We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family vacation place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I just returned from a 1 week stay at Britterage Villages. We had a 1 bedroom unit, with a kitchen, w/d etc. We had a wonderful stay, and enjoyed the resort very much. The resort is in a great location and is very lovely. There were a ton of families there which made it so fun for my kids. The housekeeping staff did a great job taking care of our room and when we asked about missing items in the kitchen, they immediately replaced items for us. My only complaint is...granted we stayed at Ocean Edge during a prime week in August, but for what what we paid (about $400 per night) I felt that the rooms should have been higher end. The rooms were probably redone not too long ago, but the decor was very basic, the curtains in our room had many oil stains on them, the carpet was stained in several areas and the the sofa and sofa-bed that my kids slept on was pretty well worn. There was also a broken part on our balcony too. The room was very clean however and overall we were very happy with our experience at Ocean Edge and we would definitely stay there again, but wish they would update their rooms and replace some worn items.

Room Tip: Not everyone has their private beach privileges. It depends on where you stay on the premises and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    253
    176
    117
    95
See reviews for
503
293
9
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Ocean Edge Resort on Cape Cod advertises as if it the entire resort has a scenic view of the ocean high up on a hill. Not true . We were part of a wedding party and therefore supposedly given discount rates which might have explained the lack of scenery. Although we were told we would have a view of the Jack Nicklaus golf course, it was in actuality a view of a parking lot, and with a stretch you could see the golf course. There were ocean views although we did not have one. Our room rates was over $385.00 for a one bedroom suite that resembled at best a 3 star hotel with the worst hotel bed I ever slept in requiring me eventually to sleep on the floor. Additionally, because this is a "resort " they charged an additional "resort fee" of $25 although we were not allowed to use the fitness center as it was for " members only". Golf fees extra. If you are looking for a family oriented facility in a condo style setting this might be the place. However, if your fantasy is a 4-5 star resort you might want to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Limdeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanWebb, Director of Sales at The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Villages at Ocean Edge. We are sorry you were disappointed with your accommodations. Ocean Edge is comprised of two entities; The Mansion at Ocean Edge and The Villages at Ocean Edge. We work very hard to be as descriptive as possible on our website about the types of accommodations guests can expect depending on where they choose to stay. Though certain accommodations on The Villages side may have a view of parking on one side, typically the balcony areas of those villas have golf course or pond views. It is simply not possible to provide parking close enough to be convenient and be totally out of view from at least one viewing point. There are no ocean views from The Villages side. This area of the resort is located across the street from the bay on the golf course, again, something we emphasize on the web site. Guests who choose The Villages often do so because the rates are lower than The Mansion side, and because The Villages is accessible to the Cape Cod Bike and Rail Trail (the bike path actually intersects through The Villages), our bike rental shop, the golf course and driving range, one indoor and two indoor pools, tennis courts, and the golf course, driving and practice range, as well as The Linx Restaurant and Tavern.

The Members Sports Club is open to all Ocean Edge Club Members, and guests at Ocean Edge can use the facility for a $25 daily fee. There is also a complimentary cardio center for all Ocean Edge guests at the Fletcher Tennis Complex on The Villages side. In addition, Village side guests side have access to all amenities on The Mansion side, including the Fitness Center, one indoor and outdoor pool, and have access to shuttle service providing transportation throughout the resort. In fact the ONLY amenity restricted to Villages side guests is the use of the private beach, because the beach cannot accommodate Mansion side and The Villages side guests comfortably. However, Villages side guests can purchase a beach pass from the Front Desk that provides them with access to six beautiful Brewster beaches and ponds. .

We thank you for your feedback and would be happy to discuss your stay with you further at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my husband and teenage daughter in a one bedroom villa in the Arbor village. I chose this side because of it's proximity to the pool and it was well located. The accomodation was lovely, spacious, bright and spotlessly clean and the washing machine and dryer were very welcome as we had just spent a week in NYC and needed to freshen up and chill out!
The resort is well located in the middle of the Cape and access was easy to Provincetown for whale watching and to Falmouth for ferries to Martha's Vineyard. My only gripe really is that as usual, the food outlets on the resort were very average and very overpriced so we had to go out every evening to eat. However, there are loads of great places to eat within a 10-15 minute drive and an excellent seafood restaurant opposite the main entrance to the villages so it didn't matter too much. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillieLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were married here in June, and it was outstanding. Even though the weather didn't cooperate, the staff was unbelievable. Our wedding coordinator, Stacy, was so accomodating and kept us at ease the whole weekend.

Property is gorgeous, food is top notch. Pricy, but what wouldn't be on the cape in the summer? the terrace bar at the mansion is amazing-a true show stopper for our after-party guests.

Highly recommend for any occasion, or a weekend getaway!

Room Tip: The Mansion hotel rooms are gorgeous but pricey. Villages are great. Britterage was remodeled not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elledigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Recently returned from a generally excellent stay at the Ocean Edge, Arbor Villages location.
We had a nice one bedroom suite for 3 nights. I really liked the place, but do have some quibbles, which I’ll point out below. I would go definitely go back, though.

I did find it frustrating that there was not a thorough listing of amenities on the website, so I’ll list them out. The usual bathroom stuff, soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion. Iron and ironing board. Ipod docking clock/radio in the bedroom only—bring your own speakers if you want music in the living room. Washer/dryer (again this is for the Arbor Villages units). No detergent supplied for the washing machine. Kitchen had dishwasher, full fridge, microwave. Great kitchen, but nothing to do with it! No dish soap or sponge! Very poor selection of cutlery and other cooking utensils. Towels available for the pool; I think you need to bring your own beach towels.

Annoyances (in the end, these are minor things, but I really expected better): No DVD player. I am a fan of limiting TV use on vacation, but c’mon. These are basically condos. What if you’re stuck with kids and several days of rain? Board games, books, etc, are great, but at a certain point you just want to watch a movie. I’ll also repeat our disappointment at the amount of cooking/eating supplies in the kitchen—really weak. Finally, the door covering the washer/dryer just plain came off the first day we were there. I told the front desk about it. Four days later, no one had fixed it.

Pool area was great. The grounds generally were in great shape. The Arbor Villages are near the “back entrance” to the resort. After checking in, you go through around 2 miles of speed bumps to get there. Get a good map of the Cape/Brewster, and use the back entrance as much as possible—you’ll spend less time getting to where you’re going on the main roads.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rantipole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Vermont
Level Contributor
207 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed two night in a 1 BR condo unit so as to be able to find one room that would hold 5 people. To that extent, this was a successful trip. The unit is well stocked and the living room is large enough for a fold out bed and a cot. The unit was also kept clean, and the appliances and dishes etc. are adequate. There is a nice swimming pool available, and a barely adequate eating place (Linx) across the way. All told, this place has a large, unmanaged "commodity" feel to it, with a general air of indifference toward its guests-- the staff means you no harm but it seems they feel that their lives would be simpler and better if you would just go away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ordinarymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Third stay at Ocean Edge previously stayed in the Condos this time opted to stay at the mansion to get beach access. The rooms and beds were comfortable, but the free wi-fi was non-existent. Had IT in our room for an hour and a half and it was never fixed during our 4 day stay. Couldn't use my hot spot as there is poor cell coverage too. Was mixing business and pleasure and traveling with teenagers so this was a huge issue. Consistent with our previous experience in the condos the AC does not work well and the rooms quickly become stuffy. Grounds are well groomed but this also means lawnmowers outside your room at 8 am on three of the four days. So much for relaxing coffee on the deck. Staff very nice and helpful. Beach is great with complimentary chair, umbrella and towels. At peak though the beach is crowded. Ate at Bayzo's and food was okay - standard hotel fare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
0.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
13.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
12.7 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
14.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Address: 2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631-1946
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly at Ocean Edge for best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Hotel Brewster
Ocean Edge Resort And Golf Club
Ocean Edge Hotel
Ocean Edge Resort Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Brewster Ma
The Villages At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing