We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inexpensive awesome family vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
rhode island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great inexpensive awesome family vacation spot”
Reviewed February 16, 2007

Even though the golf course is currently under construction. Ocean Edge is a great place to stay with the family. The 4 pools on the property are great and the property is located mid cape. If you stay at Ocean Edge there are a few options.You can either stay in a property owned town house 400-5000 or a privately owned townhouse 300-700. Fletcher village is highly recommended as it is only 700 for 7 days and is centrally located on the property. The golf clubhouse is a great place for lunch or dinner and the prices are reasonable. (14$ for a lobster salad sandwich witha ton of lobster). There are tennis courts, bicycle rentals, a full gym and indoor pool and a wonderful pub all located on the main property. There is a private beach and marshmallow roasting over open fires at night. Hyannis and Provincetown are not far away. The front nine of the course will be opened for the 2007-2008 travel season with the back nine currently under constructon. Because of the work being done, the prices are fabulous. Once the golf course work is completed prices will skyrocket. Get there this year!

  • Liked — awesome quality low price
  • Disliked — no pets allowed
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lburns2971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    256
    183
    119
    97
See reviews for
511
298
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walpole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2006

I had recently spent Time at Ocean Edge Resort. And had a wonderful Time.

I contacted the Resort Directly, which I would recommend. I looked at the website and was a little confused. The reservationist was kind and explained everything. They explained the differenece in the "bayside" and "resort side" I knew I was looking for a weekend get a way and wanted the "bayside" They were running a great rate of 99 dollars!

My wife and I were promptly greated when we entered room by a young gentleman. He explained the property to a T. We learned the history of the Mansion as well as some local restuarant information. Or room was spacious an very compforting. We later ate dinner in the pub. We were one of two couples dinning, but that is expected of a resort on cape cod after labor day. The food was great and the server was pleasant. Over the next two days my wife and I were greeted with our last name everytime we past the front desk. Everything down to our check out was great.

Ocean Edge is a great place, even off season! I can't wait until july 2007 when my family has reserved one of the 3 bedroom villas!~

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin.ryan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

Ocean Edge is a four-star hostelry in a five-star location with a two-and-a-half star restaurant and a pleasant but ineffective two-star staff.

Our room ($310 a night in mid-September) was spacious and comfortable, the bellman who lugged our stuff up a hill from the parking lot, very gracious.

We checked in on a Thursday night prior to an early business meeting the next morning. We never received the morning wakeup call requested from the hotel operator that night, and the breakfast had to be reordered because the request on the room's doorknob (put out at 10:15pm) was never pcked up.

That next night, I asked the hotel operator if there was a routine nightly turn-down service because we needed the room frreshened and towels replaced. She said yes. It was never done, and the front desk, very late that night, told us that nightly service was only available on special request.

Their bar/pub/lounge is attractively decorated and comfortable, but gets very noisy with but a modest number of people in the area.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank owleyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2006

The resort isn’t terrible, but it certainly isn’t worth the money. Also, I believe the name “Ocean Edge” is a bit misleading, especially if you’re staying on the resort side of the property.

Grounds:

The grounds are clean & well-manicured. There are two sides of the property – the bayside and the resort side. The bayside is where the main building, “the mansion,” is located (check-in, the pub, dining room, etc.), as well as the path to the beach. The resort side is where the golf course is. There are indoor & outdoor pools located on both sides. We did not spend too much time on the resort side, but I can tell you it is not walking distance to the beach. There is a shuttle service, but this is still something to keep in mind. If you want to be close to the beach and do not want to rely on a shuttle, do not stay on the resort side. Do not expect to walk around either side of the property and look at the ocean. I think there’s one hill next to the Mansion where you can actually see the ocean.

The room:

We stayed in a “superior” room on the bayside of the property. It was $310/night (this is a discounted rate for the fall season) plus a $12/night resort fee was added on. This same room is $450/night in the summer which is ridiculous. The room itself was decent – spacious, clean & updated. However, for the price we expected a view that wasn’t overlooking the parking lot & dumpster. All of the “superior” rooms had similar views. The room did not have a refrigerator and the T.V. had 11 channels. Of course most people do not go on vacation to the beach to watch TV, but for the price we expected to have more of a selection. I’m shocked that a resort that caters to golfers doesn’t offer ESPN or NESN in the guestrooms (probably so guests will go the pub to watch games on the much advertised large-screen TV & spend more money).

Pools:

The Bay Pines indoor & outdoor pools were open. The Fletcher pools on the resort side were also still open, but I believe all others were closed (we arrived two days after Labor Day). The Bay Pines outdoor pool was OK – clean but overlooking the parking lot. Apparently during the summer they sell snacks & soda at the pool.

Beach:

The beach was nice – it had clean, soft sand, but it was small. We were there after Labor Day & it was cold so the beach wasn’t crowded. It was quiet & relaxing. However, I would imagine that during the summer it would be very crowded – there isn’t much space! The resort provides small chairs & towels for guests. There isn’t any food or drink service.

Tennis courts:

We didn’t play, but we noticed many well-maintained courts that were mostly empty during our stay.

Restaurants:

There were three restaurants that were open – the dining room, the pub, and Lynx Tavern. The only restaurant we ate at was the pub. The food was good, a bit over-priced as expected, pleasant atmosphere, good service. They have a large-screen TV poorly situated behind the pool table. So although some guests were trying to watch the first Monday night football game, it was physically impossible to do so because of the 40+ conference attendees who showed up & crowded around the pool table.

Service:

The service was very good. Each staff member we encountered was polite, friendly & efficient. No problems here.

Value:

The resort is overpriced. We’ve stayed at quite a few other Oceanside resorts in New England for the same price (or in some places, for less money) and we got much more for our money elsewhere. Keep in mind when viewing the rates that there is a $12 resort fee added on daily. However, this fee does include wireless internet & use of the fitness center, so the fee is worth it if you’re going to utilize both. Also, we noticed that 20% is added onto the bills at the restaurants. We asked our waiter what it’s for and he explained 14% is for the tip, and he’s not sure where the other 6% goes to. We added more of a tip onto the check because we thought he deserved more than a 14% tip. But this of course meant there was almost 30% added to our food & drinks!

Area:

The resort is in a pretty area of Brewster. There are quite a few small restaurants/bistros, antiques stores, galleries and gift shops. It isn’t in a tacky or overdeveloped area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Value
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Abby7710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brewster hotels

NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

I agree with the previous reviewer... we stayed for a week in early August and had several problems with our room being made up (at all). After discussing with management they apologized.. but it did happen twice more during our stay. Very unfortunate. Not fun coming back to your room with two small kids at 4pm and having to deal with ordeing fresh towels, etc.

This was our 3rd year back and we're not sure we'll return. Management did try to make it up to us on the last night by reducing our rate (slightly) and comping us breakfast which was a nice gesture on their part... but the overall stay was tainted by the aggravation.

Other than that- the property has been maintained and the room we had was nice (once the beds were made). But again, not sure it was worth the money this year. Perhaps they'll read this and improve their housekeeping staff proceedures...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price for services offered
  • Tips/Secrets — Let them work out the kinks before you visit
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Weekly_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

We recently stayed here and had a series of problems at the hotel, which were not taken care off, or ever addressed. We never had an operating telephone, it took numerous complaints and two days to even get a response, they said it could not be fixed, so we lived with no phone, they never even said we are sorry. Well lights were out in the room, again multiple complaints before they were changed, there was never enough hot water, and the AC made loud noises when it was off, go figure, we want to sleep with windows open and can’t because the unit kept us up. The staff never tried to accommodate and poorly handled the situation. We have stayed here several times and never had a problem, but to spend this kind of money and get poor service, not again at this resort!!

The resort is beautiful, and other facilities were very good

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Service, room
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

Our family just got back from four days at the Ocean Edge Resort. You really need to understand the type of resort this is if you do not want to be dissapointed. Ocean Edge is more like a condominium rental service than a resort. As we drove up to the "Mansions" where the resort loby is located, the resort looked spectacular. Grand lawns, Ocean Views, stately buildings.

When checking in we were told our "villa" was "on the resort side of the property". This is when the "resort feel" ended and the adventure began. Our room was literally 1.6 miles and about 50 speed bumps away from the main buildings. No where near the ocean's edge.

Our condo was simple and clean, but it felt like we were in someone's neigborhood rather than a hotel/resort. The view was of a new golf course, unfortunately so new it was under construction. Dust and all! The queen size bed was perhaps the most uncomfotable one I have slept on since college. The first morning I wanted to visit the concierge so I put my running shoes on and took a 3 mile run. One night our kids were tired and we decided to eat in the room only to find out that there was no room service, so we odered pizza.

The Ocean Edge is ideal for someone who wants to rent a condo and does not expect typical resort services and experience. The staff at the golf course were terrific, although we did not see another staff member all week. We would encourage everyone to do a little research before your stay.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank KenSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
0.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.5 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
642 reviews
13.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
580 reviews
11.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
20.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Address: 2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631-1946
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly at Ocean Edge for best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Hotel Brewster
Ocean Edge Resort And Golf Club
Ocean Edge Hotel
Ocean Edge Resort Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Brewster Ma
The Villages At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing