 in Brewster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Inn

Property: The Old Manse Inn
Address: 1861 Main St, Brewster, MA 02631-1826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Manse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive bed and breakfast establishment offers twelve well appointed guest rooms and three luxury suites, each with its own private bath, AC, flat screen DVD/cable TV. The inn is situated on Old King's Highway (Rte 6A) in the historic seaside village of Brewster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Manse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manse Hotel Brewster
The Old Manse Inn Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing