We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot - but watch out for Gypsy Moth Catapillars”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brewster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nickerson State Park Campgrounds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nickerson is a great campground. Generally clean, huge, and with plenty of space between campsites. There is a lot to like. However.... here in mid-June, we find our site infested with Gypsy Moth Caterpillars. They are everywhere, crawling into our gear and pooping from above as they eat leaves. They will be likely gone in a week or so, but clearly, there is an infestation problem that we would rather not take back home with us. We'll be VERY careful in packing up.

Room Tip: Pick a spot with a lake view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank LakeGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 114 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We have been wanting to visit this campsite for over a decade. However we have a motorhome in this is more for camp ing with the tent. The sites are clean and spacious. There are paved bike trails on rolling hills and hiking trails that are overgrown with poison ivy. The ponds are beautiful but this park is so huge you need a car to get to most fresh water beach locations. I'm glad we went but we will not return with the motorhome sites were a lopsides for a big camper. But this place is perfect for the outdoor enthusiast. Mosquitoes and bugs were minimal there are bathrooms throughout the campsite. Glad we went but we will never return

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Pupperlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in one of the most beautiful sites, #061, right on the water. We loved the location as far as the view and proximity to the water! It was a huge site, set above the water, with stairs leading down to the water below it. We were there during the week, and had a handful of folks walk through our site. Apparently a path along the lake, cuts right through the middle of this site. Still, as far as sites go, it was *tops*-- except for one thing….

The poison ivy was almost ridiculous. It was stretching it's tendrils to 1 foot from from the fire pit, and two feet from the picnic table!! If it were just my husband and I, we wouldn't have minded really. For adults I would still give this site 5 stars just for location. But with our 4 year old daughter looking for places to play, we had to confine her explorations to the far side of the camping area, away from the picnic table and pit. Thankfully our site *had* an area she could explore--the neighboring site did not! (It was a smaller site, surrounded on *4 sides* by overgrown poison ivy! Yikes!) Amazingly, none of us got the rash, despite inevitably brushing clothes and other objects against it multiple times.

I thought the management was very, very nice. Friendly, answering questions ahead of time, making recommendations for spots, etc. But having stayed at Army Corps of Engineers sites, I'm spoiled perhaps, but this campground seemed very poorly maintained. The fire pit had a ton of ashes in it, and of course the poison ivy overgrowth was the main concern.

Room Tip: Site 061 was absolutely gorgeous, and turned out to be "doable" with our careful 4 year ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunshine_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have camped at Nickerson State Park many times. We have NEVER been disappointed. Our site had a little trail leading down to the beach and it was almost our little section which was cool. We have had our cousins visit for a day and they loved it to. BTW the ponds are clear and beautiful!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank jkaufman150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

So many people had raved about the camping at Nickerson, so we were excited to take our nephews there for the long October holiday weekend. We had a great time, but the camp sites were not what we were expecting. They were all right on the road...a car's length away - and we were at one of the better sections (7). We felt like we were right on top of our neighbors across the street, we had plenty of room to the sides, but there were no bushes or scrub brush, so we could see had clear views of all camp sites around us. The bathrooms were fairly convenient and well stocked - certainly nothing fancy (but we're camping!). Water was close too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneV87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

First time camping and had two teenage girls with me. Girls only... Raining.. arrived at night in dark. Thank goodness for the kind family next to us that helped us put up our tent otherwise we would have been in our van. site was ok. near water. had to drive to showers which were yucky. but i guess that is what camping is about? near lots of cute stores and restaurants. would have liked a bit more lighting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Don't miss out on enjoying the park. Even during the peak 4th of July season, there are many quiet corners to explore. There is equipment available to rent, and this is a low budget day. The staff is very helpful, so don't be shy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
21.6 mi away
Peters Pond RV Resort
Peters Pond RV Resort
#1 of 4 in Sandwich
55 reviews
8.4 mi away
Campers Haven RV Resort
Campers Haven RV Resort
#2 of 4 in Dennis Port
11 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.3 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candleberry Inn on Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nickerson State Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nickerson State Park Campgrounds

Address: Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Brewster
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 808
Also Known As:
Nickerson State Park Campgrounds Hotel Brewster
Nickerson State Park Campgrounds Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing