We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice surprise!”
Review of The Starvin Marlin - CLOSED

The Starvin Marlin
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed November 9, 2012

dinner for 2 on a quiet weekday night in the fall. we had one of the specials for the night,he petite filet with chipotle sauce. i thought it was very good but my wife thought it too spicy. originally there was an error in our order, which was corrected right away. plenty of tv's in the bar area to watch a game etc. they also have entertainment a few days a week . a nice break for the middle of the week. i would definitely go again. one last comment,i thought it was a little pricey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donegalmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrvnMrln1, Owner at The Starvin Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased to hear you had an overall good experience! We encourage all of our customers to speak up if we have made an error (or for any other reason- good or bad)
Hope you'll come on back again mid week. Try out our Springhill sessions (Irish Music on Tuesdays) or trivia on Monday nights- both early nights out.

See you soon!
Steve Marlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 152 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

A nice spacious room with a good atmosphere. The waitress was very friendly and gave us good service. The food was excellent and good value and we were able to see the Tennis finals in New York on their in house TV.

Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrvnMrln1, Owner at The Starvin Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal (and the tennis match!) We hope you had a great Holiday season and look forward to seeing back soon!
Stop by and say hello next time you're in!

Steve Marlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good food (yummy Warm Lobster Roll...cold one was good as well) and very friendly service the bartender even checked to make sure the Old Fashion drink was made to our expectation. Obviously is a favorite hangout for locals.

1  Thank PleasantCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrvnMrln1, Owner at The Starvin Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thanks for giving us a try, we're so glad you had a good time. We're thrilled that you enjoyed (both) types of lobster rolls! We do love our locals and are thrilled that we have gotten such an outstanding local response. We hope you'll come on and give a go at trivia or listen to some music!

Cheers!

Steve and Cynthia Marlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This wayside restaurant along the King's Highway (Route 6A) in Brewster, MA on Cape Cod is a gem! What was once a lackluster pizza joint has been transformed into a handsome dining room, with a bar discreetly separated from the main seating area. While not a huge place, it has well-placed tables, good waitstaff and food that is carefully prepared and served perfectly! I had pot roast, often a mistake as a restaurant order, but this was mouth-watering tender and succulent. I got to pick sides from a variety of interesting offers and chose ratatouille, and a homefried potato concoction (that was really delicious). While the Cape quiets dramatically for winter, this neat, tidy and tasty eatery is on our list for return visits. The Cape has many forgettable places to eat where the food is OK, but nothing special. The menu here has just enough variety (many appetizers), and just enough pizzazz to make the dining a cut above. For comfort food, seafood and terrific desserts (caramel apple pie), this place rates as one of the best!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RiverGuy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrvnMrln1, Owner at The Starvin Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Well now you should write reviews for a living!! Thank you so much for your wonderful descriptions! We have put our heart and soul into making the Marlin a place that is not pretentious, warm, friendly and serves great food. Our incredibly talented Chef Steve and his team along with Rob our General Manager and our waitstaff and bartenders try to make sure that you have a great experience at every turn. And most importantly we want you to have fun!!!
We hope that you'll stop and say hello next time you're in
Thank you again.
Regards,
Steven and Cynthia Marlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Last night my husband and I ate at the Starvin Marlin. We have eaten there once before. We sat at the bar and Amanda our server was very personable and her service was excellent. We do have a few suggestions. We got the pork ribs appetizer and the meat was tender and tasty. There were however only three ribs in the order and like most couples were were sharing it. Four ribs would have been greatly appreciated. My husband got the veal picatta which was very good but we felt the portion of veal and the two sides were all quite small. Perhaps if a side salad and a dinner roll were included he wouldn't have had a snack as soon as we got home. The last suggestion is to have Romaine lettuce offered in one of your salads as it is readily available all year, not expensive, lasts well, is much tastier than iceberg and it is also filled with nutrients, not so with iceberg lettuce. I had a wonderful dinner, the large lobster roll (nice size serving of lobster that was dressed perfectly) with a side of broccoli (the side of a vegetable was not offered but was gladly substituted). I think it is very important for restaurants to offer healthy side dishes with all meals. We will be back! Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank la404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrvnMrln1, Owner at The Starvin Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for your review and excellent recommendations. We will most certainly take all of them back into consideration. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the lobster roll and that you'll be back...we truly value your opinions and hope you'll stop and say hello before you leave!!

Regards

Steve Marlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Starvin Marlin also viewed

 
Brewster, Cape Cod
Brewster, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing