We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brewster Fish House

Brewster Fish House
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Brewster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We go here every summer on our vacation to the cape. The food is always excellent, the service is always good. We keep going and will continue! If you're looking for fried fish and lobster rolls continue down the road, this is not the place. Enjoy one of the best places we have eaten on the cape!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYGoodeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    141
    66
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quincy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Would NOT recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I recently went here with my wife for dinner and came away disappointed. After reading reviews here and on other sites we were excited to try it. Unfortunately the restaurant didn't live up to our expectations on any level.

Pre- dinner, we called ahead to check on the wait time and were told there was "no wait". Upon arrival we had to wait for an hour. We were disappointed, but had a drink while we waited.

Eventually we were seated and felt as though we were being rushed for our order. Perhaps the wait staff figured we'd have enough time deciding what to eat during our 1 hour wait. Also, our table was right next to the entryway, this is not a big deal since restaurant is so small but we had to listen to rude host turn away customers. Several families came and abruptly left when they couldn't be accomodated.

Neither of us were impressed with our meals, and overall we felt let down by the entire dining experience. Maybe our expectations were too high? It's possible. My advice would be, if you decide to try this place set the bar at a realistic level and you won't come away disappointed like me. The drinks before the meal was the best part for us, so maybe we should be thankful to the host for telling us there was no wait and having that hour to sit at the bar.

Also, absolutely avoid this place if you're a family with small children in need of a high chair or booster.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bcpats3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST RESTAURANT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you are in the area, it is a MUST, the food was FRESH, excellent, and tried to eat there more than once, it is always packed but worth the wait!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sejefld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A terrific dining spot on the Cape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We try to have dinner here every time we visit the Cape. Open for lunch as well, the service is always friendly, the food always terrific and the prices while not cheap are fair for the quality and creativity. We like to eat at the bar, small but adequate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esinedmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Its a very small restaurant with a nice artsy feel to it. it is worth a visit. The portions were good and my seafood stew was excellent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JimF33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewster Fish House also viewed

Brewster, Cape Cod
Brewster, Cape Cod
 

Been to Brewster Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing