We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paddleboarding and kayaking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nickerson State Park

Nickerson State Park
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Brewster
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paddleboarding and kayaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Beautiful state park, central location, easy to navigate, and access to biking and plenty of other outdoor activities. Wish I'd brought a tackle box to do some fishing. If it's recreational, this park has it. Definitely recommend checking it out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry_Mertens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    48
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great day with the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great place to hike, bike, and be one with nature. Although there is a fee, plan to spend the day and it is worth it. Not very many place on earth like cape cod and this is what it's all about. Enjoy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

In all of our visits to Cape Cod over the past 18 years, my husband and I had never driven through Nickerson State Park, so during our most recent visit, we made this a priority. For a $5 entrance fee, we had access to the park for the day. Our visit was only an hour or so, but we enjoyed seeing the many beautiful ponds scattered throughout the park. Some ponds had beach areas for swimming, as well as picnic areas. Camping seemed to be the primary activity in the park, as we saw many, many occupied campsites scattered throughout various areas. If you are "into" camping, Nickerson seems like a perfect spot! We noted that showers were available, as well as a small general store. The bike trail runs through the park, too, providing ample opportunity to ride, jog, or walk on a paved surface through the woods. Even if camping is not your thing, or you prefer not to make use of the trail, a drive through the park is worth the price of admission. Having this lovely natural area in the heart of Cape Cod is a real treat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent overall after four stay overs, EXCEPT...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Everything overall about the park is excellent. Two things disappointed me during this latest stay. We stayed in a yurt, which is a good value. When we arrived, the yurt had not been swept, unlike in years past. And, there was no dust pan and broom, nor pole doohickey to open the top to ventilate. While the staff promptly brought the dust pan and broom, by mid-week, they had yet to open the top or bring the doohickey. Usually the customer service is excellent, but it went down a notch on this trip. I also noticed that the bathrooms weren't as clean. Still excellent overall, but slightly disappointing this trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NCHS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“beautifull setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

love the park! trails to hike, bike and ponds for kayaking, tent sites that are private and well located for viewing nature. clean and well maintained.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ksanikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickerson State Park also viewed

 

Been to Nickerson State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing