We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozytown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
Ranked #5 of 10 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Neither my boyfriend nor I (24 & 23 years old) had ever been to a Bed & Breakfast before our stay here, and, at first, we weren’t sure what to expect. On the drive from Brooklyn, he’d said he didn’t know if it would be “our thing,” and I was a bit nervous we might not have much privacy. We were both happily wrong.

Upon our arrival, Steve welcomed us with warmth and a firm handshake, a tour of the house and grounds (including bits of history), pamphlets and recommendations galore, thorough answers to all our questions, even some tales of celebrities he’d encountered while innkeeping here. He invited us to explore the grounds on our own terms, to hang out on the patio or in the living rooms whenever we wanted – basically, he was welcoming us home.

Our room (Deborah) was clean, the light bright when the windows were open and soft when they were closed, and I don’t know if I have words to describe that bed. We both agreed it was the most comfortable bed we’d ever slept in. I’d say the same for the blanket and sheets – so plush and soft. We even noticed the room smelled particularly good – like vanilla, we guessed… but if you go and you have a different thought about what smell that is, let me know! There were bottles of water and cozy robes waiting for us. Because our bathroom was across the hall, the robes were useful in the middle of the night for getting there – although we did have our own private hallway, if we chose to close the door and pull the curtain closed. The bathroom was spacious.

Philomena’s breakfasts were delicious, and kept us full well into the day. Steve served us juice and fresh fruit first, followed by a homemade main event (cranberry/walnut French toast the first day, feta/spinach quiche the next – our favorite, cornmeal pancakes on our final day) and a meat side (Canadian bacon, turkey sausage, sausage). He always asked if we wanted seconds.

We didn’t spend much time at the house – we were busy wandering around Cape Cod, seeing what there was to see – but the last night, after getting home around 11 from Martha’s Vineyard, Steve greeted us, asked how our trip was, and pointed out a bird that had been living on top of one of the lawn’s trees. My boyfriend and I went back to the room for a few minutes, unloaded from our day, then sat down in some lawn chairs in the backyard, opened a bottle of wine, and looked at the stars (which we don’t get much of in Brooklyn). It was perfectly quiet, and we had the whole backyard to ourselves.

As for location, we didn’t spend much time in Brewster itself. But we found that it was centered just between the places many consider to be Cape Cod’s main attractions – Provincetown and Martha’s Vineyard. All in all, the grounds were lush, the room incredibly comfortable, the food delicious, and the innkeepers welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckoclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 361 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2009

The only way one could have a complaint about this place is if they were really looking forward to staying within walking distance to mini-golf. If you are looking for a relaxing, quintessential-New-England, sit-outside-and-listen-to-nature, see-starts-in-the-sky Cape Cod experience, then you will not be disappointed with the Isaiah Clark House. To begin with, your hosts - Steve and Philomena - are absolutely wonderful and will make sure your every need is met. Next, the rooms are each individually decorated and kept meticulously clean (I've stayed in two of them so far). Further, the grounds are maintained beautifully and there are plenty of chairs/tables on the back deck/in the yard for relaxing with a book/cocktail/what-have-you. Last, but certainly not least, the breakfasts are absolutely delicious - skillfully prepared by Philomena and delivered with gracious, impeccable service by Steve. Also should mention that there is a bay-side beach within walking distance and the Inn itself is located along 6A in Brewster, which is mid-Cape, and puts you within a short drive to...everything. Brewster itself is unassuming, in a good way, rich in culture and nature. I whole-heartedly recommend the Isaiah Clark House to any couple looking for a relaxing, romantic Cape getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PostedPeregrinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ichllc, Manager at Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2009

Wow!!!
It is really great to hear that we are doing a good job. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
We really appreciate your generous feedback.
Steve and Philomena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

excellent bed & breakfast. Quiet location, not far from main cities. Good rooms and friendly staff. We have a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damiana_dantoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ichllc, Innkeeper at Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2009

Thank you so much for your kind words.
We look forward to seeing you again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We visit cape Cod often. This is the best place we have stayed. Steve is a big help . He is always around and has an answer to every need.Philomena is a great cook. Her dishes a different and tasty. The rooms are spotless and well furnished. The location is convenient for day trips on the cape.
We highly recommend t.hem

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcurtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

brewster is a lovely town.......with easy access to the best parts of the cape....adn the isaiah clark house is a lovely gem......
perfect.....immaculate rooms and bathrooms....
delightful deck and grounds.....and the hosts are also a delight.......
food absolutely divine!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Isaiah Clark House B&B. It is a lovely home and Philomena and Steve are terrific hosts. They made us feel welcome from the start and were a wealth of information on the area. We are still talking about Philomena’s delicious breakfasts! We look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised with this inn. Spotless, comfortably air-conditioned, great service, wonderful breakfasts, roomy bathrooms, quiet and private, comfortable bed, and the innkeepers were down-to-earth, friendly, informative and generous. The style is a cozy, traditional Colonial Cape Cod house from the late 1700's but it is absolutely pristine and incredibly maintained. The back deck and open lawn with tended gardens would make a terrific spot for a party, anniversary or wedding celebration - even an afternoon martinis-on-the-lawn get together. Their website accurately represents what they have to offer. Steve and Philomena are very welcoming and go out of their way to accommodate the diversity of the guests they host... It's close to town beaches, national seashore and 45 min from Provincetown. We look forward to returning next season. Cheers and thanks! Gene + Bill

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
3.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
9.4 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.8 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Old Manse Inn
The Old Manse Inn
#3 of 10 in Brewster
631 reviews
1.2 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
1.3 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 10 in Brewster
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House

Address: 1187 Main St, Brewster, MA 02631-1248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range: $220 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Meadow Inn at the historic Isaiah Clark House is perfect for individuals, couples and small group gatherings. Our grounds provide an attractive, memorable location for intimate weddings, family celebrations and corporate retreats. The best of historic Cape Cod. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Meadow Inn At Isaiah Clark House Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing