We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Boston South - Braintree
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Braintree
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent place”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here because everything else is so expensive. It is a quality place right across the street from the subway. It was fairly clean and the rooms were decent. There was a lot of police activity in the area, not sure if this is where they are based. Overall, a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    69
    84
    42
    36
See reviews for
52
87
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Decided to make a snap trip to Boston in August, which means that most available hotels were way too expensive. As our budget was a real concern we stayed at this Motel 6 location. The big sell for us (besides the price) was its location right across the street from the Braintree T station. This made our trip into the city a breeze and we didn't have to worry about paying for parking or dealing with Boston's notorious traffic. The front desk was very nice and even said we could keep our car in the parking lot after we checked out, if we wanted to trek into the city for the day. The rooms were updated in what is becoming the new Motel 6 Ikea-esque style. The room was clean and we did not have any problems in that regard. The drawbacks we experienced: there wasn't much in the way of food choices in the immediate walking area. If we choose to drive, we could find a Burger King and a few other restaurants but nothing that served a decent breakfast. Another drawback was the bed. It was suppose to be a queen sized bed, but it seemed rather small for one. I ended up sleeping in an awkward position and that resulted in back problems after the second night. Bottom line, I would stay here again, though I would rather stay in the city and not need to commute. However, if the hotels in town are booked or very expensive, then I would check in here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPLS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, even though the reviews have been positive.
After checking in, we went to our room. There were BUGS flying out of the sink. I called the front desk and asked for maintenance or bug spray, which they had neither of. The front desk said they would give us another room. We said we wanted to check that room out first and lo and behold - there was a USED condom in the garbage can!! Went back to the front desk and they refunded our money. (I even gave them the gargage bag as proof). We then went to the Holiday Inn (the only place that had a room open due to as Red Sox /Yankee game) and had to spend an extra $85 (total $201) for the room, At least that room was clean with no bugs and used condoms in the garbage. While I understand that Motel 6's are cheap hotels, there should still be a standard for cleanliness, insect free and stench proof rooms. Makes me wonder what other critters are there or what they are trying to cover up. Called customer service and explained what happened and they said they would get back to me in 2 weeks:( WOW, they must either have quiet a few complaints or they are just pulling my leg and won't return my call.

Room Tip: if you stay here - check your sinks and garbage cans first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Braintree hotels

New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

This Motel 6 is quite a step above the rest. The rooms have a European feel to the updated decor, and are quite clean. However, for a $90 per night room, it should be. Granted, if you are just there to sleep, this is a bargain against the typical $100 per star per night area hotels in the City. The "T" doesn't get much closer than across the street, which takes you anywhere. A room with a view of the landfill (capped) in the rear was superior due to it being on the quieter side of the building.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FLBUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Good price, close and I mean very close to the subway station for Braintree. However there is no sidewalk in front of it and it's hard to walk to the station and cross the street. It's no frills, it's Motel 6. Staff was very helpful as the hotel was very full due to a tour group. Only down fall was that the beautiful hill I saw outside the window was a landfull so I was rather happy the window didn't open.

Room Tip: if you want a spacific room like a second floor ask on reservation not when you get there as the ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Was looking for a place close to subway after busing it into Boston. This motel was what I needed, clean & reasonably priced for the Boston area. Subway is right across the street & gets you to Boston in about a half hour depending on the stop. Great if you don't want to deal with driving. Just have to factor in the extra travel time via subway. Also be aware the subways stop service a little after midnight so if you like late nights this place may not work. There is a supermarket less than 10 min. walk & a Dunkin Donuts about 5 min. walk away. Room was clean but spartan with no clock or hair dryer or shampoo but did have soap. Staff was helpful with questions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Wayne, Ind
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

NO frills motel room, no hairdryer, no breakfast, no coffee maker (coffee available in office) but clean and comfortable. We carry our own breakfast, drinks and hairdryer. Boston hotels were too expensive for our budget so we stayed here and took the train into the city which worked out very well for us. Easy access to the motel from the highway and just a short walk to the train. Senior discount available at booking only. Would recommend to other budget travelers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsFtWayne_Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree
2.1 mi away
Beantown Inn
Beantown Inn
#4 of 7 in Braintree
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston Braintree
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Quincy
1.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Quincy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Boston South - Braintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Boston South - Braintree

Property: Motel 6 Boston South - Braintree
Address: 125 Union St, Braintree, MA 02184-5712
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Braintree
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Boston South - Braintree 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Boston South - Braintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Boston - Braintree Hotel Braintree
Motel 6 Braintree
Motel Six Braintree
Braintree Motel Six
Braintree Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing