We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great amenities, Not so great service on the Ocean Terrace.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Certificate of Excellence
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great amenities, Not so great service on the Ocean Terrace.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My sister and I stayed for 2 midweek nights. The cost for the room was on the high side but worth it. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The beach was a short walk away and chairs and umbrellas were set up for us. The staff at the front desk and at the pool and beach were very helpful and attentive. We arrived early and were happily greeted and allowed to use the facilities and beach for the day. We went to the Ocean Terrace restaurant for cocktails and dinner which was less than satisfactory. The Terrace has gorgeous views of the ocean and the weather was beautiful, we saw a spectacular sunset. The service was awful. After waiting 10 mins at a table in the lounge we had to walk to the bar to order our drinks. Another 30 mins went by and still there was no service to order an appetizer, yet the couple at the table next to us was being attended to several times during that time. Wish we had left then. We were seated in the restaurant after a 45 min wait (which was not an issue). My sister ordered an entree' with a side of french fries and the waitress responded "they frown on us serving french fries out here on the Terrace, and I will have to charge you $9.00 for them." My sister passed on the fries. They ran out of the fish dinner my daughter ordered, so my daughter changed her order, but the waitress left both dinners on the bill. Luckily I checked it. The food was expensive, tasted good, but the poor service left a very bad taste in our mouths. We were almost embarrassed for them, they were so bad.
Despite the bad experience at the Ocean Terrace, we would return for the luxury accommodations, convenient, short walk to beach and pool. We would definitely not waste our time or money at the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FE112288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    141
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
269
189
1
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is a true rip off...over 400 USD for a room (ok, it is large) but no coffee, no room service, no decent swimming pool, no decent gym (samll room that are really BAD) and the service that does not no a thing!
Worse, we could not access the hotel beach becasue we were not in the main lobby....CRAZY
and then, nobody could tell us where to drive on a beach....then we rented bikes and for 60 USD each, the bike was even not an old one but a rotten one...Jesus!
I felt completely ripped off and could have had a MUCH BETTER experience in a motel with no service but at less than 100 USD per nicght.
I will clearly not advise for this place NEVER.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Recently spent two midweek nights as a couple at Ocean Edge in one of the newly renovated King Premiere rooms on the Mansion West wing. The rooms are quite large, well appointed, very comfortable (some include a queen size sleeper), have a fridge, and spacious bathroom w two separate sinks. From the start of our visit we received outstanding customer service and care from the OE staff especially at the reception desk where JAYDE is incredibly helpful. We found great tasting appetizers and entrees for dinner in the downstairs pub (less expensive food than on Ocean Terrace) and enjoyed late night drinks on the outside Ocean Terrace lounge (which offers spectacular views of Cape Cod bay by day). Because we were not playing golf and it was just the two of us we wanted to be on the Mansion side of the resort and found the beach very accessible w chairs and umbrellas set up for us. It is clean and since it is a bay beach the water is warm and at low tide you can walk for ever and enjoy some privacy. We also spent an afternoon at one of the pools (a great place for young families) and that was clean, with ample lounge chairs and tables as well. Bikes are available, tennis courts right there, plenty of places for long walks (especially around the golf course), had a good brunch at the golf course tavern. We found ourselves wanting to stay another night (but alas all rooms were booked) but did enjoy a full day at the beach after checkout at 11AM (you can use resort facilities all day) and we were able to grab a quick shower in the fitness center before hitting the road at 5PM. Ocean Edge has accommodations for every couple or families needs and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Mansion side rooms and villas have private beach access and are close to everything but the golf cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We attended as a family for my father's 80th birthday. Nice resort with excellent attention to detail.

Cathy, our personal concierge, did an excellent job making recommendations, reserving a wonderful venue for the birthday dinner and arranging a cake! Disappointments included the beach, which is better for families with small children as its on the bay side of the cape. Also, the resort pool on the mansion side was small (you need to drive a ways to the villages side for the nicer pool).

All in all a good resort, with plenty to do for the whole family. The three and two bedroom villas were very spacious and nicely decorated. Would stay there again. Thanks for making the stay a success.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ARTMHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is gorgeous! An impressive setting with a truly gorgeous beach. Rooms are lovely. Service however is too slow. We had to wait over an hour for room service, and lunch on the terrace took so long that people got up and left. Food ridiculously overpriced. I don't mind paying a lot for terrific food, but the bland lobster rolls were also pretty meager, kids menu offerings poor, and the bill $73, no alcohol! The grounds are huge and confusing. We waited for a shuttle--my mom is handicapped--and finally gave up. The beach however is about as perfect as a beach can be, at the end of a windy boardwalk, chairs and towels waiting for you. There are better places on the Cape, but I'd stay again if in Brewster, and go off site to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annmariehood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at "The Mansion" at Ocean Edge recently and can not say enough good things about our time there. The rooms were luxurious, spacious, and clean. We had an amazing view from the balcony and enjoyed both mornings and evenings there. We were helped several times by the housekeeping staff who always seemed to be there when you needed them. Outside of our room was equally as impressive. The grounds were well maintained and beautifully landscaped. Although My wife and I were there without our kids it appeared that there was plenty to do for families of all ages. A return trip with them is anticipated. Service was beyond expectations. The entire staff was pleasant and helpful. From Liz at the front desk to the manager Sean, everyone seemed genuinely happy to accommodate any request. Extremely friendly and professional service at every turn is what made our getaway everything we had hoped it would be. By the end of our time many of the staff were on a first name basis with us, which made it even more difficult to go home! My favorite part by far was the roof top bar and lounge area with a Amazing view of the ocean! Comfortable and relaxing, this spot set Ocean Edge apart from any other place I have stayed on the Cape. We have a dozen reasons we would book there again but I would go back for just that alone!

Room Tip: The Mansion is close to everything and newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

A challenge in reading a review is that one does not have the context of experiences that the reviewer has had in his life. So here is a bit of context for this review: I have lived or traveled extensively in 4 continents and 40+ countries, have stayed at hotels of all types, for all occasions, and for all durations. The Mansion at OceanEdge "gets it". It is the perfect blend of simple (down to earth) and classy. The grounds are impeccable, the service is of high quality and alawys with a smile/greeting, the rooms are modern and very well maintained, the restaurant choices are adequate and fairly-priced, there is an abundant calendar of activities for children, and, despite not being a lifetime huge fan of the Cape Cod beaches, the Brewster beach at low tide is hard to beat. Whether you want a couple's retreat, a holoday with the family, wether you are a child or retired, you will feel "good" at all times at this Resort. We stayed from August 1 through 4, 2013 (we meaning expectant wife and toddler), and highly recommend the resort. The price is commensurate to the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexGPEUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
20.4 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
8.3 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
14.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
8.0 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.5 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Address: 2907 Main Street, Brewster, MA 02631-1946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly at Ocean Edge for best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing