We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising good venue for comedy”

North Shore Music Theatre
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Beverly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, USA
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Surprising good venue for comedy”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

With seating in the round, I thought that a comedian would find it hard to work the audience. Paula Poundstone turned it to her advantage, connecting people across the room and bringing the house down. Always available drinks at multiple bars didn't hurt.
A good spot for a show.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    18
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groveland, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great time for everyone”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The theatre in the round is a great experience. not a bad seat in the house. The new owners bring in great shows.
Beer, Wine, Popcorn and snacks are perfect for intermission.
Price for the shows are very good. Parking is fine, but leaving can take awhile. There is always police to help and help it does.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must See.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Always a nice night out. I have been going for over 20 yrs. Plays and Concerts every seat is a good seat. Never dissatisfied.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron41463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“North Shore Music Theatre”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Been subscribers for a loooong time. We are approaching our 50th wedding anniversary.
When our five sons were young, NSMT was our "date night"! Still is...
Every show has been fantastic! Combined with a visit to The Broadway Club, it is indeed a wonderful, reasonably priced "Date Night"! We have seen many of our favorite celebrities there as well.
Almost forgot, there are wonderful children's programs etc as well!
Try it, you will love it too.

Sally & Jerry Koen, Beverly, MA

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Truly a treasure”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have been subscribers at North Shore since 1996 and have never seen a bad show. We've seen classics, new works and premiers. Watching Broadway performers with original choreography in a theater in the round environment is truly great. There are no bad seats, the music is live and the acoustics are exceptional. The experience is the closest thing to Broadway and much more reasonably priced.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise_and_Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Shore Music Theatre also viewed

 

Been to North Shore Music Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing