We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good value”
Review of Pacini's Italian Eatery - CLOSED

Pacini's Italian Eatery
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a small restaurant tucked away in behind Parellis optical. The food is tasty and you get ample portions. Entrees run around $10-12. Meatballs are firm and have great flavor. Sauce on chicken parm had taste of green peppers which I personally don't like , however it was fresh and had good consistency. The eggplant parm was very good. Appetizers are nice sized portions. To top it off we got complimentary mini canollis and they were perfect size and delish!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teenie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Should be better”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Owner has a restaurant in the North End, you can bring your own alcohol and ambiance is basic but OK. This should transate into authentic Italian at reasonable prices. But the food is bland -- we have been there a half-dizen times and tried many dishes. Just bland.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Staff is so nice, we hope they resolve the restaurant issues”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Pacini's is a very casual place serving Classic Italian & modern dishes, as well as, pizza, calzones, & paninis--inconsistent cooking, but generous portions & value. Service is also inconsistent over the number of times we've dined there: the waitstaff is so busy, but personable, knowledgeable, & very accommodating. However, sometimes they are too busy or forgetful.

Among a few dishes that really piqued our interest, we chose Beef & Four Cheese Rigatoni. Beef was tenderly braised--good, however it was too salty one time & we think we'll try it w/a pasta other than the store bought stuffed rigatoni. *They cook to order as long as they have the ingredients!

Eggplant Manicotti is similar to a traditional eggplant rollatini, but maybe needs a little more creaminess &/or more spice perhaps. Chicken Gorgonzola was interesting w/chicken, spinach, asparagus, roasted red peppers & fettucini finished w/an Alfredo sauce& gorgonzola cheese (what a strong twist that adds.)

We can also recommend the Chicken Ala Pacini which comes as a generous dish (choice of lunch, $8.50, or dinner $10.50 portions) of sauteed chicken w/artichokes, asparagus, roasted red peppers in a creamy pesto sauce w/penne. Satisfying & a great value.

We do Not recommend the Mussels nor the Caesar Salad which was just chopped lettuce sprinkled w/store Parmesan cheese & store dressing.

Also delicious, rich, & a great value was the Chicken, Broccoli w/Fettucine & Alfredo Sauce ($8.75/11.75). They do a nice job cooking to order. Chicken tenders were sauteed w/fresh broccoli & garlic, then tossed w/egg noodle fettucine (at our request) & that rich, delicious sauce of butter, Parmesan Cheese, & heavy cream.

Be sure to check out their Daily Specials. Pacini's has such a wide variety of paninis, salads, pasta specialties, chicken, beef & veal, & seafood dishes that we could have something different each time we'd dine w/them & it would take us a while to get through the menu. The problems are the inconsistency of the service, the cooking, & the mechanical problems. The staff is so nice, we hope they resolve these issues.

Lunch, dinner, Family-style, take-out, delivery, & catering
http://pacinisbeverly.com

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“:-( Currently closed for mechanical reasons.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Service is very good: the waiter is so busy, but personable, knowledgeable, & very accommodating. It's a very casual place, but good food & value. Among a few dishes that really piqued our interest, we chose Beef & Four Cheese Rigatoni. Good, however it was too salty one time & we think we'll try it w/a different pasta. They cook to order as long as they have the ingredients! Eggplant Manicotti is similar to a traditional eggplant rollatini, but maybe needs a little more creaminess &/or more spice(?). Chicken Gorgonzola was interesting w/chicken, spinach, asparagus, roasted red peppers & fettucini finished w/an Alfredo sauce& gorgonzola cheese (what a strong twist that adds.) We will definitely return. To be continued.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“agree with urbanspoon and yelp”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Huge amounts of cheese on everything that congeals when food cools down, undercooked pizza. Tried it a few times. Agree with urbanspoon and yelp, not that great.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flightlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacini's Italian Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing