We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Armonk, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend getaway!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just came back from Cape Cod after spending two days there with my husband and 1.5 year old daughter. We stayed at the Villages side (in Britteridge bldg.). If you have a family with kids, this is the best bet. We had a one bedroom/one bath that came with full kitchenette. Included a washer/dryer, dishwasher, fridge and stove top. Perfect for traveling with small children. The room had a small but cozy balcony. Very nicely appointed, clean and comfortable with small kitchen table. I did not go into the Mansion as I felt it wasn't necessary. The Village side had their own pools with snack bar and kiddie pool and hot tub. Overall it was a wonderful stay. Staff was very nice. If I had any complaints it would be minimal. I know check-in is at 4pm and while this is made clear, I was hoping that like most hotels, the room would be ready slightly earlier than that. We arrived at 11:30am and room wasn't ready until about 2:45pm. That's ok...policy is policy but it's just that I never encountered that elsewhere. Also, guests on the Village side cannot use the beach at the Mansion (but can use the pool) which ok...that's fine. What got me was that Village guests could not use certain pools on the Village side. I guess they are for members only - folks who own the townhouses there. That being said - it was fine b/c the other pools were lovely...just made you feel a little bad that certain spots were off-limits. Overall I recommend staying here as it was definitely a good time had by all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren111279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    262
    187
    120
    98
See reviews for
525
302
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Audlem
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We booked this on Expedia as part of our independent trip of New England, using the reviews on TA as a guide on what we could expect. We stayed for 5 nights in an upstairs apartment ( 2 adults + 2 kids agd 11 & 9) which was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The washing machine and dryer were very useful especially after a sandy day on the beach. The sofa bed was fine for the kids, and the adult bedroom was comfortable. Each day the room was cleaned by the hotel staff (which we did not expect) and some of the basics replenished.

The big plus (we don't play golf) was the large pool, 9ft deep in places, and continuously monitored by lifeguards. There were plenty of other kids splashing around so our two soon found new friends to play with. The Shark Bah at the pool had a good selection of beer and cocktails. We glad that our apartment was close to the pool, the resort is huge, so if you are at the wrong end you could end up driving to the Arbour pool.

Mainly due to the expectation that food and drink would be better off the resort we did not dine in any of the restaurants preferring to try the local places nearby.

Finally, the staff at the resort were fantastic, the team around the Arbour pool were great, (mostly from Europe).

As for value we thought it was fair - for standard of accommodation, the number of staff working there, the overall services, and the actual up keep of the overall resort, it made for a pleasant and relaxing part of our holiday.

I would recommend it as a good base to visit the Cape and also allow the family more space to relax, than a smaller hotel room.

Room Tip: If you want to walk to the biggest pool, select an apartment by the Arbour pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P1pster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were very excited about our stay here and sorely disappointed. The rooms are dated, the furniture is stained. Every little thing costs extra. The resort is nothing like what the $500 price tag for the night promised. We stated in the condo area. There is nothing here making this a worthwhile destination.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diamanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brewster hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at Britterige Villas for 3 nights in July. The "Villas" are actually condos in a block so noise from other guests is a bit of a problem. The rooms were clean and functional but very dated. A nice/convenient feature was the washer/dryer available in each room.

Although each condo sleeps 4 we decided to book two 2 Villas as travelling with 2 teenage girls we prefer 2 bathrooms. The 2 bedroom villas promoted on the website proved impossible to book and would have been more expensive!! As it was, the condos also proved to be VERY expensive and I would not class as good value! Once resort fees local tax, state tax and an additional unspecified $50 per night was added to each room rate, the cost was $120 per room per night more than the advertised rate. Once I queeried the additional $50 per night, they agreed to refund this, however I still find $2660 (£1662) for a 3 night stay, accommodation only in a mediocre resort to be quite pricey.

The facilities at the resort are very good and the Arbor pool fun for families with the convenience of having poolside servers to bring drinks and refreshments. Do Not hire bikes from the onsiite bike rental. They are expensive and the equipment is dated. A quick car journey or 10 minute walk will get you to Brewster Bike rentals on Underpass Road where they have much cheaper and better quality bikes.

We used both the Lynx restaurant and Bayzo's Pub and found the food and drink of a high quality and reasonable value.

The staff at Ocean Edge are great!! From the front desk staff, restaurant and pool servers and the housekeeping staff, they are all very friendly and helpful.

Friends of ours visiting Cape Cod at the same time stayed in a 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom private beach front cottage for 1 week for a similar price. With hindsight I wish we had done the same as even though we only had a 3 day stay, paying for a week and leaving early would still have been the same price.

Room Tip: Some of the Condos are in the basement and have no views and are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButcherFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the villages 5 nights in the arbor area. The structure is very big, you will have to drive around and there are 2 major areas where you will find pools and pool bar. The whole villages is between a big golf club, so you are surrounded by 11 holes. Our unit was pretty clean with fully equipped kitchen and w/d. The bed was not too comfortable. The Linx restaurant is very good and whole staff is gentle and extremely professional.
The defects of this resort is the pools, they are pretty small and for the number of guest hey have they are very limiting. After noon they become crowded with kids playing and screaming (as all the kids do). That's unfortunate because they really have ton of space and they could build more maybe for over 21 as well.
Pretty good stay I would recommend for quality and location. Less for relaxing at poolside. It's a pity with all the space and green they have!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sagin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanWebb, General Manager at The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We were happy to read you were overall pleased with the accommodations, the staff, and The Linx.

I’m sorry you found the pools to be too busy. We do have five pools on property as well as access to the surrounding Brewster beaches and ponds. We also offer adults only swim times at the Fletcher Pool from 7A-10A daily. We typically do not have problems with overcrowding. We appreciate you weighing in however, and will certainly consider the possibility of a pool for adults in our future planning. Thank you again for submitting your comments.

Sincerely,
Bryan Webb
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, MA
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Was here for a recent weekend getaway with my wife. We had a wonderful time, the accommodations were impeccable and the beach was ready for some summer enjoyment. The real jewel of this resort is the property itself and some of the exemplary staff. The buildings are all beautiful and immaculate and the same goes for our villa - we should know, we have vacationed here for many years. The real reason for this review was our interaction with one of the managers at the resort, Sean Sullivan. Sean really went out of his way to make some great recommendations for us as we were just passing by. He took some time out of (I'm sure) his busy day to steer us to a really great afternoon. We really appreciate his help and expertise and looking forward to a return trip soon.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank POtraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YVR
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and our 2 sons spent 5 nights here. We travelled here with family friends from Boston, wanting to have a fun Cape visit. The Villages at Ocean Edge worked. The facilities were very good, especially the tennis and golf. Fun pool area at the Shark Bah. Staff were very pleasant and friendly.

We both had very nicely appointed one bedroom units. We requested (and received) adjoining units which was great.

We ate at the following Ocean Edge restaurants:
Linx was very convenient but the food was just okay.
Ocean Terrace has a great ambience, the food is very creative, maybe a bit too much but very good.
The best place was Bayzo's Pub. Very nice atmosphere and the menu was great for kids.The manager Steve was fantastic, as was the hostess Alex. Thank you Bayzo's.

Overall we had a nice time at the Villages.

My one area of complaint is you must pay for your entire stay 7 days in advance. As it turned out, our Boston friends had to leave one day early. Upon arrival, they informed the front desk that they would only be staying for 4 nights and not 5. The front desk person said we needed to talk to reservations. The reservations agent informed them of their 7 day policy and said that they could not do anything for them.

I felt quite bad for my friends, As I was the organizer of our little trip, I asked to speak to a manager (Sean) who said this is a very strict resort policy. Sean said he would contact reservations and copy me on an email, but not to expect anything. He confirmed my email address, but I never did receive an email from him or reservations.

I realize that many places on the Cape have this "must pay first" policy, but if you are trying to be a "high end resort" I believe you need to be a bit flexible on these things. No refund, no credit, no offer for a future visit. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hey_Big_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
0.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.5 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
654 reviews
13.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
593 reviews
11.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
250 reviews
20.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Address: 2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631-1946
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly at Ocean Edge for best rates. Our Villages side spans 380 emerald acres that are as friendly to walk as to bike. Spacious 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom villas welcome you with chic, quintessentially Cape Cod décor. Just outside your door awaits the finest in golf and tennis, from our private Nicklaus Design golf course, driving range and putting green, accessible to Members and Ocean Edge guests only, to 9 tennis courts. Guests will also enjoy our new Beach House Spa, which offers massages, pedicures, manicures, hydrafacials, a private porch perfect for wedding days, and more! In the summer months, stroll, bike or shuttle to golf and tennis areas, restaurants, crystal-clear pools (3 outdoor, 1 indoor), two fitness centers, a cardio room, basketball court, picnic area, toddler playground and Blueberry Pond. Hop on a one of our new Freedom Flyer bikes at The Villages and coast along the historic, scenic 26-mile Cape Cod Bike and Rail Trail that meanders through Cape Cod villages and is dotted with ice cream parlors, antique shops, lobster, baseball games and more. Our convenient, all-day shuttle service is available in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Hotel Brewster
Ocean Edge Resort And Golf Club
Ocean Edge Hotel
Ocean Edge Resort Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Brewster Ma
The Villages At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing