We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Bethany, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unpleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were unpleasantly surprised about a few things we discovered while staying at Ocean Edge this July. We were not aware that we would be charge $20 per day plus tax for a "resort fee." This fee does not include wifi, for which they charge an additional $10 per day, and you also cannot use Ocean Edge's beach unless you are staying at the Mansion. I also reserved this place primarily as birthday present for my wife so should could use the extensive spa services described on Ocean Edge's website. Unfortunately, we learned that they no longer offer most of these services and advised her to go to a place in Chatham which was about 20 minutes away. The room itself was large and nice and the resort did have nice facilities, although not all facilities on the resort, such as certain gyms and pools, are available to hotel guests. All in all, we were disappointed and will not return to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Twindad92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    266
    193
    122
    100
See reviews for
545
305
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed at much nicer places for 1/4 of the price of the nightly room rate. Not to mention how expensive all the activities are! Stayed in the Arbor Villa. Beat up room. Dirty carpets. Scratched up dirty walls. Amenities were slim. Bed sagged in the middle. The prices for all the activities (golf, tennis, etc) are outrageous! If you are going to the cape, stay at a bed and breakfast. This place is over rated and over priced.

Room Tip: Maybe the hotel is better than the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mosfet32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanWebb, Director of Sales at The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Our guestrooms go through a rigorous preventative maintenance and deep cleaning process each winter. This process allows the resort to not only catch but address some of the items that you have noted above. As an example, the resort replaced all mattresses in Arbor less than a year ago. Some of the areas that you noted may have been caused by a previous guest. I only wish that you had brought some of these items to our attention so that we may have addressed same while you were on-property. We also take special care to ensure the cost of our activities is consistent with other resorts in the region. Golf green fees may seem exorbitant to some; however, the experience on our Nicklaus Design course is far superior to what you would experience at a local public course. There are many amenities and activities that we offer on a complimentary basis including our pools and many daily children’s activities on the Mansion front lawn.

I am sorry that your experience was not consistent with your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will contact me if you have future travel plans to Cape Cod as I would love to demonstrate that we are far better than your first impression of Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club.

Bryan Webb, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent 3 days at The Villages in July (I think the complex was called Britterige or something like that). and, thanks to all of the reviews and comments on Trip Advisor, we didn't have any surprises and were able to manage our expectations.

It's true that the Villages (a series of condos) is a bit of a letdown after you check in at The Mansion and take in the exquisite view off the terrace out back and the parklike setting out front. We did a "run of resort" booking, so I have no way of knowing if our condo experience was very typical or not but it was consistent with many of the reviews here.

On the plus side, it was very spacious for two people, had a decently equipped kitchen, a comfortable king bed and most exciting of all to us after being on the road in hotels for a week, its own washer and dryer!

The housekeeping was just fine except for one day when they forgot to stock the toilettries in the bathroom but a phone call very quickly rectified that. It was also nice and quiet, considering how many families were staying there.

On the down side, I can concur with many of the reviews that the furnishings were extremely dated and cheap looking - think Holiday Inn, circa 1992. I wasn't expecting knock-out decor but if our condo was any indication of what the rest of the units are like, some refurbishment is definitely in order.

Many reviewers have complained about the nickle and diming service fees at this resort and I have to say, it is a bit annoying. I would rather you built the price of the wi-fi and whatever that daily resort fee is suppose to cover, into the room rate. You also had to pay extra to use the Sports Club (!) but we managed to squeeze in a workout in the teeny, tiny fitness facility down the road near another complex.

Also, what's with the Maxwell House coffee in the kitchens? It's the little chintzy things like that that annoy customers. It doesn't need to be Starbucks (which we ended up picking up at the grocery store the second day) but surely you can aim a little higher. Perhaps put that daily resort fee towards buying better coffee...

We didn't get a chance to use the golf course but we did go for a long run around the grounds and it is very nicely landscaped with beautiful hydrangeas and other flowering shrubs. Very pretty indeed.

We only stopped in for drinks at the Ocean Terrace, so I can't comment on the food but the service was friendly and the setting is sublime. The Mansion grounds were about a 15 minute walk from our complex, so it was certainly doable. There is also a shuttle bus but we didn't need to avail ourselves of that.

Brewster is a good base from which to explore the Cape and we enjoyed our stay very much. Now, just fix that furniture!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDelicateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanWebb, Director of Sales at The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to submit your comments on TripAdvisor. Brewster/Ocean Edge is an ideal launching point for couples like you or even families who wish to explore all Cape Cod has to offer. The 22-mile Cape Cod Rail Trail dissects the resort allowing you to visit many points of the National Seashore. There are many convenient, local Brewster beaches within close proximity including the pristine Crosby landing. You also have access to the many Village-side amenities such as Nicklaus golf, tennis and three pools one of which is indoor. We were thrilled to read you enjoyed the setting but wish your guestroom experience was on par with our expectation. I would love to speak with you in greater detail about which guestroom you were assigned so that we may investigate further.

The resort implemented fees for the Wireless Internet service as a means of protecting our Wireless Internet infrastructure and offering better service to all. To date, the resort has made a significant investment to improve wireless service throughout our 429 acre resort. On average, a typical family has between 4-6 devices that access the internet including Ipads, tablets or phones. The system simply could not handle the burden of 6 devices for 300+ guestroom simulatanously accessing the Internet. Charging allows the service to be offered and limits the number of individuals on the system at any given time and ensuring a better experience and faster service for all.

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely value it and appreciate your time. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and hope the opportunity presents itself where we may serve you again.

Bryan Webb, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great service, beautiful facility, responsive staff, excellent food, gorgeous golf course..... just to list a few of my thoughts. We have stayed at various rental houses on the Cape each summer for the past 12 years. This was our first time staying at a resort, and I highly recommend it. Daily cleaning service, clean fresh towels, newspaper delivery.... it was so enjoyable. We found the staff and management to be extremely helpful and MORE THAN WILLING to make our visit pleasurable and comfortable. THANK YOU to everyone at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Banks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanWebb, Director of Sales at The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and for taking time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. Your experience is exactly what we want all of our guests to experience during their stay. We look forward to your return trip!

Bryan Webb, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I am member of the Club at Ocean Edge and a condo owner in the Villages. I haven't been over to Bayzo's Pub in a while. The last time we were there we popped in for a grilled cheese sandwich with my four year old son. This time we had appetizers and drinks and the waitress Lori remembered us! The service was amazing and the food and drinks were just what we were looking for. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn4076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanWebb, Director of Sales at The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. As a member, you have seen first-hand the many improvements that we have made throughout the property over the past several years. Outside of the physical attribute improvements, focusing on service and delivery are at the top of our list. We were all thrilled to read that we exceeded you expectations on this occasion. We look forward to seeing you around the property this summer and for many years to come!

Bryan Webb, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We returned to Ocean Edge in July for our second stay as a family of four. It was a phenomenal visit and we continue to recommend the resort to our friends and neighbors.

Our family is particular and our hotel choice tends to make or break our vacation, especially from the perspectives of cleanliness (not just housekeeping but the quality and age of room furnishings), service (people we interact with), and overall ambiance. Ocean Edge scores high on all three.

Our children, 9 and 6, love the many swimming pools at Ocean Edge with poolside snack bars (snacks are reasonably priced), friendly lifeguards, clean restrooms, and towel service. The water was warm and the pools are lushly landscaped, inviting places to spend the day. There were always chairs and towels available. We also liked the convenience of on-site bicycle rental as the hotel is sited directly on an outstanding bike trail that runs for miles in either direction with convenient stops along the way at beaches and restaurants.

Ocean Edge also offers a roster of activities every day (though we were too lazy to partake!).

It's impossible to anticipate the crowd when perusing websites and online photos, but I can tell you the other guests at Ocean Edge were respectful, decent people. There was no element of boorish behavior nor was there any pretension - the resort attracts a solidly nice crowd.

We've stayed on both the villages side and mansion side. The mansion side has the obvious advantage of beach access for guests on that side. I can't overstate how wonderful the beach is - staffed by friendly attendants who accompanied us to our chosen spot to put out chairs and umbrellas whenever we arrived. There was no lingering for tips though they're gladly accepted. Being on the bay the water is warm and tranquil and the sand is soft and beautiful. On the villages side we enjoyed the one bedroom unit we were assigned with the convenience of a kitchen; it was much better than staying in the confines of a standard hotel room on vacation.

We look forward to returning again and highly recommend Ocean Edge.

PS - If you're a coffee drinker, spare yourself the search and head straight for Jo Mama's at 2740 Main St in Brewster, next to the entrance of the villages.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiztravelguyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanWebb, Director of Sales at The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your kind words and feedback on TripAdvisor. We use this as fuel to energize us for the busy months ahead. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and look forward to the opportunity of serving you and your family on your third visit and hopefully many more to come.

Bryan Webb, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have been sending 12 to 16 golfers to Ocean's Edge in the Spring for over twenty years and we can say we are never dissapointed.

The latest Group Sales Manager, Helena Webster is a new found gem for the resort and did a terrific job for us. The people at Registration and all the wait staff are always nothing but kind and cordial.

The Golf course is one of the best we play all year long. The pro and all the guys at the pro shop are first class.

As always we are looking forward to our annual Spring golf outing next year.

Thanks to "The Edge" and all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
0.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.5 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
684 reviews
13.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
600 reviews
11.8 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Address: 2907 Main Street, Route 6A, Brewster, MA 02631-1946
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brewster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us directly at Ocean Edge for best rates. Our Villages side spans 380 emerald acres that are as friendly to walk as to bike. Spacious 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom villas welcome you with chic, quintessentially Cape Cod décor. Just outside your door awaits the finest in golf and tennis, from our private Nicklaus Design golf course, driving range and putting green, accessible to Members and Ocean Edge guests only, to 9 tennis courts. Guests will also enjoy our new Beach House Spa, which offers massages, pedicures, manicures, hydrafacials, a private porch perfect for wedding days, and more! In the summer months, stroll, bike or shuttle to golf and tennis areas, restaurants, crystal-clear pools (3 outdoor, 1 indoor), two fitness centers, a cardio room, basketball court, picnic area, toddler playground and Blueberry Pond. Hop on a one of our new Freedom Flyer bikes at The Villages and coast along the historic, scenic 26-mile Cape Cod Bike and Rail Trail that meanders through Cape Cod villages and is dotted with ice cream parlors, antique shops, lobster, baseball games and more. Our convenient, all-day shuttle service is available in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Hotel Brewster
Ocean Edge Resort And Golf Club
Ocean Edge Hotel
Ocean Edge Resort Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Cape Cod
Ocean Edge Brewster Ma
The Villages At Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club Brewster, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing