We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shangri-La

Shangri-La
Ranked #17 of 57 Restaurants in Belmont
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a place where people line up outside on the weekends to get in. And it is worth the wait. We are grateful that we live nearby and can avoid the weekend crowds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampere
Level Contributor
131 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food quality and quantity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Like many Chinese restaurants, the quantity is never an issue. Moreover, the food is very good. I took a lunch menu with chicken and broccoli and it was delicious. I was not too convinced about the soup that they serve with the lunch.. its a bit gooey... but appart from that.. its very good

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank santvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Finding this restaurant on TripAdvisor brings back great memories. Though it's been a few years, I still reminisce over the many times I've had brunch here with my family sitting in one of the booths and ordering beef noodle soup, hot and sour soup, Singapore-style rice noodles, tripe, fried dough sticks, and beef with spring onion pancakes, among the many delicacies on the menu. This place really lives up to its name.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetravellinghker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Real Deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Exceptional authentic cuisine! The Dim Sum brunch is superb, and get there early (11:15) or plan ahead to enjoy the company of friends during a most worthy wait. I recommend looking around and ordering what you see vice what you think will be good on the menu, as this led to an amazing soup appetizer. The wait staff was helpful and the price very reasonable. You simply can't go wrong!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Psyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed the food here. I loved the soup!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The egg drop soup is delicious. It makes a great appetizer or you could have it for a meal. The orange chicken and the vegetable vermicelli were also very good. The prices of their dishes will not break the bank. Six of us ate for under $50. We went family style and shared four plates plus the soup.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holllywood38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangri-La also viewed

 

Been to Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing