We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GET THERE EARLY...”
Review of Hale Street Tavern

Hale Street Tavern
Ranked #10 of 133 Restaurants in Beverly
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GET THERE EARLY...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I love this place, however it suffers from the fact that it's the only place of it's kind for miles and miles. Bar friendly with a great sushi menu, but folks pile in there as the evening goes on. If you're in your 20's and you're used to waiting, then go right ahead. If you're a bit older and you're NOT used to waiting, then have a drink at the bar and wait.....it's usually worth the wait. The idea is that they offer something that nobody else around here can....a great cocktail while you wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    45
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I love the people!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Every one was so nice and I found the food to be very good and priced so well! Lot's of good drinks as well!I liked the staff and the manager was so nice!What a nice fun place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrowHavenCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food but okay service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I've been their a couple times before and the food was great, but the last time I was unhappy with the service. It took over 45 minutes for them to make and serve an order of nachos and two plates of sushi, and this was even after we told them we were in a bit of a rush being on lunch break. They took so long we had them change it to a to go order after 50 minutes of waiting. Don't get me wrong, normally I'd wait that long for their baked haddock dish, but because I was in a rush I order nachos an easy dish and was disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Starmle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun vibrant spot that offers a wide selection”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went here on a Saturday night with 2 other couples. Arrived at 6:30 and expected a long wait (they don't take reservations), but only had to wait around 30 minutes. Great bar area with a wide selection of brews on tap. Was seated promptly and given great service the entire night. This place is reasonably priced with a very wide selection of food - no one goes away disappointed. We had some of the sushi and oysters for starters, while other couples ordered more traditional apps. Fresh generous salad that you can easily split between people. Myself and one other had the seafood risotto which was fantastic and full of plenty of shrimp, scallops, and mussels. Great wine list including ample by-the-glass selections. Will be back again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmmBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Family Spot”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It has a real variety of foods from an oyster bar to a sushi bar. It is a small space but cleverly done. Lots of families but not noisey. The usual sports tv s.
The menu variety is very good with large portions. Almost everyone left with a "doggy bag." Good bar selection too. Watch out for the desserts. They are excellent but overdone, that is, one dessert for two is plenty. My wife ordered the key lime pie which was a hefty slice but it came with 3 scoops of ice cream with whipped cream on top!!! Who needed the meal?
Limited parking out front but very close to a public parking lot.
A friendly warm spot for a casual tasty dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing