We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat little store” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brewster Store

Brewster Store
Ranked #1 of 9 Shopping in Brewster
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Neat little store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This little country store has coffees and a small selection of pastries. The selection of unique "country store items" was interesting and fun to browse. The kids enjoyed the candy selection. The staff was a little terse and was the only thing that was to be improved upon.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geobiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
359 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“NO BATHROOMS - Just another overpriced tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I would have ranked this average, but we had to leave, drive a 1/4 mile away and then go back because they didn't have a restroom. What kinda of store doesn't have a restroom??? And I guess we aren't the only ones to be upset by this. They had a sign posted in the parking lot said not to pee in it. LOL. I posted a picture of it. Oddly it was my favorite part of the visit. And when asked the staff was NOT friendly.

Inside the store they did have a large variety of items to select from. Most were typical touristy type things or items you may see in a general store in a small town. (Reminded me of a Family Pharmacy from the 70/80's without the Pharmacy.) I wouldn't see the need to purchase most of the items inside as they were overpriced and could be found in most stores. Some of the shirts that said Brewster on it were nice.

The historical aspect was nice, but my overall rating was based upon more of what it is today.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cape Cod Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I've been going to the Brewster Store for many years. Lots of Cape Coddy types items, plus lots of tchotchke's that allow for a nice browse on both floors of the store!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ToyDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
227 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Worth a browse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Dropped by to see the old time setup. They practically had everything you would want in terms of candy and trinkets. The old nostalgia was awesome to look at and worth the visit. The staff seemed friendly, attentive, and willing to help out their customers. The store was a little bit on the expensive side as we decided to shop elsewhere for souvenirs.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DRsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Love!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We always have to stop here at least once. Growing up, my brother and I got the penny candy here and hoarded it. Not penny candy anymore, but they still have a great selection!
They have some of the odd kitchen things that not many other places carry. A great selection of stuff, t shirts, books, notecards, puzzles. A definite must!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewster Store also viewed

Brewster, Cape Cod
Brewster, Cape Cod
 

Been to Brewster Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing