We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
Ranked #4 of 9 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We stayed Friday and Saturday nights at the Isaiah Clark House and found it to be the cleanest inn we'd ever stayed at -- it sparkles. Our bathroom was spacious and well appointed. It is across the hall from our room, which, other than being a surprise, had no real downside (the owners provided very nice terry cloth robes to wear). We were out and about the Cape from after breakfast 'til 10 or so at night so only used our room for sleeping. The room was spotless, but small. If we had wanted to spend time at the Inn during the day we would have used either of the two lovely living rooms, or weather, permitting, the large deck with sun umbrellas or the lovely garden. Breakfasts were a wonderful, homemade treat, and when we left on Sunday morning Philomena and Steve presented us with a basket of delicious blueberry muffins! We will definitely return next time we go to Cape Cod.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and breakfast
  • Disliked — There really wasn't anything we didn't like -- maybe the bathroom across the hall.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackfurrycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
231
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quechee, VT
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2008

My wife and stayed for two nights this past weekend and had a lovely time. Comments:

1. Spotlessly clean, informal and recently renovated and decorated.

2. Lovely peaceful grounds.

3. Very friendly inn keepers; Steve and Philomena who went out of their way to please.

4. Philomena is a trained chef and served wonderful full breakfasts. Breakfast was way more than juice coffee and rolls!!

5. The only minor negative is that our bathroom, while private, was across the hall from the bedroom.

6. We hope to stay there again.

  • Liked — Friendliness and food
  • Disliked — Private bathroom across hall
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jguertin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2008

This b&b is a great stay. We went down to Brewster for a wedding and decided to make a weekend of it. We were greeted on Friday by Steve, one of the owners. He gave us a tour of the site and helped us to figure out where to go and what to do in Brewster. The inn was absolutely beautiful. There were several common rooms and a wonderful backyard. They had a fridge for guest food storage and all the things one would need to make a relaxing weekend. The B&B is located on the quiet side of Cape Cod away from the tourist areas like Hyannis. As such, it was relaxing, had little traffic and had lots of cute antique shops and art galleries. Breakfast was amazing. Saturday, Philomena (the other owner) made an egg souffle with homemade biscuits and fresh basil from their garden. Sunday we were served a french toast casserole with creme cheese and cranberries. Everything they served was acquired locally and it really showed in the quality of the meal. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a quiet visit to the Cape.

  • Liked — The hosts Steve and Philomena were great and made it more welcoming.
  • Disliked — Nothing really.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gracerk353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

We stayed at the Inn on 4th and 5th October 2007 and found the experience faultless. The owners were helpful but not intrusive hosts, the Inn is immaculately decorated in period style, with lots of nice little touches everywhere. Breakfast lovely. We highly recommend it, and wish we had stayed longer.

Brewster is a very convenient location in the mid-Cape and the Inn is a short drive from lovely sandy beaches, woods and restaurants.

  • Liked — Location, decor and hosts
  • Disliked — it was all good!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We have recently returned from our vacation in the Cape Cod area. We had the good fortune to stay at the Isaiah Clark House, located in Brewster for a period of 5 nights. July 1 - 6, 2007 (This was my second visit to this location).

This Bed & Breakfast offers a wonderful location with all the charm & expectations of a typical Cape Cod house. Although this house was bulit in the late 1700's it is in immaculate condition and the decor in all the rooms are fitting to the style of the house.

Each floor offers you a "common area" for reading, playing cards or chess/checkers. Each room has a television, clock radio, large dressers and a closet for your clothing.

The grounds are well kept and offer you a beautiful deck/patio with chaise loungers, umbrellas, tables and chairs for relaxation after a long day of sightseeing on the Cape.

Our hosts, Steve & Philomena (the new owners) take pride in their new business and have kept up the traditional values left by the previous owners. We wish them all the success in the years to come.

Philomena's breakfasts were delicious with a different one each morning consisting of quiche, pancakes, french toast & waffles, along with homemade blueberry & raspberry syrup.

There is a refrigerator where you can leave your water, soft drinks, wine, beer and any other perishable food items. Also there are glasses (wine & beverage) and cutlery for your use.

During your stay, you will practically have "free run of the property" and you can come and go as you please. You are provided a key to your room and the "main door" in the event you come home late.

For the money, this location offers it all, good location, excellent accomodations and friendly owners. I would recommend the Isaiah Clark House to all.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amigo_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ichllc, Innkeeper at Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House, responded to this review, September 1, 2009
Wow, thank you so much.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2007

I have to say I was disappointed with our stay at Isaiah Clark House. The worst thing was the bathrooms since perhaps there is some misunderstanding between British English and American English but "private bathroom" to me says it can be reached without meeting other guests. But almost all the rooms at ICH have bathrooms across the hall - ours was about 5m down the hall. Not only this but there was quite poor noise insulation between the rooms - we were on the ground floor (where there are 3 rooms) and could clearly hear the people upstairs. How we shuddered when one said at breakfast "we'll try to be quiet when we leave early tomorrow". Also the last night was quite sleepless for me because the central air conditioning machine was right outside our window and that kept me awake most of the night.

BUT on the other hand we had trouble finding a reasonably priced place in Cape Cod, so perhaps you get what you pay for. Also many of the places would not take us just for two nights, they had longer minimum stay requirements. So I suppose we cannot complain too much.

Our room was a little on the dark and stuffy side too - the spare quilt in the cupboard especially smelt like it had mould on it. We would have opened the windows but the traffic noise from the street was quite loud although at least died down at night.

I think the owners are new to the b&b scene and could work to improve their attitude to the guests (who after all are paying their way). We asked for breakfast 15min early since we had flights from Boston airport the next morning. Our request was grudgingly accepted and the next day when we'd packed and sat down at 0805 ready for some juice or a drink we could hear the owners discuss how we'd arrived already and how last night we'd said 0815 (this discussion was heard from the kitchen at 0813!!). Note to Steve and Philomena (the owners): the guests can hear your discussions in the kitchen about them so don't say bad things !

We do have good things to say about ICH though - the breakfasts were wonderful. On the first day we had French toast and the second a delicious piece of Quiche which was quite the best thing we'd had for breakfast on our entire holiday - so hats off to Philomena for that.

  • Liked — quiche for breakfast
  • Disliked — noisy room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Le066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ichllc, Innkeeper at Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House, responded to this review, September 1, 2009
I wanted to write and thank you for your review.

I have looked at it often as a source to gauge our progress as Innkeepers.

I have been using your review as a guide to be a better innkeeper and a better host.

We have made great improvements since your stay and i believe it shows in the more recent reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2005

We spent two night at the Isaiah Clark House in August 2005, and had a delightful stay. Jan and Dale are the perfect hosts.--Years of experience make them well-organized, friendly without being obtrusive and extremely knowledgeable about the area. Their recommendations for dinner were perfect; especially the Nauset Beach Club, where I believe I had the best striped sea bass dinner I will ever eat. (And it was caught by the waitress's husband!) The room was very pleasant, with a huge private bathroom across the hall. (We were supplied with lovely, fluffy robes for popping across this very quiet hallway). The breakfast was absolutely perfect--elegant, tasty and just the right size. Hurrah for our hosts! They do a fabulous job.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
3.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
11.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#5 of 9 in Brewster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.3 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 9 in Brewster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old Manse Inn
The Old Manse Inn
#3 of 9 in Brewster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House

Property: Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
Address: 1187 Main St, Brewster, MA 02631-1248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Meadow Inn at the historic Isaiah Clark House is perfect for individuals, couples and small group gatherings. Our grounds provide an attractive, memorable location for intimate weddings, family celebrations and corporate retreats. The best of historic Cape Cod. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Meadow Inn At Isaiah Clark House Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing