We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tower Hill a little bit of heaven”

Tower Hill Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Boylston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tower Hill Botanic Garden is New England's year-round botanic garden, a living museum of plants exquisite in every season. Several distinctive gardens arrange plants according to an overall Master Plan, that includes a Lawn Garden, Secret Garden, Systematic Garden, Cottage & Vegetable Garden, Wildlife Refuge Pond, Winter Garden, and more. Two conservatories--the Orangerie and the Limonaia--display non-hardy plants in winter, with blooming flowers in every season. Springtime brings more than a quarter million flowering bulbs, including a signature field of more than 25,000 daffodils.
lbrigham47@aol.com
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tower Hill a little bit of heaven”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I don't visit often enough, but every time I do there is something new and different. They just completed an extensive addition. Spring time is wonderful there with all the daffodils, there must be hundreds of them. Then there is the view of Wachusett Reservoir and Mt Wachusett. The variety of plants is incredible. I have been a member for many years and have attended many of their shows. Holly days was amazing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindabuslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    73
    9
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing year-round”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Tower Hill has something to offer at any time of year. In the winter the Orangerie and the Lemonia are filled with plants and they have many different flower shows. From Spring, through Summer and Fall, the gardens change from week to week (and sometimes day to day). Hiking trails are wonderful and some overlook the Wachusett reservoir, Wachusett Mtn. and Mt. Monadnock in NH. Check out their website for programs.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcia05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boylston
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL PEACEFUL GROUNDS”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The grounds, apple trees, children's vegetable garden, sooo many plants & varieties are growing everywhere...Walk thru the woods on a gravel path, enjoy the quiet...Grab a great view of either Wachuset Reservoir or Mt. Wachuset....Must eat lunch at Twig's Café and visit the interesting gift shop.. Enjoy their Holly Days when the halls are lined with decorated Christmas trees. It's an area that should not be missed when one is visiting Boylston, MA..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BUDDYBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Classical gardens and conservatory worth the time and expense”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

A peaceful refuge in suburbia, about 1 1/2 hours from Boston if traffic is good. We went in the Spring when everything was budding or in bloom. It has good access and parking, but it is a bit hilly for people on canes or in chairs. Plan to sit and smell the flowers and watch for birds and bees. It has beautiful views and places to relax. They also do weddings and events, so plan ahead. We were there with a baby in a stroller which was fine. Would go back again and again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Savvygal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First time here but not my last”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I loved it the moment I walked through the doors. The beautifully decorated Christmas trees surrounding us and I could see the outdoor water feature with two turtles spurting water. The small gift shop had lots of goodies to look at and we did buy. I felt that a couple of the sales staff were a little pretentious but we still had a great time. We then headed to the restaurant for lunch, I really enjoyed the leek soup and the lobster ravioli salad. After lunch we went to the botanic garden my nose was very happy with this aroma therapy. I could have sat in there for a while and take lots of picture to paint. The woman at the front counter Joyce was very helpful and knew her stuff, very pleasant woman. Bring your camera!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela-Pepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tower Hill Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Tower Hill Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing