We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" A Special Place"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Freeman Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful six night stay at The Captain Freeman Inn. We found the Inn to be lovely, clean and meticulously cared for. Innkeepers Suni and Nathan were very friendly and helpful. The Inn has been recently renovated by owners Donna and Byron, who are planning more improvements for the lovely grounds. They are not on site because they own another beautiful B&B, but they stop by often and are very gracious hosts. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable with luxurious bedding and the bathroom was supplied with large plush towels and robes. It was a pleasure seeing Suni and her friendly helpers every morning. Breakfasts were delicious, served out on the screened-in porch overlooking the pool. There was a bar area that always had cold beverages and coffee available in addition to Suni's wonderful homemade treats. On most nights we skipped dessert because we knew what was waiting for us back at the Inn. The owners have anticipated every need of their guests and their attention to detail is evident. We have truly never been more comfortable staying at a B&B; so comfortable in fact, that we've already booked our week for next summer. It was a pleasure to come home to this special Inn after our days out on the Cape.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lenore F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 441 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Captain Freeman Inn offers a wonderful welcome with ease, charm, comfort and nourishment. The staff all were wonderful at making us feel pampered. The beautifully decorated rooms are clean and very comfortable, offering a bed that is soft as a cloud. The common areas are relaxing and reveal a bit of history of the area. It was easy to imagine Captain Freeman returning to his gracious home after time at sea. A dip in the pool by the herbs and flowers is yet another treat.
The location of the Inn is ideal, as you can walk or bike ride to all you need. Wonderful meals, the library, Brewster General Store and the bay are all very nearby. The morning starts with a delicious nutritious breakfast that easily holds you over to teatime, when scrumptious cookies are served. Thanks to Sunie, the Innkeeper, and the great staff, our stay was wonderful. We will definitely return and bring our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthurjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We ended up here at the Capt. Freeman because we had heard great things about their sister property, Brewster by the Sea where we were looking to stay. Well, the Capt. Freeman is a diamond in the rough. Great accommodations, food and staff. Much more centrally located off of Rt. 6A by the Brewster General Store and literally a 1/4 mile up the street from the beach. Brewster by the Sea is quite a ways down 6A from "the action". The beach is certainly walkable, but if you decide to drive because you are loaded down with chairs, cooler, etc like we were, make sure to stop by the Brewster town hall first to purchase a daily parking pass ($15). Otherwise you will get ticketed! Town hall is approximately a 1/4 mile up 6A east on the right from the inn. One last tip when booking--ask for a room on the opposite side from Rt. 6A. Little loud on that side in the morning.

Room Tip: Book room on opposite side from Rt. 6A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisRung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We visited the Captain Freeman Inn the end of July. We had originally phoned Brewster by the Sea, but found it booked and was offered availability at the owners new property, "The Captain Freeman Inn". We feel extremely fortunate to have had the opportunity to stay at this lovely inn. Upon arrival "Nathan" helped with luggage, as well as offering a tour of our rooms and the beautiful inn. He made us feel immediately welcome and is a definite asset of this inn. Our rooms were furnished with style and comfort in mind offering a comfortable sitting area as well. It is evident from the quality furnishings that these inn keepers want to pamper their guests and anticipate any need that they may have. Luxurious linens on the beds with a feather bed on the mattress for the most comfortable sleep you will EVER experience at any establishment. Towels are generous in size and guests are provided with deluxe robes that ooze with softness! Another favorite of our family was the over-sized delta shower heads that are accompanied by excellent water pressure. Each day a most delicious breakfast is served in the lovely screened porch with nice big tables and comfortable chairs. The food--extremely generous starting with a different fresh fruit presentation daily along with a creative entree selection as well, all prepared with care and talent. A morning treat to savor of FRESH squeezed orange juice is a true treat ! Fresh brewed quality coffee is offered nice and early to start the day. Breakfast is served by a nice young lady, Ashely, who is always smiling each and every day! Innkeeper Suni prepares homemade afternoon cookies daily that are truly a welcome treat after a day at the nearby beautiful beaches. Any other refreshment needs a guest may have are readily addressed---a refrigerator stocked with bottled cold water, an ice machine, all kinds of teas, iced and lemonade as well. The staff here are genuinely helpful, friendly, and do a fine job of making guests feel welcome without being overbearing. The entire staff want you to be happy and you WILL BE !! The location of this inn is a major plus as well--in a lovely town, that is close to many fine beaches and restaurants. An inviting and interesting beach is located just a few steps away at the end of the street--be sure to check out the low tide "Brewster Flats" as Suni told me they are called--this is an AMAZING site to see. Also a big plus was the list of ideas and restaurant recommendations that the owners here put a lot of time and care into composing this wealth of information. Bottom line...owners who care about their guests and want them to return. This is a special place....get here as fast as you can!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siteseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The inn is beautifully restored and every detail is addressed in guest accommodations, from complementary sherry, homemade cookies, and laptop access to cozy bathrobes, a docking station for your phone, and a fresh flower in the room. The innkeeper and owners are hospitable and genuinely interested in providing a good experience for their guests. They asked for comments on any details in the room that might need improvement. Special mention is deserved for the breakfasts.They are delicious and more thoughtfully composed than the usual carbohydrate-laden breakfast. Having whole grains and protein for breakfast makes a good day on the bike trails. It all came together to make a very enjoyable weekend!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bicyclebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We recently spent a weekend at the Captain Freeman Inn in Brester on Cape Cod. This Inn has recently been renovated by a wonderful couple who own a nearby B&B. This is an exceptional property. The renovation is beautiful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is a beautiful pool area and you are an 8 minute walk from a nice Cpae Cod Beach. The breakfast was oustanding as they have brough in an excellent innkeeper who is an expert at providing healthy but delicious lighter fare. We were able to book at a late date but when the reputation gets out this will be a very popular Inn. You are also in walking distance to the Brester Country Store (for you morning paper) and several excellent restaurenats. We recommend without reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank th001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I just came back from our babymoon in Cape Cod and we stayed at the Captain Freeman Inn. From the minute we walked in, we felt at home...everyone was so kind and welcoming. Our comfort and happiness was their utmost concern. Breakfast was delicious and the pool was relaxing. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: P-Town room --beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babymoon2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
8.9 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
1.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.1 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
20.9 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#5 of 63 in Provincetown
433 reviews
9.8 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Freeman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Freeman Inn

Address: 15 Breakwater Rd, Brewster, MA 02631-1311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range: $181 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Freeman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Sea Captain's Mansion in the Heart of Cape Cod. The inn is known for it's farm to table breakfasts, welcoming hospitality and wonderful location with just a short stroll to Breakwater beach and the Cape Cod Rail trail which is great for biking and walking. Many casual and fine dining choices close by with a fabulous pool on property. The inn has been totally renovated in the past three years and is green certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Captain Freeman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Freeman Hotel Brewster
Captain Freeman Inn Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing