We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another good meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legal Sea Foods - CLOSED

Legal Sea Foods
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The signature dish at Legal Sea Foods – really fresh fish. Get reeled in to our U-shaped bar or wood-paneled dining room. Those traveling to and from Cape Cod on Route 93 are known to make a stopover for seafood. And not to be missed: two monumental fish tanks in our restaurant, one fresh water and one salt water. We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Boston Phoenix, 2009) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
409 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Another good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This venue remains a local favorite. No complaints on quality of food or service. The staff are always friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good, but not the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

LS has a great reputation, but living on the coast of Mass. we have years of experience with fresh seafood. I would rate them 4 stars out of 5. Food is very, very fresh but not the best we've had. I agree with another reviewer that it is loud and almost always very busy. Parking is difficult. We had the fish chowder and it was a little disappointing - good but not as great as it touted to be. I had the seafood casserole and it was really good and incredibly fresh. Service is a bit rushed and a little pushy at times. Bottom line - the parking problem alone limits our visits to LS.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank calvarymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have dined at this Legal location on several occasions. Have never had a bad experience. My most recent dining experience was no different. Started with an appetizer of Rhode Island style calamari. Delish! For an entree I ordered a grilled striped bass. My bass was accompanied by a creamy, perfectly cooked risotto and roasted brussels sprouts. Excellent dish. My dining partner ordered a stuffed trout. Trout was stuffed with a shrimp, cornbread and bacon stuffing, served over a beautiful bed of greens. The greens had a wonderful smokey flavor to them. A phenomenal presentation and oh sooo good! Service was outstanding.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyjean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
351 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Creative flair with the "specials"...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stopped here for dinner after shopping at the South Shore Plaza Mall. The dinner wasn't planned but we have enjoyed many gatherings at this particular LSF location. This restaurant will be moving to another location in the near future. However, the quality of food and service is consistent. For an unplanned dinner out, our visit to LSF was a terrific treat that capped a very nice day.
For starters, we enjoyed a terrific calamari appetizer, 'Rhode Island style'...a heaping serving with an abundance of spicy peppers.
For entrees, I ordered a remarkable stuffed trout dinner...a large fish, split in half and loaded with a shrimp, bacon and cornbread stuffing; served over some sautéed greens. This generous entree was incredibly flavorful with a southern style smokiness that went well with my refreshing draught beer.
My dining companion ordered the striped bass special that came with a rich risotto...also an amazing pairing and very flavorful. She enjoyed a chilled and refreshing Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay with her dinner.
Our server was very helpful and courteous and quick to offer suggestions with a friendly smile. Other LSF staff associates were cordial as well.
Both meals were reasonably priced and presented with artistic flair. We look forward to visiting the new location and expect the quality tradition will continue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThinkingOutLoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lived here my whole life and never gave it a try 'til now”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went with my brother and parents for dinner one weekend. None of them even knew there was a Legal Sea Foods in the mall. We didn't have to wait for a table even thought it was a Saturday night. Being from around here, I always scoffed it's a tourist trap but I was pleasantly surprised. The prices were not as outrageous as I had thought, but then again this location is perhaps not as pricey an area as Boston would be. Anyways, I was surprised my scallops and shrimp were big and juicy. My brother enjoyed his swordfish, my mom enjoyed the Fisherman's Platter, and my dad loved the clam chowder and he's usually very snooty about good clam chowder recipes!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GetAwayFromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legal Sea Foods also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing