We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went Twice for Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's American Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Joe's American Bar & Grill
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Located in the South Shore Plaza
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Went Twice for Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great menu, in that there's something for everyone. The sweet potato French fries - some of the best I've had. The chopped salad with chicken was great. The warm bread and butter was addictive. Lively crowd and quick service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    44
    22
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Busy, Busy Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

A huge restaurant in the mall. Noise level was a bit high. The food was served quickly and the staff was friendly. This was our first experience here. There absolutely was nothing wrong, we would just prefer a quieter more relaxed setting!
I had the fish sandwich which was truly large and a lot of bread. My husband had a cheeseburger again HUGE! A place to try!m

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Michelle was a great friendly server as was all the staff. Great fresh meal. Every one was very happy with the food. Burger, Ahi. Salad and macaroni and cheese with bacon. We started with the Buffalo wings. Everything was fresh and cooked to perfection. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank 35yearsMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stopped off in Braintree for a late evening dinner while traveling from Rhode Island to Boston. The exit had a variety of chain restaurants, but we were unfamiliar with Joe's American Grill. Based on its location next to a Cheesecake Factory, it appeared to be another massive chain, but it looks like it's only located in MA at this point.
I have Celiac Disease and it can be difficult finding food off of highway exits, but Joe's was a pleasant surprise. Our waitress was super sweet and really helpful with menu options. It appears as though Joe's does a great job of training their staff and helping them to understand some of the complexities of food allergies/sensitivities.
I had the Prime Rib French Dip on gluten free bread and it was delicious. The bread was soft and worked well, especially when dipping the sandwich into the au jus. Kudos to Joe's for not only creating alternative dishes for folks like me, but for going a step ahead in providing an opportunity to eat a sandwich or burger with a quality bun.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cobmets8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive Lunch....slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I would probably not go back to this restaraunt food was ok but for 2 adults and a teenager the bill came to $90.00 with tip for lunch! Not to mention we sat there for a good 20 minutes before someone even took our drink order.People seated after us were being served before us. I think the waitstaff was confused on who was taking care of us as many servers just kept walking by us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's American Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing