We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service. Not worth the money.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service. Not worth the money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have stayed in this resort several times and it has always been nice. This time, there was no availability in the mansion so I had to stay in the villages. These rooms were disgusting. Large brown stains on furniture, thw hallway looks like a dirty motel room, no room service, a build up of bugs in the light fixtures, one small bed.....just disgusting. I called the front desk to ask for another room and again, nothing available. I told them my husband and I would like to stay at another resort for the remainder of the weekend and they informed us they would not be refunding our money. $300 per night. I recommend Chatham Bars Inn to anyone looking for a nice resort. Cheers!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikkiE33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    253
    176
    117
    95
See reviews for
503
293
9
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We went overnight for our Anniversary and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the mansion suite and it was very clean and relaxing. If you stay on the mansion side you have access to the beach. The sunset was amazing. We had dinner at the Tavern downstairs. The service was great and our waitress was very pleasant and friendly. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nashley1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our family just returned from a 5-night stay at the Ocean Edge Resort. We stayed in the Britteridge Villas. This was our 3rd stay in 4 years. Overall, it is a very nice resort, and we plan to go back! It feels comfortable, and the price is reasonable. The location worked well for us. Brewster is mid-cape-ish. We took a day trip to Plymouth, MA during our stay (40 minute ride for us) and daily trips to the northern National Seashore beaches (Head of the Meadow, Race Point) which was also about 40 minutes (in the opposite direction). Staying at the Villages side, we did not have daily access to the resort beach, but this was never an issue. We went to the beautiful National Seashore beaches during the day, or took trips into Chatham or Plymouth, and went to the Brewster beaches after 3pm (when there is no charge to park). The Villages side was quite quiet, and peaceful. Although we stayed at the Villages twice previously, we found this trip to be both familiar and new. The She Sells shop was new, and the adjoining Jomommas restaurant/coffee bar was amazing. We were initially disappointed that Ocean Edge removed the coffee shop/breakfast spot that was located next to the Britteridge pool and converted it to a member's fitness center. However, the helpful front desk staff recommended Jomomma's which was a quick drive (1-2 minutes) and had great coffee and quickish breakfast items including cinnamon rolls the kids loved. We also noticed, thanks to the facebook page, that the Ocean Edge offered a large variety of great family activities. Although many were to our liking, we only got around to doing one-the beachside campfire. The kids made smores. It was great to be on the beach at night. We definitely plan on exploring more of the resort's activities on future visits! We also went to the pool for the first time during this trip. We had always just focused on the beaches, but this time we decided to oblige our 8-year old pool-loving daughter and take a trip to the pool. We went to the Arbor Pool - it was HUGE and wonderful. There was an adjacent wading pool which our 3-year old son loved. All around the pool were plenty of lounge chairs. My husband and I were able to get a couple of beers at the pool, too which was nice. We enjoyed the pool so much, we went back a second time. The rooms were clean, and the beds were actually very comfortable! We enjoyed eating at Bayzo's Pub (twice) and going over to the mansion side to stroll around. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Staff were great, grounds were beautiful, and kudos to whomever takes the lead on the facebook site, because that person is doing a FANTASTIC job! BWe pretty much owe this last minute trip to the frequent posts, beautiful photos, and the facebook sale we took advantage of. The products (shampoo, soap, etc.) were outstanding-Olive Branch Botanicals which are formulated without sulfates, parabens, phthalates, etc. Very impressed by that.

There were a few things that could use improvement, as always, and I will list them here for what it's worth. (1) on previous stays, we had free wifi. This time, there was no free wifi. This was disappointing. We were not going to pay $10 per day. Just the point of it. Cell phone service in the rooms was also not great, but this is nothing the resort can do anything about, and wasn't such a huge deal. (2) There seemed to be an issue with the electricity in our room. First of all, the outlets in the bedroom were very "worn." So much so that the plug from my blow dryer kept falling right out of the wall as I blow dried my hair. My husband began to hold it in there for me because he was feeling bad for me. Haha. Also, every morning when blow drying my hair, I would trip the breaker. I tried turning off lights and such in the bedroom, and using other plugs, but it just didn't seem to help. It was probably the air conditioner? (3) Some minor house keeping issues. As we said earlier, the room was clean. We left a tip each night for the housekeeper along with a little thank you note, and the kids were delighted when the staff wrote a thank you back to us. Just a couple very minor things - We looked forward to getting the paper each day. (Silly, right? But who has time to read the paper at home, and since we couldn't use the wifi to read our smartphones, well, you get the idea). ANyway the first day we enjoyed the paper. The second day the housekeeper took the paper away before we opened and read it. The third day we did not get a paper at all. We also only got 2 washcloths the last 2 nights of our stay. We had a family of 4 staying there? Again, minor things.

We want to thank everyone at Ocean Edge for a wonderful stay, and look forward to coming again soon. Give the person who manages the facebook page a raise ;-) He/She is doing a fantastic job. Wish we would have made time to try yoga on the beach and SUP! Maybe next time......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrpReviwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Overall, Ocean's Edge was an excellent choice for a Labor Day weekend getaway for my family of four. With two young boys, the multiple pool options on the resort were key in keeping them entertained. Of course the close proximity to the cape's beaches also gave us additional choices for fun. The Villa rooms were simple but very clean and comfortable. And the mansion's Bayzo's Pub and Grill turned out to be a great restaurant for my wife and kids. The service was super friendly and professional. We just dreamed of coming back to have a beautiful dinner at dusk on the Ocean Terrace - without the kids! I thought overall, it was valued right except for the daily resort fee which was annoying.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grafton_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Rented a 2 bedroom condo on the mansion side of the property this past Labor day weekend, which entitles you to access to the private beach. The condo was very roomy and clean, with a well equipped kitchenette. They specialize and cater to Weddings, and our condo was directly across the outdoor tent used for receptions, so expect to hear deafening music till 10pm at night! Private beach access is very nice, they supply beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas. The outdoor patio bar and dining is very nice, but can get overcrowded due to large wedding overflows. Definitely a very nice upscale cape getaway, with little reason to go off the resort once you're there.

Room Tip: Condo rooms across from the function tent will be very noisy during wedding and corporate events!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family and I just returned from a week at Ocean Edge. We had a ball! The unit we stayed in at Arbor Village was immaculate. The grounds were meticulously maintained and the staff very accommodating. The kids activities were tons of fun and well spaced. We all loved the easy and safe access to the bike path. The choice of food and restaurants was excellent, you could grab a burger at the pool or pub, or go a bit fancier on the Terrace. Can't wait for next year!
JB and Family - Boston, MA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBWandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Unless you read carefully you'll arrive to discover that the resort's private sand beach is off limits to guests unless they are staying in the Deluxe Mansion Guestrooms.

We stayed in a villa which was quite a drive from the ocean, or anything else. The offer a shuttle bus that supposedly take you to a spot where you can walk to a public beach, but every time we passed the shuttle stop the people standing there were complaining about how long a wait it was for the shuttle.

Our room was a great disappointment... the couch was stained, surfaces were dirty, a table leg was broken. The room was missing its coffeemaker and when we requested one we were brought a coffeemaker with broken buttons. The kitchenette had a two burner stovetop but neither burner was attached. An easy fix, but hardly what you'd expect from a 4 star accommodation.

Over our stay we experienced common hallways full or dirt and debris, a vacuum cleaner left in the hall all day long, a hand towel left on the floor next to the toilet and facecloth stuck in the threshold of our door.

There were other minor things such as never getting a return call after leaving a message to about making an activity reservation and the concierge being confused about whether an activity department even had a phone number.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank blackpuppydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brewster hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
0.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
13.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
12.7 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
14.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Address: 2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631-1946
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly at Ocean Edge for best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Hotel Brewster
Ocean Edge Resort And Golf Club
Ocean Edge Hotel
Ocean Edge Resort Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Brewster Ma
The Villages At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing