We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs”
Review of Beantown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beantown Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Braintree
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was there for a family emergency and now have Bed Bug bites. Anyone know if there is any legal action? I have to tear up the entire house and can't sleep due to the stress. Has anyone else experienced this?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Beantown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Christine I,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 215 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed recently in this hotel. They let us check in early and were on the ball with making sure the in-room fridge was cool for my medication. The lobby is clean, the room was spotless, and the beds were big and comfortable. The soap and lotion they supplied smelled great as well (the body lotion was a cinnamon scent).

The morning breakfast (which is free) had eggs, sausage, yogurt, cereal, bananas, toast, cinnamon rolls, and a cool high-tech "make your own pancake with the push of a button" station. They had coffee, juice, and milk to drink.

On the downside, the bathroom area was VERY small, and the shower/tub took some time to drain after use. Also, when people flush toilets you can hear it through the walls. (Neither a major issue, but the only things I'd list as cons!) I also heard people having loud physical relations one night when going to my room, but lucky for me, I was on the wrong floor! I was able to walk away and not have to listen to it. I think this is standard for hotels though, and not the fault of the business at all.

We had a parking space, the a/c in the room worked well, the TV was large, the cleaning staff does a great job,the beds were amazing and comfy, the elevators worked well and were clean, the breakfast was awesome, and all in all this is a place I would stay again. (Even though they have no pool or hot tub). To be honest, it was head and shoulders above what I thought it would be. This is someplace to recommend to a friend. You get your money's worth with no question.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msspungen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Chose this hotel because it was near the T line (specifically Quincy Adams stop). There was supposedly a shuttle to the T station but it stopped service at 4p.m. so we opted to drive the 5 minutes and pay $7. (flat rate per day - no in and out privileges). Ride on the T was about 30 minutes to Boston Common which was a convenient stop for the Theater District as well as the Freedom Trail.
We stayed 4 nights - breakfast was adequate. They were having problems with the washing machine on premises during our stay - determined that the mechanical coin operator only recorded coins intermittently and was a frustrating exercise to get one load of laundry completed. Many lost quarters later we tried to find a local laundromat which wasn't successful.
All in all it was an enjoyable stay and would stay again when considering the cost in comparison to those downtown. Service staff was pleasant and helpful. There was no charge for parking at the hotel, no charge for breakfast.
We took advantage of the week long pass for the T ($15 for adults, kids under 12 are free) and even took a ferry ride which was included in the pass. Do not recommend driving into town as traffic was a nightmare - both on the weekend and weekdays.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The facility is reasonably clean but more attention needs to be paid in this area...carpets cleaned in the hallways...the AC Unit!!!! Otherwise the room was cleaned well and desk service was very good.The sink is in the main room area ...a real negative when traveling with someone with different habits.Everything worked as expected

Room Tip: I was by the elevator and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonefxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We (family of four) stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Braintree for one night while visiting Boston for a Red Sox Game. The hotel was clean, the room was large and the beds were very comfortable. There was a fridge and microwave in the room. The bathroom had a toilet and tub/shower combination and it was tight. The sink outside of the room had a large vanity area and served its purpose. The breakfast was good - scrambled eggs, toast, bagels, biscuits, sausage, yogourt, milk, coffee and juices and we all left feeling satisfied. The pancake maker was broken when we were there. We took the free shuttle to the Quincy Adams T station and it didn't run past 6pm so we took a cab back to the hotel and that cost $12.00. We would definitely stay here again! Very satisfied!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debilena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Traveling in the area, we chose to check in at this motel and were surprised at the rate quoted. We had checked prior and found their rate to be in the 159.00 range, but the front desk quoted us 279.00. When questioned, the desk clerk, who was very cordial, said in effect, there is one room left, take it or leave it! After some whining on my part, she did drop her price 30.00, but the room was still seriously overpriced.

We are frequent travelers and stay with this chain often, but we will not be back here ever again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank gramps-nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Beantown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear gramps-nanna,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the price you paid. Room rates do vary depending on the demand without prior notice. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here on arrival in the US so that we could visit Boston. As we had a car we decided to stay a little way out of the town.This was perfect, the hotel was very clean, breakfasts were lovely and the staff very helpful. We had to extend our stay for a day due to problems with our hire car and despite being virtually full we were able to stay in our original room. It is very easy to get to Quincy Adams station which goes to any of the central stations and there are a selection of restaurants in the lovely shopping mall very close by.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uktravellerHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston Braintree
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boston Marriott Quincy
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Boston - Braintree
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Braintree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beantown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beantown Inn

Address: 190 Wood Rd, Braintree, MA 02184-2502 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Braintree)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Braintree
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range: $136 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beantown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Beantown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Braintree Hotel Braintree
Holiday Inn Braintree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing