We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean hotel--small rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beverly
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, clean hotel--small rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend in September in order to attend a friend's wedding in Danvers, MA. About 40 miles north of Boston, and about 15 minutes north of Salem, The Wylie Inn is part of a conference center that belongs to Endicott College. The college also has an event hall for weddings and receptions. I think it was called Tupper. Anyway, the hotel is modern and clean, has a pleasant staff, and offers a free cold breakfast. Coffee and tea and apples are always available. Rooms have a desk and chair, queen size bed, mini fridge, TV, ironing board and iron, a safe and bathroom toiletries such as shampoo, conditioner, body wash, facial soap and hand cream. Free WiFi is offered in the lobby and in a room called The Commons where groups can meet.
The bathrooms have only a shower stall with a shower curtain. The shower heads (we had friends in another room) sprayed water in all directions. Make sure the shower curtain is totally closed!
There is no seating outside the hotel. It would be nice to have a bench or two for folks who are waiting for a ride, or for those who smoke. There are large ashtray/cigarette receptacles outside.
For a nice side trip, follow the coast road north for about 10 minutes to Manchester-by-the-Sea. It's a very picturesque town with a variety of shops and places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JET84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    65
    49
    11
    11
See reviews for
43
69
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
providence, RI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Newer, decent room. Shower curtain had mold on it. Room was on the small side. Beware, there are different sized rooms and the small ones are small! Dorm room size. Overall good experience aside from those items.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profriars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

Excellent spot for a wedding! Grounds are well kept. Rooms are nicely appointed and clean! A 2 minute walk to a private beach was a great surprise! Took full advantage of that. Staff was always smiling and friendly. A lot of free things were included which was great not to be nickled & dimed for everything. I would definitely recommend this to somebody. Only a 35 minute drive from Boston where I live. It was nice to get out of the city to such a great place. Seemed like we were much further away from home on our two day weekend. Quiet is what we wanted and quiet is what we got! Beds are great too!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locomotion101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

Very new and modern rooms with a European feel. Room equipped with flat screen HD television and plentiful channel selection. Excellent internet connectivity and speed. Room had a nice, multi-shelf armoire in it and a safe for personal valuables. Thermostat for a/c unit was a bit inaccurate and therefore difficult to regulate. HVAC fan was a bit noisy as well. Size of room, although not a problem, was smaller than normal. Reminded me of a Microtel except much nicer. Free continental breakfast has less variety than most but still adequate although they ran out of muffins and did not replenish them. Lobby has a 24 hour, complimentary coffee machine with a flavorful cappuccino selection.
Room, facility and grounds were very quiet except for trash truck at 7:13 one morning. Parking was secure and plentiful. This hotel is a great value for your Priceline dollar.
Housekeeping performed well except for replenishing the shampoo and bar soap. Some travelers may like to have more towels than were supplied with the room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsmoother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

Front staff are friendly and helpful. New management seems to have made a difference - last year they couldn't seem to locate non-feather pillows, this year they were delivered in 5 minutes of my call to front desk. Windows in rooms actually open - what a nice change! Beds are comfortable; rooms and bathrooms clean. The whole place still has a very new feel to it - but the overall atmosphere is somewhat sparse and asetic. Still, perfectly adequate accomodation, in a good location in Beverly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlali01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverly
3.1 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
North Shore Hotel
North Shore Hotel
#2 of 9 in Danvers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.9 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
13.2 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wylie Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wylie Inn and Conference Center

Property: Wylie Inn and Conference Center
Address: 295 Hale St, Beverly, MA 01915-2036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Beverly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wylie Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a picturesque stretch of Boston’s North Shore, The Wylie Inn and Conference Center at Endicott College offers newly designed, well-appointed accommodations and a variety of amenities for the leisure and business traveler alike including the Fountain Cafe and Bar, complimentary parking, wireless internet and fitness center. This lush 10 acre inn and conference center is just minutes away from historic downtown Salem, scenic Cape Ann, shopping, museums, and more; all offering visitors to the North Shore endless sights, sounds and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wylie Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing