We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe it tasted better after the ride...”
Review of Cobie's

Cobie's
Ranked #14 of 40 Restaurants in Brewster
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Located along scenic 6A in Brewster, Cobie's has been a Cape Cod tradition since 1948. We serve award winning fried clams, and other delicious summer favorites!
Dunbarton, NH
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Maybe it tasted better after the ride...”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Did 40 miles on a hot day and stopped here on our way back to Orleans. Maybe it was just the heat of the day, but the ice cream was great. Lots of covered seating and a good place to relax after a long day.

Visited June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Cobie's, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
It's so great to hear that you loved our ice cream! Thanks for the support here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in the area, keep us in mind.

Best,
Rob, Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    92
    45
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best little place for fried clams around”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Driving by Cobies it doesn't look like much, but I have never had the most consistent sweet, fresh, soft clams on the Cape. Some places are hit or miss... They are big or chewy... Not here. One place is big enough for two people. A side of chowder and top it off with ice cream for dessert ... Feed a family of four for under $50! Outdoor dining.... Or under cover outside in rainy weather. It's a great place!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Cobie's, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
It's so wonderful to hear that you love our clams! Thanks for the support here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in the area, keep us in mind.

Best,
Rob, Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Just average food and ice cream”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Convenient location just off the bike trail but not really worth a special trip.
Hot dog, salmon sandwich just average, and neither hard nor soft serve ice cream was anything special. There are better options.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Cobie's, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Sorry to hear you didn't find what we do hear special! We do work really to make each dish great, so please let us know if there's anything we can do to pump it up.

Hope to see you again soon,
Rob, Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erving
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A favorite Cape stop”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We've been going to Cobie's for years and love thefod and nice outdoor environment near Nickerson and Crosby Landing. This trip I ordered the clam strip plate(whole clams are $$$ this year) with sweet potato fries. It was ready very quickly, hot and delicious. The serving size was very generous. The separate line for ice cream was very long, and I was dismayed to see the young scooper's pony tail swinging into the cone as she scooped. No big deal. I will continue to be a regular when on the Cape.

Visited June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Will not go back”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Have tried this restuarant several times. Usually just OK. this last time Mid-week mid afternoon was a disaster. They were understaffed and the wait was ridiculous. You have to pay when you order. So they have you. Have ordered seafood in the past, food was average for the cape. This time ordered hot-dogs ALMOST 20 MINUTES and they were not that busy.
I swear they spent the 20 minutes cooking the hotdogs over high heat, think sawdust and you have a idea how they tasted.
I will now refer to them as a tourist trap. For what you get prices.are very high.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Cobie's, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I can't tell you how disappointed I was to read this, Mike. We've been doing this since 1948, and we certainly didn't get here by serving okay food or making people wait for overcooked hot dogs. I'm embarrassed and I really apologize that your last few experiences have been sub-par. That said, I'm confident we can turn this around. We really do have a lot of practice making great seafood, and I'd love one final opportunity to put it to work for you.

Hope you'll consider it,
Rob, Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobie's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing