We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beverly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beverly Garden Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beverly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Was transitioning from living abroad for several years, to living at school. This place was clean, comfortable and very homelike. I was on foot- banks, groceries, hardware store, wonderful breakfast at Depot Diner, all less than two minutes away. Ron was very helpful with tips for the area- definitely going to return and recommend to others staying in the area. Can't say how pleased I was with my stay!

Room Tip: Get a suite- you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josephinesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 187 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

I had my out-of-town family stay here for an event. The rooms are very clean and spacious -- more like an apartment. The staff was very helpful, especially with some elderly guests. Most places offer a lot less for the price. I don't know of anywhere else for miles where you can actually cross the street and take a train to Boston. Also steps to a bunch of good restaurant choices (Depot Diner has fantastic breakfast/lunch), a Starbucks and supermarket. So much better than area hotels. Only a mile in either direction to a good playground.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at the Beverly Garden Suites as in inexpensive solution to staying in Boston or Salem. We arrived early in Boston and were encouraged to come up and check in early.

The "motel" units are visible from Hwy 1A, so it was easy to find even though it is mostly residential on that side of the road. We had reserved a 2 bedroom unit and were directed to a large red "home" on the edge of the property which contains lodging units and maybe also apartments. I wasn't sure exactly what to expect. As we entered through a small landing with stairs that led upstairs to another 2 bedroom unit I could feel myself tensing as I opened the door. Then a big exhale. The unit was nice but a little on the dark side. As an older structure there was some uneveness in the floors. There was a large living room, two fair sized bedrooms, a large kitchen, and a small, older, bathroom. Although the furnishing were all updated, it had the feel of visiting grandma's. But grandma's beds couldn't compare to the nice mattresses (1 king and 2 twins) and linens. Because the weather was cooler, we opened all the windows and had a wonderful breeze flowing thru the unit all night. It was quiet all night, until the kids congregated for the school bus.

The biggest downsides are the teeny, tiny bathroom sink and the darkness in the unit. Having a large kitchen sink, helped in dealing the the bathroom sink.

Putting it all in perspective, we were looking for a clean,comfortable, quiet place to sleep while we were sightseeing the area. This place fit the bill wonderfully.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westmotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I enjoyed my stay with my mother-in-law and 22-year-old daughter ...Having the kitchenette and living room was perfect for our overnight stay. It was a great place for us to rest and relax before getting ready for our evening, family event. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean and my daughter commented that she slept perfectly on the very comfortable bed.

The location is great (not far off Route 128) and the continental breakfast is a plus too! I highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Have stayed here before while visiting family in the area, and never disappointed. Clean, comfortable, in a mostly residential area. There are several restaurant choices within walking distance...or make your own meals in a clean and well-equipped kitchen. Diner across the street serves breakfast, and coffee shops are an easy walk less than 5 minutes away. The rooms are large with plenty of space to be apart from your travel-mate if you wish. TV's in both the bedroom and in the full size living room. Bathroom is on the small side, but perfectly fine. We always sleep well because it is off the main street, and very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Well taken care of older property. Newly Remodeled bathroom - would be a great place for an extended stay. Full fridge, stove plus microwave and dishes. Plenty of plugs in the bedroom (unlike most hotel rooms). Oh, breakfast is included in summer but not in winter.

Room Tip: Didn't seem to be an elevator so I should have asked for a ground floor room (I don't like s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrmigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for three nights as I was in the area and I was persuaded by good reviews on Tripadvisor. Its a two level motel type place just off a main road.

Good points first. Room is quite large, with separate lounge / kitchen area with bedroom and en-suite. Its well maintained, the owners keep the place tidy and neat, no scuffs or damage, well painted and fettled. Slept well on nice beds, and shower was nice and hot, wifi worked well, was a good speed, its handy for those without a car as the MBTA line is very close, a 1 minute walk away to North Beverly station.

Downsides, no breakfast included ("as it was winter") which was disappointing, toiletries were spartan, shampoo no conditioner and these are not replaced daily, the room was freezing on entry due to an open window and the thermostat set to 50, so it took a few hours to warm the room, still can't believe it was set so low in winter. The decor though well maintained is very bland and boring and in need of some colour. Lastly its expensive when compared to Comfort Inn, Days Inn, Best Western who charge similar rates but have more amenities.

Overall its an average 'mom and pop' type place that's functional and does the job, but its expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road, can be quite noisy of a night even with the windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank G-Kaplan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly
2.9 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
4.5 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 9 in Danvers
56 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,047 reviews
5.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Garden Suites

Address: 5 Lakeview Ave, Beverly, MA 01915-1123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Beverly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beverly
Price Range: $79 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all suite property, with full size appliances in kitchen, living room with sleep sofa, bed room with king, queen or two double beds, bath with tub/shower combo. Located in a residential area with restaurants and shopping near by. Easy access to train to Boston and Salem. Free in-room Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beverly Garden Hotel Beverly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing