We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "B" that could be an "A" with time”
Review of The Farm Table

The Farm Table
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Bernardston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Farm Table offers honest nourishment for the body and elegant respite for the soul. Look around you. The candlelit spaces, open-hearth oven, and comforting fireplaces speak wordlessly of a quieter, simpler time in New England history.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A "B" that could be an "A" with time”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

December 21, 2011. We arrived at 11:00 AM just as they opened for lunch and were greeted and seated promptly although we did not have a reservation, which seems to be encouraged. The restaurant has a wonderful cozy feel with high beams, lots of dark luxurious wood and the many well-kept antiques collected by the senior Mr. Kittridge. In addition to a rooster theme which is repeated throughout the restaurant, including tiny red roosters embroidered on the country-style gingham napkins, tractor seats and wooden farm implements grace the walls along with enlarged photographs of early Bernardston life. The staff was busy and everyone was cheerful. Our waiter introduced himself, offered us bubbly or plain water and told us the specials of the day. We started with virgin Bloody Marys which came with a slice of lime, one of lemon and one tiny green olive; we really missed having celery or some other vegetable to stir and crunch. I decided that mine was a bit too much like drinking cocktail sauce and I opted for a shot of Grey Goose vodka to spice it up-that brought the price of the virgin drink up from $4 to $11.50. We were also brought a basket of olive petard (bread), purportedly baked in their own ovens but it was not warm or particularly fresh.

We forwent starters and I ordered the Pork Milanese Sandwich for $14 which came on a ciabatta roll, with large-grained mustard, pieces of sautéed broccoli rabe and lemon caper Buerre Blanc sauce. The pork was described as "crisp breaded cutlets" which basically meant a pork-fried steak saturated in butter sauce. The roll became saturated immediately. The choice of broccoli rabe was odd for a sandwich as the stems were not easy to bite through but it had a nice flavor with the pork. Lastly, the mustard was so mild as to barely contribute any flavor to the sandwich; it would have been nice to have a nice hot bite to cut through all the butter. The sandwich came with a pile of house-made chips which were super crispy and sea salty and had that "nearly burnt" flavor, and a Real Pickles garlic pickle slice. Overall I'd give the sandwich 4 out of 5 points for taste (who doesn't love fried foods served with butter) but only a 3 for creativity and good choice of ingredients. The chips, however, get a 5.

Wifey had Pan Roasted Salmon with Lemon Chive Aioli, Sauteed Autumn Greens (endive) and Crisp Fingerling Potatoes for $19. The piece of salmon was a lunch portion, served on top of the endive with aioli sauce. It was a tad overcooked but overall had a nice flavor and a lovely seared crust. The thick-cut potatoes were delicately crispy and flavorful. The aioli sauce was just okay and the greens were bitter and not very tender. Wifey gives 4 points for this meal.

The service was fine, but our waiter did not offer or suggest any starters or salad; he seemed very preoccupied with the two large parties that arrived after us and it was difficult to get his attention after we got our food. I mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary and our dessert arrived with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on the plate and was complements of the restaurant. The deliciously light buttermilk cake was topped with poached pears and with a sugary caramelized crust on the bottom. A yummy caramel sauce was drizzled on the plate and a creamy scoop of hazelnut ice cream complemented the fruity cake. A definite 5! We enjoyed it with a strong espresso and a coffee with cream.

We suggest the check be presented in a more discreet way. Had the meal been a treat, the guest could have easily seen the total. and it came open on a small plate. So, would we visit there again? You bet, we want to try more on the menu. We are looking forward to trying Sunday brunch, some of their starters, and the artisan pizzas they offer which look big enough for two to share. They have a full bar which offers the same food as in the dining room and we look forward to enjoying it as a nearby dining and bar option.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wildferalfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    96
    46
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkadelphia, Ar
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique cuisine and extraordinary service.”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This restaurant is a treasure. Meal was delicious! Pricey but well worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank movingvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Merry and Bright! Mmm-Mmm Good!”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

What can you expect from a restaurant that boasts of local farm-fresh goodness, a talented chef who has honed his cooking skills from the abundant harvest of a family farm in the south of France, AND which was created out of the treasury of talent and vision of the local Kittredge family--Just about perfection in every aspect of the dining experience!

From the monogrammed cutlery, the petite silver butter knives, the $18,000 (yes, that is eighteen thousand dollars) cappuccino/espresso maker, the rich leather sofas and chairs, the interesting bottle chandeliers, and granite counter bar, it is very clear that no expense was spared to create a warm, lovely ambiance.

--And we were so delighted that the food measured up, as well! I had the roasted chicken, with roasted root vegetables, which was very tasty. The other person in our party had the steak with Parmesan polenta and sauteed broccolirab; the steak, a hanger cut, was cooked to perfection! The table bread basket and creamy, sweet butter were very good. As was the champagne and the locally made soda. --I will say the portions were French to a T: small and well plated.--So if you are a big hungry guy, you may feel like you simply had hors d' oeuvres, but perhaps this is a move towards a dining civility that we should all be making!

Now, for a few caveats on visiting this restaurant any time soon. They are still training staff since they have had far more traffic than they expected, or planned for. This translates to a tension with the wait staff, and even the hostess, that was less than pleasant. Perhaps the very high restaurant standards that are held to are stressful at the moment, but surely working in such a pretty little establishment should at least put a smile on the staff's faces...I do expect this will improve as they find their rhythm.

My second caveat is the strangeness of dining hours and transitions between lunch and dinner---Fairly confusing, if you are accustomed to eating lunch at say 2, you will miss lunch altogether, and cannot even count on dessert to be served after 2!---But you can have the tavern menu---but who really wants that when you know real lunch is SO much better?--Very quirky.... So make sure you arrive at the correct time for the meal you desire.

Lastly, the day we arrived at 1:15 P.M. for lunch, ALL of the dining tables were taken by reservations (although peering into the east and west dining rooms, there were scores of empty tables!) So, we were told rather curtly that only "bar" seating was available "first come, first serve," upon which we were left to stalk existing diners!! This felt rather tacky to me, and then,---I could not imagine myself sitting in the bar area on the deep leather couches (a very strange option, but which was the only seating available) and being physically comfortable there to eat lunch , even with all of the extravagant dining accoutrements! But we were quite hungry, and hoped one of the four small tables would clear soon enough---which a bistro table did clear within 5 minutes of our arriving, so we went for it.

As I said, the food was delicious, but trying to eat at a small bistro table with my plate hanging over the edge was not the best scene. Our wait person kindly removed the mini bread basket, the bread plates and silverware, and the water carafe,and this helped somewhat, but certainly this did not make for lingering and savoring the experience, even over champagne! So if you want to enjoy your visit, DO make a reservation!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northfielder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Magnificient Ambience Doesn't Make Up for the Food and Drink”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The building is amazingly tasteful. The martinis are pitiful and the vine was about 1 inch deep. Go to Carmelina's on the Common in Hadley for real drinks. I wouldn't serve the steak we had to an enemy and the salmon was fishy. I don't know what the green vegetable was, but I had to chew it like tobacco. Overall, very disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank mlreid05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our holiday lunch”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The Farm Table, Kringle Candle Complex, Bernardston, MA
December 21, 2011. We arrived at the restaurant at 11:00 AM just as they opened for lunch and were greeted and seated promptly although we did not have a reservation, which seems to be encouraged. The restaurant has a wonderful cozy feel with high beams, lots of dark luxurious wood and the many well-kept antiques collected by the senior Mr. Kittridge. In addition to a rooster theme which is repeated throughout the restaurant, including tiny red roosters embroidered on the country-style gingham napkins, tractor seats and wooden farm implements grace the walls along with enlarged photographs of early Bernardston life. The staff was busy and everyone was cheerful. Our waiter, who was being shadowed by a brand new server, introduced himself, offered us bubbly or plain water and told us the pasta, steak and soup of the day. We each started with a virgin Bloody Mary which came with a slice of lime, one of lemon and one tiny green olive; we really missed having celery or some other vegetable to stir and crunch. I decided that mine was a bit too much like drinking cocktail sauce and I opted for a shot of Grey Goose vodka to spice it up—that brought the price of the virgin drink up from $4 to $11.50. We were also brought a basket of olive petard (bread), purportedly baked in their own ovens but it was not warm or particularly fresh.

We forwent starters and I ordered the Pork Milanese Sandwich for $14 which came on a ciabatta roll, with large-grained mustard, pieces of sautéed broccoli rabe and lemon caper Buerre Blanc sauce. The pork was described as “crisp breaded cutlets” which basically meant a pork-fried steak saturated in butter sauce. The roll became saturated immediately. The choice of broccoli rabe was odd for a sandwich as the stems were not easy to bite through but it had a nice flavor with the pork. Lastly, the mustard was so mild as to barely contribute any flavor to the sandwich; it would have been nice to have a nice hot bite to cut through all the butter. The sandwich came with a pile of house-made chips which were super crispy and sea salty and had that “nearly burnt” flavor, and a Real Pickles garlic pickle slice. Overall I’d give the sandwich 4 out of 5 points for taste (who doesn’t love fried foods served with butter) but only a 3 for creativity and good choice of ingredients. The chips, however, get a 5.

Wifey had Pan Roasted Salmon with Lemon Chive Aioli, Sauteed Autumn Greens (endive) and Crisp Fingerling Potatoes for $19. The piece of salmon was a lunch portion, served on top of the endive with aioli sauce. It was a tad overcooked but overall had a nice flavor and a lovely seared crust. The thick-cut potatoes were delicately crispy and flavorful. The aioli sauce was just okay and the greens were bitter and not very tender. Wifey gives 4 points for this meal.

The service overall was fine, but our waiter did not offer or suggest any starters or salad; he seemed very preoccupied with the two large parties that arrived after us and it was difficult to get his attention after we got our food. But I did mention that we were celebrating our anniversary and our dessert arrived with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on the plate and was offered to us with complements from the restaurant. The deliciously light buttermilk cake was topped with poached pears and with a sugary caramelized crust on the bottom. A yummy caramel sauce was drizzled on the plate and a creamy scoop of hazelnut ice cream complemented the fruity cake. A definite 5! We enjoyed it with a strong espresso and a coffee with real cream.

We would have preferred that the check be presented in a more discreet way rather than sitting open on a small white plate. Had the meal been a treat, the guest could have easily seen the total. So, would we visit there again? You bet! We are looking forward to trying Sunday brunch, some of their starters, and the artisan pizzas they offer which look big enough for two to share. They have a full bar which offers the same food as in the dining room and we look forward to enjoying it as a nearby dining and bar option.
We encourage everyone to go and experience this special place for themselves.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeartfeltWives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farm Table also viewed

 

Been to The Farm Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing