We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a cape cod respite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
Ranked #2 of 10 Brewster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 9, 2012

my wife and i spent two night at the candleberry - august 4,5, and it was a wonderfully relaxing experience and a great find!!

it is a beautifully maintained 200 year old inn with over 2 acres of manicured grounds - we stayed in a large open room -#6 - and we were both impressed with its cleanliness and the unobtrusive friendliness of the innkeepers; Stu and Charlotte

what was important for us - we had the freedom to do our own thing - and brewster is one of the few places left on the cape that maintains that old cape cod feel -- we will definitely be back. paul and carol kenney

Room Tip: room # 6 or garden rooom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candleberrry, Owner at Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

We're so glad you enjoy Brewster as we do! We also feel it's a touch of "Old Cape Cod" and we love to introduce our guests to the joys of swimming, hiking, biking and just plain sitting around enjoying iced tea and our home baked cookies in the afternoon...
We've gotten rave reviews this year for our new Garden Room. Other guests, like yourselves, enjoy the spaciousness, and light and airy feel of this room.
We hope we'll have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future, for another "Cape Cod "Respite"!
Best, Stu and Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 484 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

As I was planning a vacation to the Cape, a friend recommended this B&B to me. I went with her recommendation...and it was the best choice I could have made! The B&B is a fantastic place to stay, the rooms are reasonbly priced, well kept, breakfast is awesome and the amenities are great. I enjoyed several nights out by the firepit drinking wine and enjoying the wonderful weather on the Cape. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to the Cape!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thoreaujr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candleberrry, Owner at Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

We loved how much you enjoyed relaxing by the fire pit!!
Glad you had a such a good vacation during those hot and sunny days... and thanks for bringing us menus from some of the restaurants you tried, to share with other guests. You have impeccable taste in wines and in restaurants... and we have too many of both to sample all of them ourselves :-)
Please come back soon - we miss you!!
Charlotte and Stu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights in early July and it was one of the best B&B experiences we've ever had. The staff was kind and accommodating. They served a delicious breakfast of grand proportions. Provided beach chairs and towels. We definitely recommend this charming, warm and friendly Inn!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte F, Owner at Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you, Mary! We always enjoy your visits and hope to continue to see you frequently in the future. Stu and Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were attending a wedding in Brewster and after doing some research decided to go with Candleberry Inn...ranked by Yankee Magazine as one the top 10 Historic Inns. I spoke with Charlotte back in January and booked our room. We had an absolutely phenominal experience! Our room was charming, immaculate and had everything you could ask for. They even supplied chairs and towels for the nearby beach. We stayed in the carriage house which had a great deck with an umbrella table where we relaxed and read after the beach. We needed a couple of things which of course they had on hand. Our two breakfasts were top shelf...the Creme Brulee French Toast alone is worth going back for. My husband I are planning on staying there late fall/early winter and can't wait to see Charlotte and her wonderful staff again. Candleberry Inn is an A++ place to stay. Treat yourself and head there soon!

Room Tip: We loved our room on the second floor of the carriage house. The first for of the carriage house ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte F, Owner at Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed our Carriage House accommodations and especially relaxing on the deck. Thanks for staying with us - We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have stayed at many B&B's and this is the first time that we saw a suggestion to provide a gratuity at breakfast. Stayed in the Carriage House with the jacuzzi tub. The tub was filthy with a dirt ring around it and when the jets were turned on, you could visibly see the filth floating on the water. Not a good value for the money. Breakfast was adequate and we never saw the hosts. One of the least friendliest places we have stayed. I think the Inn could do much better for the cost of their rooms. Requested a small cake and sparkling cider when we arrived which we prepaid for and it wasn't in the room. We left for dinner and a baseball game and returned around 9:30 pm to find it was there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte F, Owner at Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Although we take every critique as an opportunity to improve service to our guests, or investigate and correct a problem, this review simply flabbergasts us. We can only hope that those who haven't stayed at the Candleberry Inn themselves will take a look at all our reviews and be assured that we stand by our reputation for spotless cleanliness, warm hospitality, and terrific food (cooked and served by the Innkeepers themselves!). That's why Yankee Magazine named us a Top Ten Historic Inn!
Charlotte Fyfe, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I picked this inn from the website, and it has completely exceed our expectations. It is an old building with wide pine floors and slightly crooked ceilings in places, but it is completely modernized and without the fussiness of some B&B's. The place is beautiful, exceptionally clean, and inviting. I didn't feel like I might break something. They also asked ahead of time if we had any special dietary needs. I wish we lived closer so we could come more often.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel99cakear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A group of 5 friends wanted to do a get away trip and picked Candleberry Inn from a Web Search. We have never (everyone of us) been to a better place!! It really surpassed our expectations. The atmosphere was relaxing, the accomodations we clean, very comfortable and very beautifully decorated. And the breakfasts were delicious and the service wonderful. We have decided to make this an annual trip and Candleberry Inn is one of the reasons why, we will be back every year!!

Room Tip: We loved being upstairs over the Carriage house as you have the use of a private deck overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy82450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you so much. We really enjoyed getting to know you and look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
1.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
8.8 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
2 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 10 in Brewster
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Manse Inn
The Old Manse Inn
#3 of 10 in Brewster
632 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod

Address: 1882 Main St, Brewster, MA 02631-1827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Brewster
Price Range: $176 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candleberry Inn is a multiple award-winning Bed and Breakfast lodging, located in the historic heart of Cape Cod, Massachusetts. Beautifully decorated rooms, all with private baths, air conditioning and HDTV. Enjoy a delicious 2-course gourmet breakfast each morning - included in your room rate. The Candleberry Inn sits in the center of a classic Cape Cod village. Enjoy two acres of beautiful grounds, and walk to a sandy bayside beach and restaurants, shops and art galleries. Friendly, helpful - yet not smothering, our staff will help you enjoy your stay to the fullest. We offer free concierge service, free WiFi and parking, 24/7 coffee/tea self-service, complimentary afternoon refreshments, as well as beach towels, chairs and umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candleberry Inn On Cape Cod Brewster, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing