We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ruddy Turnstone
Nearby Hotels
$145
OceanEdge.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skaket Beach Motel(Orleans)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn(Orleans)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$425
$395
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Orleans)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$75
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pleasant Bay Village(Chatham)(Great Value!)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
44
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay roomcape codromantic weekendplace to staybeach chairswonderful hostsbrentmarshcottagepropertycomfortamenitiesconvenienceplantingocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 46 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in mid June 2013. It was a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing in the busier sections of the Cape. It's on the North side away from the noisy areas, but it is only 10 - 15 minutes to get to those places. Owners were very nice and not intrusive. The Bay Room was perfect, clean and quiet with it's own private deck. Very peaceful to sit and watch the marsh and birds in the morning and after a day running around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turnstoneinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

The Bay Room is one of my personal favorites and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the room. Peace and quiet is our goal and the Inn is located perfectly for those seeking a private place to enjoy without intrusions. We hope to see you on your next visit to Cape Cod!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having spent ten days travelling through New England and staying at some fabulous bed and breakfasts we wanted to experience something a little different in Cape Cod so we opted for The Cottage at the Ruddy Turnstone in Brewster. It's not a bed and breakfast, its really a chance to have your own little home on the very quiet side of the Cape, overlooking a large salt marsh with distant views of the ocean. There's a small kitchen area with coffee maker, fridge and little tabletop oven ( milk, tea and coffee provided) so you can shop like a native Cape Codder in the local store. If the weather had been kinder during our stay we would've taken advantage of the chairs in the garden and eaten al fresco. As it was, we relaxed in the little sitting area in our room and enjoyed a glass or two of wine, much needed after our hectic itinerary in New England. I managed to leave my handbag at the cottage and Brent the owner is kindly sending it to the UK for me, thanks! Brewster itself is a very quiet part of the Cape but being in the middle part is good for accessing all the sights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cezmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turnstoneinn, Public Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

I'm so glad that you took the time to write a review and more so that you had a great stay with us!
We try to make a place were you can feel at home while on vacation and I am very happy that we did so. I will work on the weather for your return visit and I hope that you got your purse back safely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is rare that an accomodation experience is truly as peaceful and comfortable as we would wish, but that is the case at this lovely, lovely inn. Our spacious and immaculate room had a million dollar view, and its own little private deck. The property is gorgeous, and although on Rt. 6, set back from the road far enough that the only sounds we heard were the birds. The decor is tasteful and understated, yet consistent with the traditional charm we expect on Cape Cod. The mini kitchen, with microwave, fridge, coffeemaker and dishware enabled us to just eat in after a long day of outdoor activities - or snack at night! Importantly, the bed was nice and firm, and the linens fresh and soft.

The location is ideal - we were never more than a few minutes from anything, and there are numerous nice restaurants and great breakfast places on either side of us. Brent and Abigail were extremely helpful and accurate with suggestions when we asked, and we look forward to another stay soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandP002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turnstoneinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We couldnt be more happy to hear that the goals that we had for the Inn hit the mark for you!
A peaceful, private and comfortable stay is what we hope that all of our guests will have and it sounds as though we gave you that oppurtunityto have that experience. We try to be somewhere between a hotel room and a B&B with some of the amenities of renting a home, I am happy to hear that our idea for a new type of room was appreciated. We hope to see you again sometime in the future and THANK YOU for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I forgot to write a review after our stay last summer but I'm starting to make summer travel plans for Cape Cod this summer and I can't wait to book The Ruddy Turnstone. We had a great experience at here last summer and can't wait to go back. This place is the best kept secret on the cape (selfishly I hope it stays that way) but Brent deserves all the recognition for developing such a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_Alli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turnstoneinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are planning to return! I hope that we can recreate your experience and even improve on it. We have added some extra amenities to make the time here more enjoyable, we look forward to having you back to test our new ideas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had such a great trip to the Cape and mostly because we stayed at the Ruddy Turnstone! There is a million dollar view, exceptionally clean rooms, and fantastic people. We sat with our coffee and newspaper in the adirondack chairs on a gorgeously quiet morning over looking the bay while listening to the birds chirping. After spending a day exploring the Cape we came back to our clean and quiet room with all the amenities you would ever need. We slept like babies in the cozy beds and couldn't wait to repeat it all over again! We will return very soon!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turnstoneinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruddy Turnstone, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! The weather was nice to cooperate this early so you could sit and enjoy the view. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews