We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of The Starvin Marlin - CLOSED

The Starvin Marlin
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ate very early on a Wednesday night (5pm), great food, great service, reasonable price. I would return without hesitation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

After reading the reviews on the Starvin Marlin, and since it's close to our summer home, we decided to try it. Upon walking in it was SO COLD (air conditioning on full blast). We asked for a table where it might not be so cold. After being seated we remarked to our waitress that it was uncomfortably cold in there. She remarked, "Oh, I think it's very comfortable." Sure.....she's rushing around, in and out of the kitchen. Who are they trying to make comfortable? The staff in the kitchen or the guests in the dining room? We left and will not return due to the attitude of the server.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank goodtogotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We wanted to try a new restuarant in Brewster, Massachusetts for lunch and dropped in at Starvin Marlin. They were open but trying to put in new floors and serve people at the same time. The best thing about the restaurant was a very upbeat attentive waitress but the ambience is dark and dank and the food was mediocre. We had fish tacos that were quite large but the fish was soft and unappetizing. I had the turkey club and it was unremarkable. We won't be back and I can't think of any reason to recommend it except to keep the nice waitress employed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrvnMrln1, Owner at The Starvin Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We did recently put in the new hardwood floors and while the contractors did work throughout the overnight and needed to finish up the next business day, the workers were told to pack it up, which they did, once customers were seated. We are very mindful of the volume of noise in the restaurant and did not serve anyone with contractors working, As the owner I was there observing to make sure of that. We are sorry thier presence bothered your time however. We are also very sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your meal. We always ask that if our customers are not happy to tell us right away so we can get you something else. We strive to make our customers happy and will always do the right thing for you...
Thank you for your mention of your waitress. We are also proud of our staff and was glad to hear you were happy with her service.
We hope you give us another try... however if we dont see you again, we wish you a great rest of the Summer!!!!

Steve Marlin
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had dinner here twice on my recent visit to Brewster. The food is tasty with some well planned twists. I felt it was a good value for a restaurant. Both rimes our servers were freindy and helpful. The decor is not very inspiring- but this place is still definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrvnMrln1, Owner at The Starvin Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We're so happy to hear that you had a good experience on a return visit. Consistency is key. We are proud of our staff and glad to hear your meal was to your (and our) expectation. Come see us again and stop and say hello when you do!!!

Have a great rest of the Summer

Steve Marlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ate here this evening. As others mentioned, the decor is pretty poor, like mid-range diner. The tables and chairs weren't mis-matched, but they *seemed* this way, which should tell you something.

The food was fine, we tried both the hot and cold lobster rolls. They weren't bad, but they weren't good, either. The hot roll was really more like a dry lazy man's lobster on a grilled bun, if that lobster had nothing but claws. The cold roll was a little better, with a little bit of lettuce and celery, but was still entirely made up of claws meat. Fries and slaw were okay.

The raw bar was good, you get a lot of clams for $10, but rather being served over ice, they were served in cold water with some ice cubes in them, so you needed to drain the claims before you ate them.

The service was nice an attentive, but the timing was weird. We ordered drinks & apps, then the apps arrived almost before ordered our main courses. Then the mains came while we were still only half done with our clams. They weren't rushing us, so it was weird to have all that food ready so quickly, there wasn't much room on the table for all the food they brought out.

In all, for this price, you can do a lot better than here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BostonBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrvnMrln1, Owner at The Starvin Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you didnt have a good experience. We are proud of our menu our staff and our building and believe there are multiple great reasons to eat here.. Our decor is what it is.. very casual.. but we have to disagree in that it's far from poor. We have fun decorating with fun knick knacks and other eclectic items and are not bothered by the simple but comfortable environment we have here in our old building.
We are pleased most importantly however to hear your meal was fine, including the raw bar and that you had attentive service. We do apologize for your meal timing not being right. That we definately will make note of for the future - We thank you for giving us a try.

We hope you have a good rest of the Summer and where ever your travels may lead you.. Happy dining!

The Marlins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Starvin Marlin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing