We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Chillingsworth

Chillingsworth
Ranked #12 of 41 Restaurants in Brewster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had heard great things about this restaurant so we went for a birthday dinner. The food was acceptable but nowhere near their reputation. The service was inattentive. We felt like they would have preferred we not be there. Overall, a high price for a mediocre to poor experience. Julia Childs, to whom they have a shrine, would have walked out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NEcm104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    41
    31
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally Overrated!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our reservations were for 7pm and we were not seated until shortly after 8pm. We sat at the bar aside the Bistro where there was only one bartender handling at least 15 patrons, PLUS all of the restaurant's drink orders as well. I honestly don't think you would be able to have two bartenders here because the bar is so small in size, they would be on top of one another. Perhaps Chillingsworth should invest in finding a bartender who can be more attentive and efficient. Even though we went during the 'off' season, the food is still not worth the prices and I could not imagine paying $80 for an entree especially when the service and food is just mediocre. I would never return and there are so many other fabulous restaurants on the Cape you should select before heading to this most overrated restaurant. I am not a picky person and am open minded about different foods, but I cannot see how Chillingsworth lives up to its reputation of being one of the 'best' restaurants on Cape Cod. Julia would not be proud if she ate here in the current day. Sorry Chillingsworth. We won't be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Local C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Chillingsworth Is THE Place to Dine on Cape Cod”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chillingsworth is the type of place where 5 stars are not enough, even if it were to be located in a large metropolitan area vs Brewster, Massachusetts. It is a "must" every time we are on the Cape, and the last time we dined in the Bistro.

Our appetizers included Brewster Oysters on the Halfshell and Snails in Garlic Cream, Ham, Parsley, Grilled Brioche, and as usual, both were just divine. For entrees I went with the Pan Seared Sea Scallops with Napa Cabbage, Corn, Bacon, Chives & Scallop ‘Jus’ (it's cape Cod so you go sea food), and my wife opted for the Angel Hair Pasta w/ Fresh Lobster, Tomatoes, Green Onions, Lobster Basil Cognac Cream, which had lots of large chunks of lobster. I am salivating as I write this.

Chillingsworth is the place to go for those special occasions, but it can, and should, be enjoyed year 'round. We cannot wait until we move to Cape Cod, probably Brewster, so we can enjoy this very special place more frequently.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAkumalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing dinner”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

When we arrived and saw that Julia Child ate here, we knew it was going to be good. We dined during the week, so it was what they call their "bistro". They have more formal dinners on the weekend. Their cocktails were absolutely delicious. Best Old Fashioned I've had. Their three course dinner was superb. Everything was just delicious...from the escargot to the pork loin to the creme brûlée. If you are near Brewster, MA, you've got to eat here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Misscourtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One Of the Best Restaurants”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Although very expensive, this restaurant offers a very creative menu ideal for a special night out. Food is outstanding.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chillingsworth also viewed

 

Been to Chillingsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing