We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Freeman Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I do not really know where to start with my praise for the Captain Freeman Inn (CFI). From my very first emails they were friendly, helpful and came up with accommodation to suit a family with an 18 year old son. We arrived late at night and our rooms were welcoming, cooled with air conditioning and inviting with relaxing music. These are some of the small touches that promote the CFI from great to fantastic. The CFI is beautifully decorated and each room has its own distinctive character. The beds are sumptuous and the bathrooms laden with a variety of toiletries. We spent every morning on the screened porch overlooking the pool enjoying a delicious breakfast. The CFI team were friendly and very helpful. It was our first visit to Cape Cod so we had lots of questions.
Brewster is a good central place to base yourself for Cape Cod. The CFI is a short walk from the beach and there are lots of restaurants nearby. Donna has kindly reviewed some of the best for their guests.
Apart from the I would like to say a big thank you to Byron, Donna and the CFI team for their hospitality. A fantastic place to stay in Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 433 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was our first stay in a Bed & Breakfast & our experience was fantastic. The Inn was built in 1866 & is beautifully restored. The home has three floors of rooms all fabulously decorated by Donna. We choose the Brewster room on the second floor at the top of the stairs. The room is very cozy, bright & cheerful. The bed was so comfortable we wanted to take it with us.
Donna, Byron & all the inn keepers were so nice & accommodating. They really make you feel so comfortable & treat you like close friends. Even Harrison, a Labradoodle, who stops by for a visit sometimes is a real treat to play with.
The first floor of the Inn has a living area with comfy furniture to lounge, fireplace & a computer for your use. In an adjacent room they have a microwave with snacks, tea, coffee & water they flavor with fruit. Breakfast is served on the veranda by the pool every morning from 8-10am. The breakfast is gourmet & so delicious. The pride shown in everything they do & attention to detail is amazing. I really believe anything you ask for they would happily provide. Case in point...I lost something while I was there & all the staff painstakingly & without hesitation looked for the item. I am so incredibly grateful for their effort. All of the staff at Captain Freeman Inn go above & beyond. Service like this should set the example for all. I highly recommend a stay here when visiting Brewster.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Beautiful Inn located in walking distance of the beach. Byron and Donna, the Inn Keepers , have restored Captain Freeman to it's original beauty. Large beautifully appointed rooms, veranda breakfast, wonderful atmosphere. Breakfast is to order. Large open common rooms where you can have your afternoon tea. A true old fashion inn experience with fresh baked good, cucumber water and ice tea.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFAFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I truly wish there was a rating higher than "5 Stars", inasmuch as the Capt. Freeman deserves the highest of praise. We have traveled extensively and favor small B&B accommodations. This is among the very best we have found anywhere in the world! From the friendly greeting by Innkeeper Shannon (the consumate hostess) to the multitude of tasteful details that stand out everywhere you look, this Inn strives for perfection and accomplishes that lofty goal. We had previously stayed at the companion Inn, Brewster By The Sea, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Byron and Donna have surpassed the high standards they established for their first Inn. We will be back for cooking school in the off season, foe sure!

Room Tip: Each of the rooms is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JESPowhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Charming convenient comfortable clean B&B. You can feel more at home here than at home: tasty drinks and fresh baked snacks always at the ready, comfy chairs, well-lit for reading, etc. Don't miss the rasberry drizzle on your morning toast or popover.

Comfortable beds, though a bit too downy for me.

Very attentive staff.

And the pool is great.

Room Tip: for a jacuzzi, get Dennis. Truro is on the third floor, and long walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman_Luxury_Yacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A group of friends who have been traveling together for many years just spent a week at Captain Freeman. Byron and Donna (the owners) were great hosts and Shannon went out of her way to make sure that every moment with them was memorable. Every room was perfect and welcoming to the weary traveler. There is a general store and ice cream stand about 50 yards away. The beach is within walking distance and one of the best restaurants (Brewster Fish House) on the Cape is close by. The perfect getaway.

Bill - Texas

Room Tip: I stayed in PTown. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 929BillB929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed for four nights in July at this excellent inn. Well located and superbly run – just read the previous reviews. Nice pool to relax by. There is a short walk to the nearest beach. If you wish to drive to a beach before 3.00 pm you will need a day permit obtainable not far from the inn. The breakfasts and afternoon teas are amazing. The owners and the staff are charming, hospitable and very serious about offering exceptional service. The rooms are comfortable with great beds. We would unhesitatingly recommend the Captain Freeman Inn.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Hawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
8.9 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
12.5 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,142 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
20.9 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#1 of 63 in Provincetown
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Manse Inn
The Old Manse Inn
#3 of 10 in Brewster
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Freeman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Freeman Inn

Address: 15 Breakwater Rd, Brewster, MA 02631-1311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range: $210 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Freeman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Sea Captain's Mansion in the Heart of Cape Cod. The inn is known for it's farm to table breakfasts, welcoming hospitality and wonderful location with just a short stroll to Breakwater beach and the Cape Cod Rail trail which is great for biking and walking. Many casual and fine dining choices close by with a fabulous pool on property. The inn has been totally renovated in the past three years and is green certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain Freeman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Freeman Hotel Brewster
Captain Freeman Inn Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing