We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Reviewed October 12, 2005

CHECK-IN: I attended a meeting at the Ocean Edge Resort at the end of Sept 2005. The main mansion was pretty and historic, where I checked in. Though my reservation was under a group list, it was not to be found in the computer...no explanation given as to discrepency. It took me 20 minutes to check-in at a non-peak time (1pm), only 1 person was at the registration desk. Parking for the mansion 100 ft away in a small lot.
ROOM: I stayed in one of the 1BR villas in the Arbor village, which were condo-type units on the golf course side of the resort, far from the ocean (requires a drive, but shuttle service is provided if needed). The room I was given was on the second level and smelled musty from the rainy weather, was furnished worn Cape-style furniture. Villa was large with plenty of space with a separate living room w/ kitchenette and bedroom. I didn't really need or use the kitchen in the villa. Balcony overlooked the golf course.
MEETING FACILITIES: The Bay Pines Pavillion conference room was spacious but with a howling wind outside, the tent kept swaying and making lots of noise, which was very distracting during the meeting. It was much better the second day when the wind died down. The Addie Nickerson Room, where we had dinner, would have been much more accommodating for a meeting room- it has a nice balcony that overlooks the resort.
FOOD: Bayzo's pub has good chowder but their crabcakes tasted like it had a cup of salt in it. I sent it back b/c it was literally inedible. The waitress made me order something else, so I ordered a turkey sandwich, thinking it couldn't be that hard to make one. Wrong- the bread was stale, turkey was salty, tomatoes were not ripe, lettuce was slimy, chips were stale. The pub itself has a lot of character- has a pool table and TV for entertainment. I did not eat in the main restaurant. From the meeting, the seafood dinner was mixed- good lobster, bad clams and bland side dishes. Other non-seafood dishes were edible but by no means were they fancy or especially good. Desserts were good- chocolate mousse, cakes and cobblers.
SERVICE: Service was responsive but not particularly accommodating, friendly, or attentive that you would expect from a five star resort. We had an evening bonfire- The beach was nice, a short walk down a short poorly-lit path. The activities crew that set up the bonfire looked put out each time we requested anything- call for a shuttle, more wood for the fire. We paid for chairs and sodas to be brought to the beach, which were not. Pools were closed at this time of year.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank My_Pseudonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2005

We had the opportunity to stay at the Ocean Edge during Labor Day weekend '05 with our two children aged 5 and 7.

Put simply, overall the vacation exceeded our expectations, especially given all of the negativity in the previous reviews of this season. We like the place and the people. it was a terrific first time at the cape for our family.

Let me say upfront that Ocean Edge is essentially a conference center set centrally and brilliantly in Cape Cod. So, if you accept that with the good and bad that comes from it, you will have an excellent stay. It seems that many of the bad reviews were from people who either didnt do their research on the resort OR had unrealistic expectations for a resort of this size.

What makes it good are the things that are its limitations.

Size and Scope:

on the plus side: many many almost unlimited resources such as pools, beach access, buffet meals, internet access, kids day camp etc; the staff is terrific and cares a lot. the clam bake and marshmellow roast were highlights! we didnt like our room when we arrived and with one simple, polite call to the front desk (amy buchannan, reservations manager) our problems were solved with a terrific upgrade from siberia (across 6A) to times square (bay pine villas)! let me be clear that the deal was for the golf area villas, but we knew that in advance and were resigned for that at a great room rate.

on the downside: many of the rooms are worn out; its a very large and overwhelming grounds; this weekend there were multiple weddings; several requests for newspapers, bikes went neglected or unanswered perhaps due to demand or end of the summer.

overall, this was a great place to take the family for the first trip cape bound. we probably would rent a private home for a week if we were to go again, just so we can be closer to the ocean than for any other particular reason.

give Ocean Edge a shot, especially if youre going on a family reunion or with other families, you wont be disapointed!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ScottTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chelmsford, MA
16
Reviewed August 29, 2005

We made the mistake of keeping our reservation at this resort, even after reading the very accurate negative reviews. We checked into a one bedroom villa in the Britterige Village, and felt as if the $350 price tag had to be a joke. Aside from the cheap decor, thin walls, and very dirty, smelly accomodations, we were in the middle of nowhere, miles from the water at the Cape's "Premier Ocean front resort." A short shuttle ride to the beach? Ridiculous for the price you pay.
We called the front desk to complain about the room's condition, and we were immediately moved to another one bedroom villa in the Arbor Village. The room was a drastic improvement, similar to the picture you see on the website, but do not be fooled - there is no ocean view from these villas. Arbor Village is even further away from the water. This room was cleaner, but the walls had spackle on them, the rugs were stained, the dishes and dishwasher were dirty, and the room smelled musty.
We were too tired to move again, so in the morning decided to check out.
aware that the accomodations are sub-par and made every effort to make us happy. Unfortunately, checking out after only one night, and spending the remainder of our vacation at home was a better option for us.
The main resort area was quite nice, and if you are not looking for something with a separate bedroom, perhaps would be a nice option. However, I will never stay at the Ocean Edge resort again, nor would I reccommend it to anyone. Travelers be warned.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2005

This resort is without a doubt worth a visit to. We stayed 5 days at the Ocean Edge (OE) last week and it was a wonderful experience. The rooms in the East and West wings of the hotel are similar. As you enter, the bathroom area is to the left of the entrance and the outher portion had a large sink and vanity along with a 8 foot closet. The bathroom itself was off this large area and had a pedistal sink, and an ultra clean large oval tub. The room itself included a king bed and pullout double sofa bed. We even had enough room to position a cot between the sofa and bed (needless to say, a very large immaculate room that accomodated 4 very well.)
The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The room was adjacent to the tennis facility, one of two, and about a 3-4 minute walk to the beach. The beach was the kids favorite part, because at low tide the water retreads about 3/4 to 1 mile allowing for exposure of the ocean bottom where they hunted for shells and spider crabs the whole day. Tennis and golf (course is across the street near condo's) were great, the course a bit burned out but enjoyable anyway. We only ate lunch at the resort the day of arrival and found it to be good but expensive (to be expected I guess). The rest. at the golf course, Lynx (I think) was very good, worth a trip.
Try Grumpy's, a local place for breakfast, you will not be unhappy. I could go on but you get my drift, forget about the naysayers, and stay in the hotel. It is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
11
Reviewed August 25, 2005

I recently stayed at Ocean Edge for the fourth time and only have great things to say about the Resort. From the great service provided by the staff, to the close proximity to the beach, to the beautiful golf course and tennis courts, Ocean Edge is the perfect Cape Cod resort for both family and private vacations. Ocean Edge has direct access to major roads on Cape Cod however is set back in it's own secluded world making you feel like you are taking a step away from reality. Try the brunch at the Mansion Hotel. It is delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2005

I recently stayed at Ocean Edge Resort with a few friends and was truly impressed with the atmosphere and the staff. We stayed in a 3 bedroom cond and I was amazed at how well kept the grounds and the facilities were. The staff was helpful and pleasant and the beach was breathtaking. I was fortunate to meet the General Manager who took the time to speak with us and ask us how our accommodations were. He truly gave us the personal touch. Ocean Edge is a great escape, the condo was clean and surprisingly big. It was nice to live like the rich and famous for a few days. I am definately going back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dragon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
410
Reviewed August 22, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
0.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
20.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,269 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
11.4 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Address: 2907 Main Street, Brewster, MA 02631-1946
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range: $149 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Villages side spans 380 emerald acres that are as friendly to walk as to bike. Spacious 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom villas welcome you with chic, quintessentially Cape Cod décor. Just outside your door awaits the finest in golf and tennis, from our private Nicklaus Design golf course, driving range and putting green, accessible to Members and Ocean Edge guests only, to 9 tennis courts. Guests will also enjoy our new Beach House Spa, which offers massages, pedicures, manicures, hydrafacials, a private porch perfect for wedding days, and more! In the summer months, stroll, bike or shuttle to golf and tennis areas, restaurants, crystal-clear pools (3 outdoor, 1 indoor), two fitness centers, a cardio room, basketball court, picnic area, toddler playground and Blueberry Pond. Hop on a one of our new Freedom Flyer bikes at The Villages and coast along the historic, scenic 26-mile Cape Cod Bike and Rail Trail that meanders through Cape Cod villages and is dotted with ice cream parlors, antique shops, lobster, baseball games and more. Our convenient, all-day shuttle service is available in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Hotel Brewster
Ocean Edge Resort And Golf Club
Ocean Edge Hotel
Ocean Edge Resort Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Brewster Ma
The Villages At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing