We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wedding buffet was the worst meal we have ever had!!! horrible, horrible food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Certificate of Excellence
middleboro
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The wedding buffet was the worst meal we have ever had!!! horrible, horrible food.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently attended a beautiful wedding on the beach at the ocean edge. Check in was very easy and the staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful. We stayed one night in a room in the Britterige Village which was very clean and comfortable. However, we thought it was rather pricey considering your only view were the woods- no ocean to be seen!!! The reception was at the Linx pavilion which was very nice. The appetizers of bacon and scallops and the spinach hor d'oeuvres were very good. However, the main meal was the worst tasting food any of us have ever had!!! We were told there were six weddings that day so it was obvious that our food had been prepared & cooked ahead of time and dried out and they were not able to heat the food up properly.To be fair, the chowder was the only thing edible. The fish and chicken were cold and dry out, you could tell it was not freshly cooked. The salads were wilted and soggy. The rice and veggies were also cold, mushy and disgusting.One of the guests at our table found a bug in the salad. We felt so bad for the bride and groom because we knew they paid alot of money for this meal so nobody said anything to spoil their day.
We can't believe that this food was served as such a nice place. The bride and groom definitely deserve to have their meal expense refunded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kodyd9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    152
    51
    20
    17
See reviews for
304
217
2
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

As of August 25th, 2012 I became the luckiest man in the world because I got to marry my best friend. As if it wasn't enough that she looked absolutely stunning that day, the grounds around the resort were perfectly sculptured, the staff was amazing and more accomodating then we could have hoped for and the carriage house a dream - all in all it equaled a perfect day. We had been planning our wedding from last July on and had worked exclusively with Heather from Ocean Edge as a coordinater for the special day. As I'm sure any couple is that is about to wed, we were nervous and just wanted everything to be perfect.....well we could not have asked for more, Heather went to great lengths to ensure that our day was perfect, she took care of all the little details and fulfilled our every request. It goes without saying that without Heather and without Ocean Edge our day would not be the perfect memory that I will cherish forever. I highly recommend Ocean Edge as a place to get married and even just a place to visit. I know we did not get much time to explore whle we were there, but due to the experience, we will definitely make it a point to go back. Thank you Heather and Ocean Edge!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My Husband and I got married on the beach at Ocean Edge in July! Everything about it was amazing. All the planning went extremely smoothly and our wedding day couldn't be more perfect. Heather Valeri did an amazing job helping me plan every aspect of the day and the staff were always very friendly and helpful. My husband and I, my family and some of our bridal party stayed at Ocean Edge a couple days before the wedding on the Village side. Our room was fantastic and we had a lot of fun the days we were there. We would HIGHLY recommend Ocean Edge to friends or anyone looking to have an event there or even just vacation. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August and had a great time. Staff was extraordinary, hotel was spectacular. Great place for family. Smores on the beach was PERFECT at sunset. Arbor pool always a very relaxing and fun time for the entire family. New golf course and Ocean Terrace very NICE!!! We love Ocean Edge!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on Mansion side allow access to Bay Beach...well worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tucker2514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Ocean Edge is kind of a weird place. We stayed in the west wing of the mansion in a renovated room which was nice enough, but the service and amenities overall really don't merit the $525++/night price tag. To get to that level, service needs to be better and they need a nice larger outdoor pool (there are a few small outdoor pools near the townhome parts of the property, but no "main pool"). The Terrace was pretty for drinks. The beach was nice enough (great for kids at low tide). Everything was fine...it's just kind of not what I expect at that price point. Also...at kids activities (our tried the camp once and "Kids Night Out" once and had fun at both) they paint with non-washable paint, so don't send your kids in clothes that you'd be annoyed to get ruined.

If we came back with the kids again we might try to rent an Ocean Edge townhouse instead and have more room plus laundry and kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We checked in here last night for three days and wow! We heard a radio spot advertising this resort and never even knew this place exixted so we decided to try it out for Labor Day weekend. We have typically stayed at other places mid cape in previous years and little did we know what we were missing. The rooms are huge, clean and very modern. The staff we have met have all been wonderful and they even have a private beach, although it doies seem very busy. In any case, glad to be here. It truly is a wonderful spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

For $500 per night I expected more. We stayed in the west wing of the mansion and while the room was very nice, the service at the resort was terrible. None of the staff seemed happy to be there.

The views from the outdoor restaurant were spectacular, however there were loose patio stones causing me to almost trip numerous times. We asked to have lunch on the wicker furniture (located 20 feet from the bar) and the hostess said we would have to order from the bar and get the food ourselves as they did not provide service on the couches. In addition, half of the back patio was closed for lunch. The bartenders were rude and spent their time complaining to each other. I asked to have an item from the dinner menu for lunch, of course the answer was no.

Wi-fi is $10 per day, only works in the room and you can only use one device at a time.

The beach is nice and while chairs/umbrellas are complimentary, I was disappointed that I had to ask the beach attendant to carry and set up my chairs. Again, for $500/night I expect a certain level of service. The menu at the beach is mostly limited and includes hot dogs and ice cream.

This resort is definately geared towards families and I would not recommend it for a romantic escape.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
11.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
685 reviews
20.4 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
600 reviews
8.0 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.6 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Address: 2907 Main Street, Brewster, MA 02631-1946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly at Ocean Edge for best rates. Choose from 90 luxuriously appointed guestrooms or two- or three-bedroom Presidential Bay Collection. While the entire resort is open for your pleasure, the AAA Four Diamond Rated Mansion-side offers a bounty of amenities just footsteps from your room: The Beach House Spa at Ocean Edge, private beach and new Beach Bar, outdoor and indoor pools, a tennis complex staffed by professionals, a cardio/weight room and fitness studio, and a spa treatment room. Please note that some of our amenities including our Beach Bar and kayaking and paddleboarding on Blueberry Pond are seasonal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing