We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better breakfast at IHOP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kristen's

Kristen's
Ranked #21 of 137 Restaurants in Braintree
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: BREAKFAST AND LUNCH
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Better breakfast at IHOP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Waited over a half hour to be seated. Then waited 20 minutes for waitress to bring menus. Another 10 minutes for coffee. I ordered bacon and homefries and my husband ordered bagel sandwich. fried. Not a complicated order! 30 minutes later aw we were standing to walk out our food arrived cold!!!!!!!!!!!!! Stay far away from this place. Have lost all faith in Phantom Gourmet reviews.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Place for Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Kristen's is a family restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch. There was a 15-20 minute wait on Saturday morning. The tables are close together and there is also a counter space which is first come first served. Kristens has a variety of approximatley 30 types of pancakes. One of my party got the pumking pancakes and said they were quite good. Another person got their 2-2-2; two eggs, two bacon, and two pancakes. If you order the specialty pancakes the cost of the meal goes up a little, which the waitress didn't tell us but seemed obvious to me (if not my dining companion). Her meal was good as well. I got an omlette with cheese, tomato, and sausage and it was cooked well and just as I liked it, served with a side of toast and home fries. The wait staff are busy but friendly and although there was a line waiting we never felt rushed. We received beverage refills in a timely fashion. I will definitely return!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louvrelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small town yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Kristin's is a small town cute diner. Friendly staff. Immaculately clean. We had breakfast and it was delicious. Good home cooking in a restaurant. When in MA, we'll return!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenBug55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A lot of hype for nothing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stick to the basic simple stuff, and you may be OK. The waitresses push the specialty items, and we should have resisted even though these sound yummy.
Cornmeal pancakes, are so dense, it's like eating cardboard.Stay away from these!Maple syrup is extra charge-otherwise they give you that awful cornsyrup flavoured with chemicals. Eggs are left too runny,even when ordered "over".The blasting a/c means that your breakfast is cold about 10 seconds after being placed on your table.Do you want to eat cold,congealing bacon, eggs, pancakes etc? I didnt think so.Coffee is poor- why not upgrade ,even if you have to charge more for it?Warm,brown liquid that has no coffee flavour is never nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catoelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best breakfast place around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Kristens always has such a long wait, but it is well worth it. Their food is great, especially the omlettes, and their pancakes, whic have many unique flavors.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SurfDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kristen's also viewed

 

Been to Kristen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing