We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popular For Good Reason” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Casale

Il Casale
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Casale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 56 Restaurants in Belmont
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Concord Ave
Transit: Bus #84 coming from Harvard Square arrives right in Belmont Center.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
575 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Popular For Good Reason”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hostesses are beautiful. The servers are professional. And the food is excellent—for us (on this third visit) that included tuna crude, bibb salad, gnocchi and mushrooms. My only tiny complaint is the atmosphere; I'd like it a little quieter. But overall, this is a consistent winner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abecedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    62
    26
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The food is excellent. The meatballs are to die for. Great service. Outside seating is the best. Took my 2 sons. Memorable meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mom-of-Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our yearly Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Have been going to Il Casale since they opened. Even though its not too far, we always end up going for our Anniversary. And have never ever had a disappointing meal. My parents and inlaws were born in Italy and we know authentic Italian food. There are some things on the menu that you don't see in other restaurants. The service has always been great also..
Definitely a great place and will continue to keep going back.

Helpful?
Thank angelwing26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, but noisy and a bit careless with the salt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

In Belmont its 'the spot to be' so, expect a big crowd after 6pm on a Friday night. If you live around Belmont Center, expect to see someone you know. The personality of Il Casale is inconstent - the young ladies at the door are novice, but very polite and helpful - though if you ask a complex question you might get a blank stare. The bar tenders - one wonderful and cheery, the other sullen and resentful. They make a good drink though - generous martini and a good selection of wines - I had a very nice montepulciano - perfect my dinner. But difficult to get surly to see that I wanted a glass.

Food: Grilled striped bass - pretty good, but not a choice filet for $29 served only with over-salted and pungent braised fennell and 'soft herbs' a nice touch with a bit of mint and chervil (I think). Bread and Olive oil are fresh and good accompaniments. Outstanding Barlotti Beans with bits of sausage and kale - best part of the dinner and that was the side dish.

At the end, it's a pleasure to leave, stroll by the three door young-ladies and reenter the semi-quiet of the outdoors. The wonderful Craft Beef Cellar of Belmont waiting across the street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Service was great however the food trumped the service! I had Mixed Seafood Grill w grilled veggies and cous cous. My partner had Grilled Halibut. They both were to die for ;-) Great grilled flavor. We had an pasta dish as an app with tomatoes/beef based sauce - it was fantastic.

There is also an area where you can sit outside for dinner. I will be coming back for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliott-Methuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Casale also viewed

 

Been to Il Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing