We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, but nothing to write home about.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Braintree
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked this as an economic choice that offered access to major highways and reasonably close to Boston and Cape Cod. It met those objectives, and as a disclaimer, I'll acknowledge the motel was over-booked, and the staff seemed genuinely trying to please. On checking in, we found we didn't get the one-bedroom "suite" we requested that would have offered a sleeper sofa. The mgr did quickly come up with a roll-away, but that did cramp us a bit. Also only 2 sets of towels, and there were no more to be had until very late that night or early next AM. Fortunately, that worked for us.

We also had an issue with the air conditioning that didn't seem to work very well with the on-wall thermostat, and although the unit was originally designed for manual controls, the control knobs were not present. We had to work with either too cold or too warm for the weekend. A door that required some forceful closing to engage the lock probably didn't go over well with the neighbors.

The motel is conveniently located near major highways, and access toward Boston & Cape Cod is pretty straight forward. Going into Boston, you are subject to the vagaries of rush hour traffic patterns, but it's reasonably close to the T, and that beats driving into Boston if you don't have to drive. There's a decent mall close by, and dining ranging from decent to higher end is also close. The little pantry mentioned by another is convenient, with complementary coffee and other odds & ends for reasonable prices. Exercise room and laundry are also nice, and the in-room kitchen is adequate. Overall, the facility seems to cater to the business traveler, but a vacationing family can find some value there.

Motel does have some repair/renovation going on, so hopefully, some of our issues will be addressed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Steve S,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate the location of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations with the condition of our facilities. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 244 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel was very clean, quiet, and comfy. It was close to the interstate and other popular attractions without being right in the middle of Boston. Loved the kitchen so we could cook rather than eat out constantly. Great workout room. Staff was very nice. The only thing I didn't like is housekeeping doesn't come daily so we had to go find clean towels every morning, which was difficult a couple days. Very happy with it, though. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel has very easy access from the highway and driving into downtown Boston was easy. Excellent kitchenette, and very spacious rooms. Seemed very clean and was in fairly good repair. Staff was very efficient. If you are traveling for an event or business this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have been out East for 5 weeks and have had 3 bad ones. This one is on the side of the A1+ good ones. Full small kitchen, full size refrigerator, a honor system small store (so if you need and food or toiletries), and just real nice accommodations. For those who complain, I would think they would find something wrong to be negative. I would stay here if I were visiting Boston because the public transportation is well organized. So, each to their own. For anywhere in thos area, this place is for me. Last, the bed was perfect. If you want an ocean view, like in Boston, find a room for $2 to $300 and enjoy. The rooms are quiet.

FA and LA FARGO ND

Room Tip: CHECK TRIP ADVISOR. I DID NOT AND GOT BURNED BIG TIME. I am also going to begin send a certified le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you are OK with being a distance from downtown Boston this is a great place to stay. I can't speak for all the room in this hotel but ours was obviously designed for an extended stay guest. It included a microwave, a 2-burner electric stove (with a countdown timer so you don't burn the place down), a full-size refrigerator, a large desk, comfortable office chairs, and free wi-fi. But the nicest surprise was a well-stocked general store on the premises. This save me a trip to the drug store to get a toothbrush and disposable razor which I forgot to bring. They also stock food items for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can even check out a crock pot and make a nice beef stew! Gas barbecues are located outside on the patio. Just add your meat of choice and its just like home.
As I mentioned this establishment is not real close to Boston, but it doesn't have the higher prices of places nearer the city. If you can live with that you'll have a real winner here.
My only complaint and the reason I didn't give it 5 stars is, on our last night, the staff had to use the dryers in the guest laundry room (yes, you can do laundry onsite for free), and as our room was right above, the noise kept us awake a good part of the night. After notifying the hotel of the problem, they provided a mutually satisfying compensation offer which put the smiles back on our faces. This was a temporary problem so I doubt anyone else will experience this annoyance.

Room Tip: Staying away from the second floor over the laundry room would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here one night after flying into Boston later at night. We were heading to Cape Cod in the morning and wanted something south of the city for the night, so we were headed in the right direction. I booked this through Priceline and got a decent deal for the area. I would not stay here if visiting Boston (pay more money to be in the city...it's worth the convenience). Also, our room was directly off the lobby (if I stepped outside the door I was practically at the front desk) and there was a work group having a work "meeting" in the lobby until around 11 or 11:30 at night. The walls were definitely very thin and for light sleepers, the lobby noise would definitely be a problem. For our one night stop, this hotel worked fine.

Room Tip: Avoid a room directly off the lobby...lots of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateben05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear kateben05,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room assignment prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel, in my opinion is the best one in the whole Boston area. I have stayed in it for both business and pleasure many times. The price is really good, its clean and fresh looking. There are tons of amenities (store, gym, laundry) The staff can't do enough to help you make your stay as comfortable as possible. The staff here is awesome especially Jake, Kemi and Jarod. The manager Brandi runs the hotel very well, and should teach other hotel managers how to run their hotel like a well oiled machine with a homelike feeling ! As a person who is hard to please, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying for business of pleasure !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James40779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston Braintree
0.2 mi away
Beantown Inn
Beantown Inn
#5 of 7 in Braintree
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Boston - Braintree
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Braintree
1.3 mi away
Boston Marriott Quincy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree

Address: 235 Wood Rd, Braintree, MA 02184-2407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Braintree
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range: $106 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.The Candlewood Suites Boston-Braintree Hotel is conveniently located just off of Route 93 in the Quincy/Braintree area and just minutes from Public Transportation, Boston's Logan Airport, Boston Convention and Exhibition Center and Downtown Boston. We are an all-suites property, with both Studio and One-Bedroom Suites . Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full-size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check e-mail and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed leather recliner while you enjoy the DVD/VCR Player. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Candlewood Suites is close to Boston area attractions such as Fenway Park, the Freedom Trail, the USS Constitution, Boston Common, Harvard, MIT, Curry College and Faneuil Hall. Patriots football, Red Sox baseball, Celtics basketball, Bruins hockey and Revolution soccer are a quick ride away. The Candlewood Suites Boston-Braintree Hotel is also a short drive to Quincy, Plymouth, Cape Cod, Providence, Newport, Salem, Wrentham Outletsand many other places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree Hotel Braintree
Candlewood Suites Braintree
Candlewood Braintree
Braintree Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing